We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Indian Coffe house” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Coffee House

Indian Coffee House
Cuisines: Indian, Cafe, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Indian Coffe house”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The ‘India Coffee House’ was started by the COFFEE BOARD in early 1940s, during the British rule. In the mid 1950's the Board closed down several Coffee Houses in different cities throughout India. At that time the Board had decided to dismiss the employees. A large number of employees lost their jobs. That was a turning point, the well known great communist leader com. A.K.G (Ayillyath Kuttiari Gopalan Nambiar) took over the leadership of the said employees and organized Societies all over India in various states. This is the “INDIA COFFEE BOARD WORKER'S CO-OPERATIVE SOCIETY”.
The Indian coffee house is completely owned and managed by its employees. The society is governed by an eleven member managing committee elected from the employees. Since the 50's, Keralites have been enjoying this unblended rich coffee and food served by amiable waiters clad in stiffly - starched uniform in a unique classical ambience. Over the years, the society has stuck to the traditional values of good taste, courteous service and unmatched quality. These values were and still are what makes Indian Coffee House the biggest restaurant chain in Kerala. The society now has a chain with over 51 outlets and associate canteens operating in all major towns from Thrissur to Thiruvananthapuram. The Indian coffee house also has branches near all important govt. establishments Secretariat, Legislative assembly, MLA-Hostel, Medical colleges, and Universities.

The society also sells pure coffee powder known for its rich aroma and strong flavor at reasonable prices to the public. The society proudly upholds the traditions of our pioneers that have earned us the love and loyalty of hundreds of customers. The society has received appreciation and support from Government and public which is gratefully remembered.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayapal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    142
    82
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Such a cool building, but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Have been there a dozen times over the years, just a quick walk from the railstation, but food is bad, the place isn't very clean (even for India standards) and the coffee? Oh my, not good. Awful actually. I HATE leaving bad reviews, but consistently the experience was embarrassing. Not sure about the other chains, but this Indian Coffee House just doesn't cut it. Go check it out, the round brick building, but save your rupees for something better. Someplace better. Nice staff though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaiabeliever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

A unique experience. The architecture of the Indian Coffee House in Trivandrum is fun and it is well worth a visit. Unfortunately, I visited it when it was very busy and the coffee is not to be recommended; hence the rating. However, it is well worth a visit and the waiters are fantastic climbing up and down with their trays held high. Oops I see in the photo they are held at waist level but when I went they were as I said!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bridget077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Take home a parcel of happy memories”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I visited this restaurant for the first time as an independent backpacker from Mumbai city in May last year with my mother, who had told me about her childhood memories at this restaurant. When the day came, when we could finally visit the restaurant, not only did I get to put our taste buds to work, but also enjoyed some excellent service and we could sit most of the day without doing anything at all inside the restaurant. We could also enjoy the city view from the spirally designed restaurant without any hindrances. I could relate to the experiences my mother had shared with me both while enjoying the ambiance as well as while speaking to the friendly waiters about the restaurant. Going up the spiral structure to get a seat near the kitchen at the restaurant was indeed an experience in itself. I had ordered some sweets and some American Falooda as the appetizer, some bhindi masala [okra masala] and a rice plate for the main course and fruit salad for the dessert, though their menu had much more to offer, including different world cuisines at a low price. By the time we decided to get more food, we realized that we wanted the fantastic taste of the American Falooda to linger on. So, we took with us some Russian tortes in a parcel – something I had never tried before in my life - and we also took home a parcel of happy memories with it. It was one day in our Trivandrum trip that we can never forget.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharmilahappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheap snacks, noisy place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Interesting circular architecture and a popular spot for cheap snacks, full of Indians and backpackers. Coffee is tje thing, obviously, but there's also tea. If the place looks crowded, try one of the tables near the kitchen at the top of the 'tower'. Just don't expect a calm place for a cup of coffee. The

Helpful?
1 Thank Gaía P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Coffee House also viewed

Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
 
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), Thiruvananthapuram District
 

Been to Indian Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing