We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable resort surrounded by splendid wild nature”
Review of Greenwoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Kobylka, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable resort surrounded by splendid wild nature”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

A very comfortable resort, with clean and well-equipped rooms, swimming pool and great Indian food buffet. The whole resort is surrounded by tropical trees, with many wild and bred birds around. The resort staff puts also big attention to mosquito control, so you can sit in the night in the balcony without being bitten (at least in February). The hotel staff can help you to book tours or give advice regarding local attractions.

One disadvantage:
Often the room service didn't act upon your calls unless you called repeatedly - I don't know if it was because they forgot or they didn't understand what we were saying, but pretended to have understood us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    255
    50
    10
    4
See reviews for
492
406
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here at for one night. All of us in the family totally enjoyed the stay here. All the staff were very courteous and polite. totallly very nice experience we will stay next time food was good.

I totally would love to recommend this hotel for families with kids.Not only is it kid-friendly, but even the activities and facilities

Room Tip: take good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sreelatha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This resort is a perfect getaway. Calm and well maintained property. The attentions to details are just simply outstanding. magnificent structure, beautiful location, a excellent blend of traditional Kerala style and modern amenities along with a very pleasant staff make this place an excellent place to select for while in Kumly ( Thekkady) , myself and my wife had the opportunity to stay at the this place in may 2014. We were upgraded to the pool villa which was fabulous, it was huge. Room was well maintained and clean. The restaurant was good serving traditional Kerala dishes, thanks to the reception and the housekeeping staff and Special thanks Mr. ‘Ajin for the attention they gave us during our stay at the GREEN WOODS. I would surely recommend to my friend to visit this place it was a gem of an experience,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 801ajee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed in this resort for 1 day with my wife and our experience was mind blowing.As soon as we entered into the resort, we were welcomed with Namaskara & Cardamom necklace.The complete resort is green with full of spices trees.We stayed in standard room which was very clean.The resort staffs were extremely courteous.Coffee house was build on the tree.Morning we had breakfast in the resort which was also very good and later Kerala traditional dress up was arranged by the staff.Thanks for the excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinu1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

An excellent place with hearty welcome wishes including spice coffee. Room facilities are great & house keeping staff did an excellent job on the other day. Restaurant manager was extremely courteous and food is awesome. Tree-top coffee shop is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SrinivasBravara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Excellent place, superb atmosphere and extremely courteous staff. Good swimming pool but the real beauty is the coffee shop in the tree house which was a good experience. Only regret is, we had only one day stay and could not extend because next planned schedule.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppm_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed here in may, not knowing extreamly unfortunately that we are gonna be staying here with a group of jains!! So all I ended up was into a resort with a very dirty pool, veg food spread, n bollywood music!! The staff however was extra sweet n tried to make us comfortable. The restaurant needs huge improvement!! the whole hotel seemed to be on a cost saving spree with cheese slices (processed cheese)in the Cesar salad to switching off the central water heater after 7!! Phew!!

Pls take the other reviews with a pinch of salt....

Food below average, pools dirty, cold water if you plan to bathe post 7pm is what you may adjust pls go ahead n book

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhramanti_chennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

First of all, let we thank you for finding time to update your experience ..We have been searching our internal records to trace your complaints but unfortunately its not there in any of our system records ..

Its true that we had a Jain group and we had to adjust our buffet giving more preference for Jain.But we offered Non veg items in a different location in the same restaurant.

Kindly note ,we do have a round the clock hot-water system.When we checked the guest request register ,we have not seen any such complaints but we have taken efficiency improvement measures to avoid even the slightest possibility for any such complaints.

Always we take our guests comments with top priority and its a chance for us for improvement.If any failures happened from our end ,we will certainly rectify the same .

I would like to take this opportunity to invite you to visit us next time and place the feedback.We give the word that we are committed to give the best possible service and you will definitely able to experience it..

With Thanks

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.5 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.6 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Property: Greenwoods Resort
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing