We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location, market nearby, good food but room not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Capital Trivandrum
India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Central location, market nearby, good food but room not so good”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed for three nights. I did not choose the hotel but arranged by organisers. Food is superb and not so expensive. However the rooms are not so good. View from windows is not pleasing. There is filth and trash bags lying in the nearby plots. The air conditioners work by its own logic and you get no idea how it will behave or what its going to do..........cool or no cool. Small LCD TV with channels but 32 inches would have been better. The wardrobes are old style and not so good. Hot water is unpredictable in the bathroom though its available. Shampoo/soap very small & poor quality. There are small ants (chiti) in the room which are visible only if you see minutely e.g. screen of laptop. The lights are dim and the atmosphere in room or hotel was not lively. The blankets are very thin and not adequate. There are foreigners staying in the hotel perhaps due to central location. Overall recommended for short stay but do not expect anything from the comfort of the room. Ideal if you like going to market many times in day. Internet is very very erratic and most of the time not functioning. Hence it is recommended that you have your own data card and do not expect from hotel that Wi-Fi internet would be functioning. Its weakest area which can be improved easily.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor and with better view. Change room if you do not like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalCRS, Manager at The Capital Trivandrum, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the feedback which will definitely help us to improve. Glad to hear that the food quality were up to your expectation.
We have given instruction to the HK dept for proper up keeping of the premises and have even upgraded the amenities provided from the Hotel.

Looking forward to serve you again with the best of services and amenities.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
15
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the Capital before catching my flight home(only 20min. from airport). I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.
My room was very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalCRS, Manager at The Capital Trivandrum, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mam,

Hope you had a safe journey. Thank you for the feedback.

Capital Team look forward to meet you soon in our Hotel to serve you at the best of our service,accommodation and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the Capital Trivandrum during Jan 07-09, 2013 in one of their suites. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well maintained. There is a working table, sofa and tea table in the drawing room. Both the rooms are air conditioned. The hotel is well located centrally. The staff are very cordial and respond very promptly to any need. The bed room has a refrigerator. You get complimentary breakfast and one litre bottled water. LCD TV in both rooms though channels are region specific and reception not of very good quality. Bath room is large with bath cabin. Hot water is available. Linens are clean. The rooms are well and tastefully furnished. The place is surprisingly not very costly. They have a restaurant. The food however is normal and can be greatly improved in taste.Same is true for breakfast.
They can perhaps introduce airport pick up and drop, a coffee-tea meker in the rooms and improve food quality. I have stayed at a number of other hotels in Trivandrum before. If these improvements happen, this will be one of the soughtafter places.

Room Tip: Junior suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asokadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalCRS, Manager at The Capital Trivandrum, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the feedback. We are delighted to receive your valuable comments.
We have already started transportation for the in house guest upon request. We have room service available around the clock that is the reason why we provide Cofffe/Tea maker upon request only.

Looking forward to serve you again with best of our service.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 3 months and I felt the service they provided was Really good.
Interaction of staff has always been friendly and kind.
Breakfast buffet was excellent.
Room service was quick.
House keeping was done regularly.
Hotel is located in the best place in the city.

Although shortcomings were the space in standard room and limited parking space for vehicles.

Overall a good experience staying here. Would definitely recommend someone looking for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalCRS, Manager at The Capital Trivandrum, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Capital Hotels & Resorts!
Trust you had a very safe journey.

We thank you for the valuable feedback and look forward to see you with Capital very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

What I liked most about the hotel was the willingness of the staff to go the extra mile. My wife and I both have huge health issues and have to be very careful about what we eat. No spices, very little oil, sugar and salt. The restaurant was quick to understand our needs and customised food to our requirement at practically NO EXTRA cost. It was as good as having home food, cooked Kerala style. Lovely experience.

We'd get a newspaper in the room every day, hot water at any time of the day, our travel itineraries were taken care of by a single call to the reception. They'd invariably get back to us within 15 minutes with route details and cost. Very courteous staff across all levels. Language wasn't an issue either as they were conversant with both English and Hindi.

The hotel is centrally located, so you can get to any part of Trivandrum quite quickly and conveniently. And it was economical too, cost us about Rs 3,300 ($60) a day, for THREE people, (wife, mother and self) with a sumptuous breakfast thrown in. Lovely.

Downside was there was no swimming pool. Not such a big deal, that. If we really needed to get wet, Kovalam beach was always there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank namit_gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalCRS, Manager at The Capital Trivandrum, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Capital Team!
Thank you for the valuable feedback and for the kind words. It is heartening to know that you are pleased with our hospitality, service & accommodation.

Looking forward to see you with Capital soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my family. We had booked 2 standard rooms. Rooms had a TV & A/C. Room size was bit small so you don't have much space to roam around.

Buffet breakfast in Restaurant was very good. But the service at the time of dinner (when we ordered just 2 dishes from menu card) was very slow. It took them almost 35 minutes (15-20 mins is what you expect in good hotel) to serve us & my son almost slept without eating due to slow service. Quantity served was very less & quality of punjabi dishes was not up to the mark with watery gravy.

Room service was equally slow & we had to call them at least 3 times for tea & coffee. We had ordered a milk for my son & they served us the milk which was almost converted to Paneer.

I spoke about all these issues at reception but just got excuses instead of promise to improve.

Location of the hotel is very good with shopping areas & railway station in close proximity.

Overall, The Capital needs an improvement in some aspects.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhijeet_Asm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalCRS, General Manager at The Capital Trivandrum, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the valuable feedback and for choosing our hotel for your stay.

We have noted your suggestion and sincerely apologize for delay in service. We have rectified our short falls and come up with revised menu and services.

Looking forward to serve to again with best of our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Hotel Capital Trivandrum, Kerala, India.

THE PROS.

Better price than most.
Better service, ambience, layout, than most.
Better location than many.
Rooms more comfortable than many.

The chef is, without question, a very highly dedicated professional.

The premises were spacious and clean.

The restaurant was NOT shattered with wall-to-wall over-amplified dross,
obliterating from one’s mind where one actually was in the world.

There was no sensation of overwhelming traffic, or noise of any kind.

Oh, and I almost forgot – (if you believe me !) – the “Jewel in the Crown” in all this, can be found in ‘The Business Centre’ at The Capital, Trivandrum. She is erudite, helpful, resourceful, charming, and dependable. If there’s anything you can’t locate, understand, enable, sort out, or just plain handle – she will have the answer, quite
often before you’ve even asked !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PERREURLLOYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecapitalCRS, Manager at The Capital Trivandrum, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the team the Capital !

Hope you had a very safe journey.

Thank you for the valuable feedback and for the kind words. It is heartening to know that you are pleased with our hospitality, service & quality of accommodation and restaurant.

We look forward to serve you in future too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#28 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trivandrum Hotel
Trivandrum Hotel
#19 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Uday Suites
Uday Suites
#4 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Classic Sarovar Portico
Classic Sarovar Portico
#10 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
SP Grand Days
SP Grand Days
#12 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Keys Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
Keys Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
#5 of 93 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Capital Trivandrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Capital Trivandrum

Property: The Capital Trivandrum
Address: Near Gpo, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695001, India (Formerly Hotel Geeth International)
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Capital Trivandrum 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capital - Trivandrum City is a stylish business hotel situated conveniently close to the city's business and shopping centers. It is a refreshingly intimate and modern hotel.Offers a unique combination of upscale, elegant, warm hospitality and exceptional services suited to please business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Capital Trivandrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Capital Trivandrum Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing