We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic city hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaithram Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chaithram Hotel
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 413 helpful votes
“Basic city hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Its a basic city hotel right in front of railway station and due to this you will hear train engine's whistling before departure & from arriving trains. Market area and most of site seeing places are with in 15-20 minutes driving distance.
The road in front of hotel is quite busy and you will find many people waiting for bus in front of main entry gate. We reached around evening. Though check in was smooth but it took time to get our luggage to room. Room was basic with clean bedding & there is a small store room with Almira attached to room for keeping luggage. AC was working fine but it was noisy. Bathroom was spacious with clean bathing area. We had problem with the water supply for 3-4 hours as there was no water in any tap as well as for flush tank. We have to complain 2-3 times for same. Attended came but he didn't understood problem. Finally problem resolved before evening.
We had breakfast in hotel, it was decent and mainly of Kerala's dishes with bread butter & corn-flex etc.
Staff was ok ok.

Room Tip: Choose room on upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapnakapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    67
    98
    47
    21
See reviews for
123
37
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

A good hotel located right in the heart of the city. Food and service is good. You get what you pay for in this hotel. There is no way we can expect 3 star facilities for the amount we pay for rooms here. If you are more interested in travelling and seeing places, than worrying about the perfection and luxuary of rooms, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LijuJames30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Reserved a premium deluxe room, the room was big but not very clean. water dripped from the A/C whole night . The water in the bathroom was dirty.Both service and food in the Restuarant was extremely bad and we avoided eating there. Absolutely avoidable hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PARTHA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We came to here from Delhi and we paid about the same for this hotel as the we did for the one in Delhi. So we expected not a very good hotel, since the one in Delhi was pretty bad. But we got surprised. Of course, this is a budget hotel, and our room was not deluxe and the bed was rather hard.

But everything worked just fine, and the room was big and pretty clean. A super plus for the breakfast buffé. Also plus for walking distance to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koonkanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I feel the hotel was just about average.
A word of advice, if u r planning to stay here, make sure you get a room on the top floor. When we checked in, we were given a room on the 3rd floor. The room was below average. The mattress was not at all good, AC was noisy, room was not at all clean and was smelling bad. We just sat there for 5 mins when we discovered a Bed Bug crawling on my husband's bed. Yuck.... I hate bed bugs. So we called up the reception and within 10 mins they changes our room.

The new room was on 5th floor, and it was much better than the old one. It was cleaner, had no stink, AC was good, mattress was far better and Thank god was free of Bed bugs!!

The staff was very friendly and co-operative. But I still feel we could have booked a better hotel at lesser price.

Room Tip: Take rooms on the Top floor, the rooms on 3rd floor are old, unclean, smelly and have bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManishPreeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frontofficemanagerch, Front Office Manager at Chaithram Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sir
We value your feedback.The matter was taken up with the concerned department .Serious instructions have been given regarding general upkeep,pest issues.

Also happy to note that you were comfortable in Room 614.

We at Chaithram look forward for your next visit so that we can ensure better care in future

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Thoroughly disappointed with service staff. requested for the extra mattress and the hotel staff do not know concretely on the policies/tariffs. Day shift manager & night shift manager difffered on this policy and finally, had to adjust on the double bed.
Food was below average.
Most conveneient, though as it is right opposite to the railway Station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trnrao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galaxy Inn
Hotel Galaxy Inn
#53 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Town Tower
Hotel Town Tower
#32 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
Hotel Prathiba Heritage
#27 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trivandrum Hotel
Trivandrum Hotel
#16 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Horizon
Hotel Horizon
#26 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keys Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
Keys Hotel Thiruvananthapuram
#5 of 89 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaithram Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaithram Hotel

Property: Chaithram Hotel
Address: Thampanoor | opposite to the trivandrum central railway station, Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum) 695001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Thiruvananthapuram District > Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 89 Hotels in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaithram Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chaithram Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaithram Hotel Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing