We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to unwind oneself”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenwoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
“Perfect place to unwind oneself”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you need a stress buster holiday, then its greenwoods that you need to go to. Its right behind Kumily town but once inside you can feel the serenity and quietness of a beautiful natural forest resort. Right from the time of making my reservation, to arranging for transportation, warm welcome with cardamom garland and hot dry ginger flavoured coffee , to the beautiful private cottage with a small private splash pool , the activities which included a walk around the resort to show the natural beauty, cookery show, nature show, Indian dance show and after a well deserved ayurvedic massage a trip to a spice garden , elephant safari and a visit to the top of the mountains to peer into tamilnadu. The icing on the cake was the excellent service offered by each and every staff member without being overly pampering. Recommendation no.1 in Thekkady. Well worth the price (offseason offers are great).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thanks for the great feedback.We always need our guest to have best experience possible.We are following a system to assure the best possible service is rendered and at the same time we open our doors to find out areas of improvement.

We hope to meet you soon at Thekkady!!

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    253
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
475
399
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Food was ok-ok but not that wonderful. Lot of greenery was present at and around the hotel but that was not at all maintained. The room would have been more clean. Lots of Mosquitos were present that made the stay outside quite uncomfortable. Thekkady as whole itself was not worth travelling. However the activities planned like property tour, cooking demonstration were good. The welcome was also nice. The entrance of the property is not that great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek7914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We thank you for the feedback and noted on the points.We apologise for all inconvenience caused.

We always believe there is scope for improvement.To explore Thekkady activities ,one need to stay more than 2 nights.The Periyar Tiger Reserve offers about 10 activities which includes Rfting ,Tribal Dance ,Night Treckking etc...We have intiated steps to give a better briefing to our guests about these activities.

We would like to welcome you to visit next time to serve you better.

Thanks

For
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Right from the time you get inside the hotel - you get a great feeling... One of the most warm welcomes I have ever received from a hotel... The staff is courteous and forthcoming... By the time we completed out welcome drink - check in formalities were complete and we were escorted to our room... The staff explained us the entire property and things to enjoy during the stay...

Rooms were neat and clean with decent view... The only problem we had was with the commode which was too high especially for my daughter...

The food was excellent - with special thanks to the chef who prepared Kerala cuisine especially for us... Last but not least the massage centre was great with professional masseur...

Wonderful stay...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nitin_Tatiwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thank you for the compliments and we are happy to note that you enjoyed the stay with us.Always we wish ,our guest have the experience of a second home .

Hope to meet you soon at Thekkady


Thanks

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar.Rajasekharan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The staff was wonderful and the food was superb. However, the room (#402 appeared very nice at first glance) had a distinct musty smell. We noticed it right away and told the staff when they delivered our luggage. Initially, they said it was room freshener. Then they said the wood (doors, trim, furniture) was emitting a smell due to the damp conditions during monsoon season. They were going to bring room freshener but they did not return with it. The bed linens had stains (there was no top sheet on the bed, only a coverlet). The bathroom was in need of a renovation - it was dated and also smelled. You could hear the occupants upstairs due to thin walls, as were the windows (noise from heavy rain kept me away all night). It was a lovely resort, despite the room issue. The traditional dancer was amazing and we also enjoyed the cooking demonstration. The service and food were 4 star but the room was a 2 ...so I'm rating it as a 3 overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Butski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We consider your review with due importance and we have taken remedial action on the areas you mentioned.

The damp smell you felt was due to a technical problem ,and we have rectified it.We regret for the same.We invite you to stay with us next time ,so that we can serve you better.



For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar.R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Big thank you to Saumya and Stephen and the rest of the staff at green woods. They welcomed us with garlands of cardamom (how original and fragrant!) and took good care of us. The food was very varied and delicious including meal demonstrations by the chefs. We also saw a beautiful bharatnatyam dance and enjoyed playing carom upstairs. There is also a treehouse where you can eat local snacks and enjoy a cup of tea in the monsoon. Had a facial at the spa and found the staff well educated and polite. Wish we could have made use of the bicycles on site to see the property. The pathways to our rooms were muddy due to rains, but were not unmanageable, just be prepared to walk on uneven paths with umbrellas through trees at night. It sounds way worse, was really not that bad and added to the charm of the place!

Room Tip: Stay closer to the main hall for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdtGrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thanks for the fabulous feedback and we have shared your appreciation with our team members.We always want our guest to feel like their second home.

Waiting to see you soon at Thekkady!!

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Was here in the first week of August for a one night stay

The resort has an amazing staff which made our stay much pleasurable

We also liked the surrounding and the flora – fauna present around

The rooms are spacious and clean

The food is good and the restaurant staff is courteous

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We thank you for the appreciation and we will try our best to render the same service in future too.

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Was here in the first week of August for a one night stay. This resort is superior based on the services and Hospitality they provide.There are many members which i shall mention to make our stay a memorable one. Mr.Rejeesh the sales manger helped with answering all the queries during the booking and helped us very cordially. Also the front office manager was very helpful in attending in all the details during our stay, a special mention to Linda the restaurant hostess as well. The resort has a lot of area to walk around and see with varieties of plants all over. the swimming pool is nice with clean water. The rooms are very spacious with all the necessary amenities, bathroom is equipped with a shower cubicle and hairdryer. The food quality is also good and the restaurant staff is real polite. Kudos to greenwood team..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thanks for the golden words of appreciation.Its a matter of great moral boost for our team ,when we shared your feedback with them.They requested to convey their sincere thanks for acknowledging their services..

We are trying our best to render best possible professional service.Every guest we need to feel at home .While reviewing the comments card after guest check out or reviews like this ,we study the areas we still need to improve..

Thekkady is a destination with much activities offered by Periyar Tiger Reserve which includes rafting through lake ,trekking in forest etc where your are guided by wild life guides...


PTR-Periyar Tiger Reserve is doing much efforts for conservation and supporting local community.By paricipating PTR activities you are also becoming part of the great efforts for conservation.

From our end ,we are doing whatever possible for the empowerment of children of local schools including tribal school.Also our Programme "Plant A Tree A Day" is with the mission to replenish the damage caused to environment due to cutting down of trees....

Every guest coming to Thekkady needs more than 2/3 nights stay to experience all these activities including the Vineyards,view points,sightseeing places etc.


Waiting to see you soon,

With Thanks

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar Rajasekharan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
1.5 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.6 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Property: Greenwoods Resort
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing