We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotwater Limited...”
Review of Coffee Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coffee Inn
Ranked #23 of 133 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 14, 2009

initially the guy at the reception told us that there will be 24-hr hot water but it's not there during night time. then we found out that actually it's powered by solar system and he refuse to turn it to electricity mode... the room is kinda moist... especially during raining season

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bgsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 96 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2008

Arriving late to Kumily after a long drive I was exhausted. I went straight to Coffee Inn, ""a charming and welcoming" place according to LP. Well, when I came the concierge treated me like I was the one who should be grateful for their existence, not the other way around. His arrogant behaviour made me feel extremely unwelcome! The room was dingy, not very clean and the only reason i stayed was the late hour and tiredness.

The concierge also told me my driver couldn´t enter the premise, not even for using the bathroom. Parking outside the place was also out of question.

When I asked if I could get some candles he asked me why in an ironic voice, and when I politely asked if I could have something to eat the answer came promptly that they closed the kitchen at nine – I was fifteen minutes to late... "We are very tired, you see," he said. After some time he most kindly let me have a sandwich and tea in the completely empty dining room. I choosed a comfortable chair and waited – two seconds, before the concierge asked me to change chair, it was "reserved for arriving guests". Ok!!! I changed and some minutes the haughty manager of the place arrived, stared coldly at me and sat down in my former chair.
I got my meal, asked for some honey, got extra charged for that, and didn´t even eat my meal before the bill arrived...

All small details summed up made me check out immidiately the following day.
Coffee Inn might be the best looking homestay on the street, but when it comes to warmth and charm it is totally empty.
God never visited this place, for sure!

Josephine Carr
Stockholm

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Jo-Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank vollgastom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: prendre le cottage ou les chambres avec vue sur le parc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ni0nia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gaël M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016
Thank Beatrice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 45 in Thekkady
263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#18 of 45 in Thekkady
413 reviews
4.8 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#23 of 45 in Thekkady
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Periyar Villa Home Stay
0.7 mi away
Stay Melody
Stay Melody
#5 of 133 in Thekkady
112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panthalams Homestay
Panthalams Homestay
#7 of 133 in Thekkady
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Inn

Address: Lake Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $22 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coffee Inn guest house is situated in a calm and quiet place, offering the very best of panoramic views. Aesthetically designed clean and spacious rooms, bamboo huts, tree house and garden cottages with individual balconies facing the national wild life park.Only two minutes walk to entry gate of Periyar Tiger Reserve. (Our budget accommodation Wild huts inn available from October 1st to April 3oth only.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coffee Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Hotel Kumily
Coffee Inn Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing