We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green n great resort”
Review of Greenwoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stay at green woods for 2 days from 13th June 13 to 15th June 13 with a family group of 4families . But the expirience of resort is superb . Food is very good , staff is very friendly , specially one lady name I think sunanda like that . She is very friendly with our children n ladies . Spa is very good . Coffee machan on tree top is very good n new idea . Spices garden in resort is very maintained . Cultural programmes in resort is very good . Thank's estire holidays to plan our trip to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,112)
There are newer reviews for Greenwoods Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

824 - 830 of 1,113 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

A nice looking big property. Lot of greenery around. Our stay was in a nice looking cottage type room. Good co-operation from the staff. As per my request they offer a full property visit. Also saw their pool villa which is awesome. Next time may be trying this even it is bit expensive. Spent an hour in the swimming pool in the cool evening. Far from pollution. I nice resort where you can relax for a day or two. Boating in the thekkady lake was also a fantastic experience. Spotted lot of animals. I suggest this resort as a good choice in thekkady.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DileepKerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Its a matter of happiness to note you enjoyed our greenery and its a haven of flora and fauna.We want our guest to unwind in the forest like ambience and we always try to make the stay most pleasant one.

Thanks for giving the feedback and we consider guest feedback with due importance and always we are in the process of improving our services...

Thanks

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had planned the trip to thekady all of a sudden and was checking on a nice place to stay. I got in touch with
Mr. Sanjith who told me that the hotel was fully booked , but still managed to accommodate me, my wife and child. The experience was superb right from check in , the rooms were impeccable , the service in the restaurant and the lady guest relations executive who took us around the property. It truly was one of the best experiences I had in recent times. I would like to thank Mr. Sanjith who made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sujiith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We thank you for the appreciation and regarding the availability ,as we have limited inventory(only 34 cottages in 8 acres of greenery) ,it will be advisable to do prior booking.We share your feedback with our team members and we feel delighted when our guest leave with memories for a life time.

Thanks

For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar.R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you need a stress buster holiday, then its greenwoods that you need to go to. Its right behind Kumily town but once inside you can feel the serenity and quietness of a beautiful natural forest resort. Right from the time of making my reservation, to arranging for transportation, warm welcome with cardamom garland and hot dry ginger flavoured coffee , to the beautiful private cottage with a small private splash pool , the activities which included a walk around the resort to show the natural beauty, cookery show, nature show, Indian dance show and after a well deserved ayurvedic massage a trip to a spice garden , elephant safari and a visit to the top of the mountains to peer into tamilnadu. The icing on the cake was the excellent service offered by each and every staff member without being overly pampering. Recommendation no.1 in Thekkady. Well worth the price (offseason offers are great).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thanks for the great feedback.We always need our guest to have best experience possible.We are following a system to assure the best possible service is rendered and at the same time we open our doors to find out areas of improvement.

We hope to meet you soon at Thekkady!!

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Food was ok-ok but not that wonderful. Lot of greenery was present at and around the hotel but that was not at all maintained. The room would have been more clean. Lots of Mosquitos were present that made the stay outside quite uncomfortable. Thekkady as whole itself was not worth travelling. However the activities planned like property tour, cooking demonstration were good. The welcome was also nice. The entrance of the property is not that great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivek7914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We thank you for the feedback and noted on the points.We apologise for all inconvenience caused.

We always believe there is scope for improvement.To explore Thekkady activities ,one need to stay more than 2 nights.The Periyar Tiger Reserve offers about 10 activities which includes Rfting ,Tribal Dance ,Night Treckking etc...We have intiated steps to give a better briefing to our guests about these activities.

We would like to welcome you to visit next time to serve you better.

Thanks

For

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Right from the time you get inside the hotel - you get a great feeling... One of the most warm welcomes I have ever received from a hotel... The staff is courteous and forthcoming... By the time we completed out welcome drink - check in formalities were complete and we were escorted to our room... The staff explained us the entire property and things to enjoy during the stay...

Rooms were neat and clean with decent view... The only problem we had was with the commode which was too high especially for my daughter...

The food was excellent - with special thanks to the chef who prepared Kerala cuisine especially for us... Last but not least the massage centre was great with professional masseur...

Wonderful stay...

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Nitin_Tatiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thank you for the compliments and we are happy to note that you enjoyed the stay with us.Always we wish ,our guest have the experience of a second home .

Hope to meet you soon at Thekkady


Thanks

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar.Rajasekharan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The staff was wonderful and the food was superb. However, the room (#402 appeared very nice at first glance) had a distinct musty smell. We noticed it right away and told the staff when they delivered our luggage. Initially, they said it was room freshener. Then they said the wood (doors, trim, furniture) was emitting a smell due to the damp conditions during monsoon season. They were going to bring room freshener but they did not return with it. The bed linens had stains (there was no top sheet on the bed, only a coverlet). The bathroom was in need of a renovation - it was dated and also smelled. You could hear the occupants upstairs due to thin walls, as were the windows (noise from heavy rain kept me away all night). It was a lovely resort, despite the room issue. The traditional dancer was amazing and we also enjoyed the cooking demonstration. The service and food were 4 star but the room was a 2 ...so I'm rating it as a 3 overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Butski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We consider your review with due importance and we have taken remedial action on the areas you mentioned.

The damp smell you felt was due to a technical problem ,and we have rectified it.We regret for the same.We invite you to stay with us next time ,so that we can serve you better.



For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar.R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
427 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
910 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
857 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $92 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing