We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Chaithram Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaithram Hotel
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for three days,Hotel is just opposite to parcel office entry of trivandrum railway station. Reception and staff were friendly. Hotel is just clean with mopped floors.The curtains are dusty and smelly. Breakfast buffet is good and stomach friendly .Room service is costly. Location is so good that conveyance was never a problem. Auto stand, taxi stand, bus stand all just at your sight. The most important is that KTDC tourism office is occupying just one corner of the hotel and all KTDC tours start from here. Hotel is old and needs a little to be revamped but it is Value for Money.

Room Tip: Go for a suite or a ac room in a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devivenki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 255 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

Although our double bed A/c Deluxe room was spacious, neat and clean at the time of check in, we were in for a surprise on our return to the room after sight seeing - a swarm of small cockroaches were crawling all over the room!! I screamed at the reception and the only thing they could do was to send their staff with cockroach spray! It helped a little, but the overall experience because of this was scary!

Otherwise the hotel staff at the reception were smiling, friendly and helpful. The best thing about this hotel is its location, being opposite the Trivandrum Central Station; also KTDC bus tours start from the hotel itself.

Vegetarian food at the hotel's restaurant was delicious and had good variety; service was excellent; price was reasonable too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaviDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. It has excellent rooms but the room service is quite expensive. For eg a bottle of water costs 40 Rs. But it is located in a really good place, right next to the bus station. The breakfast buffet will be free

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Faris_FoodFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a very comfortable stay. The bathroom was very clean, staff was extremely friendly and well-mannered. The location was also suiting aptly to my need - just opposite the railway station. Keep it up

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It is ideally located, very near to rail station and bus station. Room was kept neat and was comfortable. Staff were cordial and helpful. The free breakfast was homely and stomach-friendly. We loved the stay and would like to come again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Raveendran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I had booked this hotel online and availed the discount. I had booked it after reading the reviews online and it pretty much met my expectations. Check-in process was good and service of the staff was also good. The hotel is located in a very good location and hence for people travelling in train and air it is very convenient. Restaurant was very good and they served authentic Kerala food for lunch and breakfast. The property is old and it reflects in the condition of the rooms. Nothing to complain about, but the age was showing up everywhere in the room - walls, flooring, toilets etc. The rooms were clean and neat though. I would recommend this hotel to people who are budget conscious, wants to stay close to the city center and travel hubs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gopikrishna_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really had a good experience ......best thing about it is THE LOCATION.....railway station and bus stand just in front of the hotel so no need to hier any auto for that.....staff was helpful......they provided complementry breakfast.....we had a good time here
Well maintained

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrAmitsoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#24 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Keys Select Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
Keys Select Hotel Thiruvananthap...
#6 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trivandrum Hotel
Trivandrum Hotel
#31 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Classic Sarovar Portico
Classic Sarovar Portico
#11 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
213 reviews
2.6 mi away
Treebo Adrak
Treebo Adrak
#15 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apollo Dimora Hotel
Apollo Dimora Hotel
#3 of 97 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaithram Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaithram Hotel

Address: Thampanoor | opposite to the trivandrum central railway station, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 97 Hotels in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range: $25 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaithram Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Chaithram Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaithram Hotel Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing