We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay place”
Review of Greenwoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
calicut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must stay place”
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a night..warm welcoming n excellent service by the staff...cool n romantic surroundings..many many varieties of fud..good place for relaxation...planning to come back soon..
Dr anoop n neelima anoop

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank anoopneelima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We thank you for your kind words of appreciation and its certainly a moral boost for us to move ahead and to serve you better.

Thanking you again,

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    257
    50
    10
    4
See reviews for
503
407
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

we stayed here for one night on 9th december 2013, we had a wonderful stay. Staff is very helpful and nice, food is good. Conveniently located in the center of city. In house activities in the hotel like spice garden and biogas plant visit,dhoti and saree tying are also wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 82_vivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Its so great to note you had a wonderful stay with us,If somebody ask ,what is our greatest strength ,we say with out any doubt , its our team.As you rightly mentioned ,our staff ,as a team stand to give the best possible experience for our guests...

We share your feedback with our team and we invite you to come back to Thekkady ,next time..

For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 days. After a very long trip by car from Alappuzha, we were so happy to be in a relaxed, quiet place. The food was fantastic, and we were looked after very well. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Easy access to town. The room in the small cottage was a bit too small for the additional bed, but we were out most of the time and it did not bother us too much. We did not have time to enjoy the swimming pool, as we were out during the day when it was open. There was only one inconvinience when we arrived, as we were first given a different room than we reserved. This was, however, quickly resolved. Overall, it is good value for money, though probably not the cheapest option in Thekkady.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulyana5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We are so pleased to note our guests felt that its value for money.We always adhere to the policy that we should be able to give more value to the money spend by our guests.

We hope to see you again ,

For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The Green Wood is another one of Kerla's fading stars. It was very nice when it was first built but like many other properties, it has not been kept up : drapes, bedding and rooms are a little shabby. The spare bed covering has holes in it. The lighting is also rather poor. Lots of steps but no railings, so be very careful. The food is mediocre at best. Beverages are limited; they do not have a beer/wine/liquor license. One bright spot is the front desk. Very helpful. Technology is lacking. You receive a user name and password, but the wireless does not reach to the rooms, plus our IPads would not connect even in the lobby. They have a wonderful treetop coffee shop except no one waits on you up there. The chef conducts cooking classes which is fun. Food us average Rates no more than a 2 star at best.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!!

We are so sorry to note ,we were not able to cater to your needs and expectations.We have noted on the points mentioned .Regarding WIFI ,it got damaged in lightning and we are repairing it on high priority.

We once again apologise and will look into each minute factor pointed out by you and all will certainly rectified.

Also like to invite you to stay with us next time ,we that we can serve you better

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekahran Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at Green Woods for one night during the Kerala strike week in Nov 2013. I checked in at the usual time, but didn't check out until 23:30 the following night as the strike did not end until midnight and we would not be able to travel up to Munnar. I updated my checkout time with the staff several times (progressively later) and they never even suggested that I might have to pay extra.

When booking, I contacted them directly through their website, and was offered a rate 15% lower than I was able to find online (once taxes were included), 8,000 rupees rather than 9,400. This might well have been because of lots of cancellations due to the strike, but still, it might be worth while checking prices directly rather than going straight to the usual hotel sites.

The buffet food was good, and reasonably priced (500 for lunch, 700 for dinner). Location was also good, being right in Kumily, but surrounded by their own mini park to give you a relaxing environment. The standard of the rooms was good without being anything remarkable, I'd say good 3 star compared to UK hotels, but the service was very good. Overall I'd definitely recommend Green Woods.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneelS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Its absolutely our responsibility to help our guests to enjoy the holiday without any troubles in unseen situations like strikes.We thank you for the kind words of appreciation you showered on us and happy to note you enjoyed the stay with us.

Hope to see you soon,

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The resort was great and services was really awesome!!! We enjoyed a lot.. The resort is situated near by all the attraction and also there are lot of activities to do inside the resort as well. There was pool, recreation centre and gym. On top of all I enjoyed the food so much. Thanks so much for taking care of us. If we'll come to thekkady next time we will surely stay at Green Woods Resort.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Krina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!!

We are pleased to note you had a wonderful time with us.We will share the feedback with our team and hope to see you next time you come to Thekkady.

For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

As you enter the property you are greeted with two turkeys, one black & one white, who have a peculiar cackle like two humans laughing. Set in 5 acres, the suite is uniquely designed for maximum feeling of space, nice views of greenery and above all calmness.
Plenty of lawns, a pool, hammock, swing keep the family busy. The breakfast spread is sumptuous but the dinner buffet needs more careful planning however for a harmonious combination. The salad bar had plain veggies, the chef could have done much more.

Overall, a great base to explore Thekkady & Periyar from.

Room Tip: The suite/rooms away from reception are private, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shantanu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Namaskaram!!

The turkeys are part of our Greenwoods Family.They are now very much blend with guest movements and we many times felt they are part of our Hospitality.The green ambience and with the activities ,we always wish our guest have an ever memorable holiday experience.

Wish to see you soon,

For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
403 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
617 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.2 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Property: Greenwoods Resort
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing