We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet and clean!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suresh Green View Homestay
Ranked #10 of 119 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cecina, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet and clean!!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's a lovely place to stay in Kumily, close to the town center, they have a very good service for transfer to bus station and National Park, they also can make you a good breakfast in the morning.
Clean and lovely rooms with bath on a very nice spice garden view with a big private balcony!
Sometimes some monkeys can come to play on your balcony, keep the windows closed!
we spent in Kumily relaxing days, and Mr. Suresh, the owner, provided to bring us in Munnar, it was our next stop in Kerala in the middle of tea plantations!
He has a brand new hotel in the mountain, amazing beautiful with all balcons on the tea valley view: it's the GREEN VALLEY VISTA.
All fornitures are in wood handmade in Kerala style, rooms are big, very charming and very quiet!
All rooms have a balcony on the valley and a huge window as wall, big and nice bathrooms, tv, A/C, and everything you need you can ask to Mr. Suresh and his nice stuff.
A great place to relax and enjoy!
They have a nice and good restaurant in the hotel and at the top floor you can make meditation, Yoga course or read a book in the library and chill out - relaxing area on a magnificent view after your trekking day!
I really suggest the Green View in Kumily and the Green Valley Vista in Munnar, the best choises for your trip in Kerala!
Thank you Mr. Suresh and thank you to all your great team!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraetrusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    119
    27
    7
    16
See reviews for
63
139
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A homestay where you're at yours and at the same time welcomed by the family. Rooms and bathrooms are rather well, and they do their best to make you a perfect stay in Kumilly. It is the place which I more want to promote in the trip in Kerala we made.

Room Tip: Rooms of the second floor with a balcony for the forest view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level 6 Contributor
390 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We went super deluxe and had a large room with balcony, everything was clean, the bed was comfy and the hot water was great. There is also the added in- house entertainment of watching the Nilgiri langur monkeys from the balcony and a cheery smile and helpful suggestions from Suresh. Green View provided more than several other places we stayed, but at the lowest price.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elainejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed with Suresh and his family for approximately 3 weeks. So, you see, having arrived for what might have been 2 days, we felt perfectly at home and well looked after. An excellent B&B in the better part of Thekkady, ideally situated for the town and wildlife park. Rooms are basic, but spotless and functional, ideal for the western tourist who wants more than typical Indian standards, but less than the 5-star whoop it up variety. Suresh's family make everyone welcome, and his persona and energy are uplifting to the spirit. During the day I found our balcony to be a calm and peaceful place - ideal for writing a book, which is partly why I found myself staying here.

Room Tip: You will see monkeys on the balconies in this area – which is entertaining, but lock your balcony do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are a family of four and had been staying in Kovalam, halfway through our holiday we decided to head for the hills and get away from the intense heat for a while.
We booked with Indiatours in Kovalam who recommended a homestay.After several hours on the road we arrived in Thekkady. We were greeted by the nice lady owner and were shown into a room to wait a while as our rooms were not ready. We waited about 20 mins it would have been nice to be offered a cup of tea after such a long journey.
Both rooms were of good size with blankets should we need them for the cooler evening air, wide balcony with table and chairs overlooking a fabulous jungle of a garden, saw many butterflies and birds. The Green view is ideally located for a 5 min walk into town. We had an early night due to having an early 5 30 start to Periyar. Later breakfast was provided. Toast butter jam omelettes and tea. We would stay here again due to its peaceful location. During the night we had monkeys visiting us . On the balcony they had left us surprise parcels !!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jilly1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

-Pathetic experience , Not even 1 star place. Look for something better.

- A bare minimum kitchen with hardlly any service (slow)

- They offer tour package where some hidden clauses may be there. e.g. You may not be informed that cab driver will stop at 5PM. No arguments - You have to accomodate.

- Impressive pics are sent to fetch business but place is nowhere close to that

- Bangalore based manager stops taking calls once you reach. Only local fellow speaks to you.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravellerOoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed 2 nights here - comfortable,quiet, friendly hosts. Watch the thousands of fruit bats flying overhead at dusk - extra bonus.

Dining room gloomy which rather lets it down. Breakfast adequate unless you are gluten-free.

Easy walk into town for good and cheap food.

Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms with balcony are spacious and you can watch the bats at dusk and even spot the odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcwelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
4.4 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#11 of 43 in Thekkady
436 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suresh Green View Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suresh Green View Homestay

Property: Suresh Green View Homestay
Address: Thekkady Bypass Road | Hotel Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Suresh Green View Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green View Home Stay Hotel Thekkady
Suresh Green View Homestay Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing