We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr. Jameskutty = warmth”
Review of Second Home 4 U

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Second Home 4 U
Pune, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr. Jameskutty = warmth”
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We went to Kerala in the peak season - from the last week of December 2009 till the first week of January 2010. Due to the the large group we were travelling in, I decided to make the arragements on my own. This not only saved money but gave us a chance to stay with locals.
Second Home 4 u was our first stop, and I was fortunate to meet Mr. Jameskutty. As promised, he came to pick us up (6 members). There was a slight delay in the pickup which made me worried. But I see that this was the only problem in otherwise a great stay.
We stayed at Second home 4 u for two days. What came across prominantly was the warmth with which Mr. Jameskutty and his son treated us. Be it the breakfast, information about destinations or provinding help with transportation. In fact we saved one day due to him, when there was a Kerala bandh and he suggested to change our plan and visit Kanyakumari on that day.
All in all, we would like to stay at Second home 4 u again, and will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjay_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We booked to go to this homestay and had it confirmed for the October 2010 dates we had asked for. We booked our flights accordingly. The owner then emailed to say he had a booking for the whole villa so couldnt do ours anymore, come the week before or after, he said.
So while I'm sure it is lovely, if you are not thinking of booking the whole villa, dont bother because you wont know whats happening!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Flyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2009

It is not easy to find, but , if you from Kanyakumari or Trivandrum city you arrive in Balaramapuram (about 20 min by car from Trivandrum), Mr. Jameskutty the owner of this lovely homestay, will pick you up. Also airport pickup can also be arranged.
You are here in a small village, surrounded by banana plantations and the only sound you wll hear, are the songs of birds or the music form a temple at some distance. There is the main house and a small villa - we were accommodated here /-consisting of 3 rooms (one is upstairs sand has its own terrace). all have western style attached bathrooms, the villa has a kitchenette and a lovely patio (very nice arranged) which is also dining room and TV is also there. Cleanness is the first thing you will notice. And then the friendly , very helpful hosts.Mrs. Jameskutty will arrange a car for your sightseeing, even if you want to go to Kovalam (it is about 8 km away). As I was interested in South Indian performing arts like dance and classical music, he found out for every evening (we stayed 4 nights there) some theater with traditional show. Also he gave a good idea to visit the Veli Lagoon, it is also about 8 or 9 km away and is a lovely place, where on one side there is a wonderful lake and on the other side you have the Arabian Sea. Also take your time to visit the Nappier Museum and the Sri Chitra Art Gallery. Don't expect to enter into the Padmanabheshwaram Temple, if you are not Hindu, unfortunately it is forbidden even if on all touristic sites you will find this temple mentioned for the mix of Kerala and Tamil Nadu architecture.
If you will need a car for the whole day, Mr. Jameskutty will be happy to arrange this for you. And after all, everything is so cheap there. The AC room was 1500 rupees and the NA room 750. I booked the AC room, but because the NA room has a pleasant view over the banana plantation behind the house i took this one and it was OK. There is a fan, but you hardly need it.
The only thing which you wont find there is a phone, but when you go out by car, the main commercial road is 10 min away, and there are lot of phone possibilities. Also be advised to bring your bottled drinking water from outside. Daily we had fresh and tasty Kerala breakfast.
In one word it is a very lovely and relaxing place, and i can recommend the Second Home 4 U from all my heart, thanking Mr. and Mrs. Jameskutty for all their friendly help.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose-Gul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
6.2 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#26 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
19 reviews
5.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
#4 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
914 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Beach and Lake Ayurvedic Resort
Beach and Lake Ayurvedic Resort
#17 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
281 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
664 reviews
8.1 mi away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#3 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Second Home 4 U? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Second Home 4 U

Property: Second Home 4 U
Address: Near Vedivechankovil, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695501, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Also Known As:
Second Home 4 U Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing