We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suresh Green View Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suresh Green View Homestay
Ranked #11 of 110 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Green View is that perfect homestay- immensely affordable (they have three categories of prices, none too high), with big, comfortable and spotlessly clean rooms (and bathrooms), located close to the market place and the national park, and set amidst very green and soothing plants and trees. We paid INR 1000 for our double room per night, and were very happy, especially with the little rope swing hanging on the balcony outside. The cherry on the cake was the family, warm, accommodating and very helpful. I recommend it very very highly! Try especially Suresh's home grown coffee, which he will happily serve you with the complementary breakfast. :D

Room Tip: Standard rooms were good enough for us. But you can check out the deluxe ones if you're looking...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vrinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    115
    27
    7
    16
See reviews for
56
138
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The staff was very nice and helpful. We approached them and told them our budget (rs400/night.) We were frustrated because most of the other homestays insisted we view the room but would not give us a price. So we really appreciated Green View telling us up front what they had available for our price. And it was a nice room. Nice property. We went to the rooftop to watch fruit bats take flight one night. And there were plenty of spots to sit around, be lazy, and read a book.
The staff set us up with some tours, but we think the descriptions could be better. There were two 3 hour day hikes, but they could not tell us the difference between each. And they did not tell us ahead of time that we would have to pay for the rickshaws to the park. We thought it was included in the tour price. If we knew it wasn't, we would have found one to bargain with. The first charged us rs20/person (for 4 people.) Then I did a night trek tour. One of the staff from Green view gave me a ride in his own rickshaw and then charged me rs30. I just wish they were more upfront about all the extra fees.
Also, the day we did our tour, the same guy sold us someone else's entrance fee for rs200 each. So we each saved rs100 on the park entrance fee, but he made an extra rs400. We wondered if we should have shopped around for tours before booking with them.

Oh be sure to bring mosquito repellent and keep your windows closed when out to avoid finding a mozzie invasion.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just spent five days at Green View - delaying my journey by a couple of days because the place was so nice. Had a balcony room at the top, backing on to the forest, which was quiet and peaceful and great for reading, writing and impromptu bird/animal spotting without having to move an inch! Suresh and Sulekha were very welcoming, friendly and informative, and put up with me despite my constant requests for tea and coffee (!) breakfast is included, it's in an excellent location, really couldn't have asked for more

Room Tip: The private balcony is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammylonglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

A fine clean, quiet, very welcoming option. Helpful family hosts. Great location near parks and food. One of the best in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomwayfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I was in Kumily in December 2011. There I was sleeping in the Green View Home Stay. I like to recommend this place, because this was the nicest place i have bin to in my 6 weeks traveling time through south India. At my stay there i felt like a part of the family, everybody is caring for you. But the best was Sanish, he is working for the owner of the house and also living in the house. With him you can make very nice trips through the area. Dive to Spice-Gardens, Tee-Plantage, very very nice view points and secret point you will never have seen without his knowledge. Its also very nice to talk to him, he is a funny and open person with a lot of knowledge about plants, culture, history, religion and so on and so on. All the tours he is managing by his tuk tuk. So his is not only the guide he is also a tuk tuk driver always caring you safely to every place you want. At night or over day, no problem. If you need to get a bus at the station, ore meet some friends in a restaurant...Sanish will drive you everywhere you want, just ask him, you will never regret!!! Corinna

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

The reputation for Green View has clearly spread because it's much bigger than most homestays now, spanning two buildings. Each room is clean and comfortable, with balconies, bathrooms (towels incl.) and some with satellite TVs. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners Suresh and Sulekha, who couldn't be more helpful and welcoming.

They will even arrange safaris in the National Park on your behalf (go for the all-day Jeep/trek/boating safari, which offers the best value at 1500-2000 rupees pp). Cookery classes are also available at Green View.

The homestay is about 10 mins walk from the bus station.

Book your room in advance to avoid disappointment. Stayed in January 2012 for 2 nights while visiting Periyar Tiger Reserve.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ_and_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I stayed at Green View on a couple of occasions earlier this month and was very pleased with the place. Suresh and Sulekha and family were most welcoming and I felt very comfortable indeed. The rooms are basic but very clean and good value. The private balconies were great and offered welcome respite from the noise and pollution of the cities I'd travelled through prior to arriving at Kumily. Well worth staying for a couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGW01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#12 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#29 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suresh Green View Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suresh Green View Homestay

Property: Suresh Green View Homestay
Address: Thekkady Bypass Road | Hotel Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Suresh Green View Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green View Home Stay Hotel Thekkady
Suresh Green View Homestay Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing