We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Given other 5 Star hotel i have been to in India this was a little disappointing. Best described as a characterless business hotel.

Rooms Ok but need updating

Several marks on the bed linen, tea/coffee not properly refreshed in the room.

Better to got to the Taj or Leela at Kovalum if you are staying in this area

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgmartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murugan R, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset, kindly accept my apologies for a stay that ended up rather disappointing for you. We have made a note of the Rooms that you mentioned as “needed updating” and will work towards that at an appropriate time. Yet, we are extremely concerned about your observation regarding “marks” on the bed linen and irregular replenishment of tea/coffee in the rooms which lead to an unattractive experience. We will however ensure that your stay in future, should you wish to come back, will certainly be a memorable one!

Do write in to the hotel and let us know your travel details and we will be glad to be of service.

Warm regards,

Murugan Rajan
General Manager
murugan.rajan@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    314
    86
    23
    16
See reviews for
236
126
54
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

A big thank you to Vivanta By TAJ (Trivandrum-Kerala: Stayed January 2014 ) and their wonderful staff - especially Noyal - Asst. Front Office Manager, the Restaurant Team including the Manager, the humble, friendly and one of the best General Manager of a five star hotel we have ever met, and all of Vivanta-staff jointly did an awesome job looking after us ( a family of four including two kids - from Australia), spoiled us so much that our heart ached when it was time for us to leave :(

We don't know how much more we have to stress about how good the customer service was, they pampered us so much with their care and affection, this made the stay an absolutely best stay till date, such that our heart jumps with joy when we think of planning our next stay with Vivanta which we certainly would, which God willing we are looking forward to, for our next vacation in TVM!!!

Also we would like to mention the Great food , good selection of drinks and beautiful interiors. But without the staff, Vivanta wouldn't have taken a place in our heart!!

Will absolutely recommend Vivanta by TAJ to everyone !!! :)

Thank you Again
Naveen and family - Australia

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naveenancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murugan R, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Naveen and family,

Thank you very much for those wonderful and kind words for our Asst. Front office Manager, Mr. Noyal Jacob and the members of the Restaurant team in addition to the other staff that you interacted with during your stay. Your words of excitement symbolises your experience at the hotel which we accept most humbly with as much enthusiasm. It was indeed a delight to be of service to you and your family. Your mention of the great food, good selection of drinks, the interiors and above all, the staff have been a morale booster for all of us and are happy that we have been able to leave an indelible mark.

We hope to remain in your fond memories and look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Murugan Rajan
General Manager
murugan.rajan@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Good business hotel. Swimming pool area spacious. Chinese restaurant in the foyer delicious. Very helpful when arranging our early morning transfer to the airport, booked car, offered to print off boarding passes, recommended what time yo leave etc.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Egoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murugan R, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your good words highlighting the superiority of the Swimming pool, Chinese restaurant and the services offered relating to transportation. We are indeed glad that we were able to leave a positive impression on you and look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,

Murugan Rajan
General Manager
murugan.rajan@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I went in with a lot of expectations. The hotel wasn't as special las other Taj 5 star hotels. Restaurant food was limited and average. Room was well kept and clean. Staff were young and keen to impress. Good place to stay but not holiday,

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smangalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murugan R, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not having to be able to meet up with your expectations, given some of the observations made on this medium. Whilst we ensure that your next visit will be a lot more impressive with relation to the services provided, I am also thankful to you for having given the hotel and its staff positive comments.

Should you decide to travel and stay at the Vivanta in future, do write in to us and will be glad to have you over.

Warm regards,


Murugan Rajan
General Manager
murugan.rajan@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel nestled in among bustling streets and palm trees but once you enter the gates, it's like a different world. The staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. The restaurants were great and food was excellent. The only thing I didn't agree with was the charge for Wi-fi. The rates are high and as with everything in India, you get tax added when you come to pay - a little surprise! But overall, a brilliant stay and would go again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kishor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murugan R, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for those kind words about our hotel and the staff members.

We are glad that we were able to leave a positive impression on you with our dining options given the observation you made herein. As regards Wi-Fi charges, we are working with a vendor who has invested in them to ensure a pleasant experience for our guests. Inevitably a fee is levied and we are currently unable to provide them complimentary. We will sincerely look at the option of offering you a discount on Wi-Fi charges during your next visit, should you consider that value enough.

Do let us know the dates of your future visit and we will be glad to assist. Thank you once again for your good words.

Warm regards,

Murugan Rajan
General Manager
murugan.rajan@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

On arrival here, everything points to luxury. Once you see the old fashioned lodge rooms - you notice a huge disparity. Everything is clean but preference-wise I did not like it because the rooms seem old and tackey.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kishan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murugan R, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my apologies for the look and feel of the rooms in comparison to the other areas of the hotel, which left you dissatisfied. We will be taking up the refurbishment of the rooms at an appropriate time during which period, feedback such as the ones you have penned down will be given considerable significance, to ensure we make available rooms with enhanced and improved designs.

I once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next visit here.

Warm regards,

Murugan Rajan
General Manager
murugan.rajan@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Taj was an excellent hotel, with friendly staff offering you the very best.
It had a beautiful swimming pool and we had a great time there.
The breakfast was awesome! I loved the choco-walnut cake.
It was a grand experience. And I hope it keeps up the wonderful standards of the Taj chain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellerStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murugan R, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments you made about our hotel and its staff. The swimming pool, like you had mentioned, is indeed beautiful and are glad to share that we have had a fair amount of guests echoing similar delightful experience. Likewise, the breakfast is also appreciated by many of our guests.

Should you travel to Trivandrum again, all of us at Vivanta would love to have you over and try and make the stay even more memorable. I also promise you that the wonderful standards of the Taj chain for discerning travellers like you will be kept intact.

Warm regards,

Murugan Rajan
General Manager
murugan.rajan@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
Hilton Garden Inn Trivandrum
#2 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hycinth By Sparsa
Hycinth By Sparsa
#1 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
707 reviews
6.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
3.3 mi away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#3 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Dimora Hotel
Apollo Dimora Hotel
#5 of 94 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum

Property: Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum
Address: Vazhuthacaud Road, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695014, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
#3 Luxury Hotel in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the most happening restaurants which open to the lobby to create an enticing food zone offering the best in world cuisine. Technology is woven through it all. Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum, has all the entertainment and connectivity options today's traveller requires. Become a part of our world. Feel the pulse of an international business and conferencing destination. Experience the buzz. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Trivandrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Vivanta By Taj - Trivandrum Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing