We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love Wild Life Must Go”

Neyyar Wild Life Sanctuary
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Neyyar reservoir is easily navigable and extends 9.06 sq. km. The vegetation varies from tropical wet evergreen to grasslands. The Agasthyakoodam hill, 1890 metres high, lies in the premises of the sanctuary. Elephants, gaur, sloth bear, Nilgiri tahr, jungle cat, wild boar, Nilgiri langur etc. are seen. A crocodile rearing centre, deer farm and lion safari park are the main attractions.
Udaipur City, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Love Wild Life Must Go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This place is for wild life lovers I visit the place in August 2011 and we really enjoy the lion and crocodile park we almost seen 6 lion and lioness and it was really a perfect travel , if you love wild life than you must go this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ssdulawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    42
    27
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating Neyyar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Enjoy the Dam on a rainy day !!!! They open the dam and you can see the man made waterfalls gushing out in a torrent .The acquarium is really mesmerizing and colorful and of course well maintained till 5 years before it was considered to be the Asia 's best acquariums. The park nearby proved to be quite entertaining for the kids.(Though there were puddles all around ,but then that is the best way for children to enjoy and love mother nature.)
We took an overnight stay at Tamarind a KTDC HOTEL.We were very well looked after and the food was also excellent only disadvantage was at the time of booking only if you give the Menu would be more better.Night stroll over the dam road and watching the night lights also is fascinating.

Next day morning we went for the Lion Safari. Unfortunately we were a little late for the boat trip so we could only see a lioness in the jungle .(If you take an early safari tour around 9 :00 am that would be better ).The alligator park was also enthralling. You can do a day tour also to the Dam.But a night stay provides you more time to enjoy and relax.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank sreelekha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A short visit to Neyyar Dam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

A short trip to neyyar with my friends.....nice place for one day trip........ family also can enjoy there.... nice place with children's park...aquarium....swimming pool.......morning time good for dam photographs......and evening time 3-5 also good time for enjoyment.........

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank varghese Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Nederland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wild life safari park terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The environment in Neyyar Dam is very beautiful; go enjoy that and skip the Wildlife Sanctuary!
We had to wait 2 hours before there was a boat ready to take us to the Sanctuary.
Finally, when we got there, we got in a van and drove into the park. After 50 meters we stood still as there were 3 lions.
After watching the van simply turned around and drove out of the park. Task accomplished, the driver must have thought.
We literally were in there for 5 minutes and saw 50 meters of the park.
A total waste of money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaTravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Day in Neyyar Dam...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Its one of the must visit places in Trivandrum...a calm and quiet place located far away from all those city noises....the most catching thing is its boating services and lion safari...dont miss it... it will cost Rs.250...Also,its a wonderful picnic spot with gardens and a swimming pool close to it...then there is an aquarium and a crocodile park which I must say that it need to be taken care more properly... Well its a place worth of your 2-3 hours..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ScarLET1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neyyar Wild Life Sanctuary also viewed

Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Kovalam, Kerala
 

Been to Neyyar Wild Life Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing