We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort”
Review of Greenwoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Resort”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Greenwood resort is very near the main market and the bus stand but you feel that you are in the midst of the nature. Once you are inside, you do not feel the hustle and bustle of the town. The resort has good garden and it is well maintained. The staff is very courteous and the service quality is excellent. A room that we booked was adequate for the family of 4 with 2 children. The room amenities are good and they provide electric iron and ironing board on request. This is one of the few resorts in Thekkady with an air-condition in a room.

The food was excellent. Both breakfast and dinner had a lot of variety and most of the dishes were delicious. We even liked their buffet lunch. The restaurant has good capacity. Although the resort was almost full with the guests, we never had to wait for a table.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room then do not opt for rooms facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoom1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram..!!

First of all, thank you for sparing your valuable time over here and posting a valuable feedback about our resort. Your description about the pleasant experience in Greenwoods makes us more responsible to deliver excellent services to our Guests at all times. Our entire team jointly welcomes you back to our lovely resort once again and assuring you the best services from the bottom of our heart.

Thanks & Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    257
    50
    10
    4
See reviews for
503
407
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

One of the best resort I stayed in with my family during our Kerala trip in the month of May. The check in was quick and easy. The best part was the the welcome style with cardamom garland and ginger tea.
The room was very neat and clean.Staff were so friendly and helpful. Amazing experience was to get dressed up in Kerala style. My daughter really enjoyed the swimming pool and the recreation center. Food was pretty average it was more of a south indian style.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vraj_Modi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Greenwoods Resort..!!

We are very much happy to know that you had a wonderful stay in our resort during your visit to Kerala. We really appreciate your effort in putting your valuable feedback here. We would want our guests to cherish the memories of the time they spend with Greenwoods.

Once again thanking you for your kind encouragement and support. Hope we will see soon on your next visit to Thekkady.

Thanks and Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed in pool suite here.It was a bliss.They have an amazing well maintained property.They had the best hospitality out of all the resorts of Kerala we stayed in.As an example my brother called them at 12 at night for extra light in the room as none of us are particularly fond of yellow light.They came with all the preparation to change all the yellow bulbs in the room with white ones within 5 minutes.They have a good restaurant with delicious food,amazing hospitality,well maintained property (have spice plants ,tree coffee house,a good pool and entertainmentzone)

Room Tip: We stayed in pool suite.It was wonderful.Also had a look at Presidential suite but personally I foun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahak_Maheshwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!


Thanks for such a fabulous feedback!! When guests appreciate us ,its a great moral boost for our entire team .In Pool Suites, we have made our best efforts to make it as the most premium product which can offer the real 5* experience and at the same time give complete privacy.

Every guest when stay with us ,we want them to have a ever memorable experience and hope to see you soon,

Thanks,

For Greenwoods Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed with them in april 2013. Very warm welcome. Excellent customer service. Food quality and variety good. Rooms decent,clean and very good location. Treehouse facility an additional benefit. Sports room helps. Swimming pool is also good. I enjoyed every second of my stay with them. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nehavenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!!!!!!!


Thanks for your valuable comments.We are happy to note you enjoyed every moment of your stay with us.We feel happy when our guests enjoy the stay and we feel our efforts are full filled.We want to make our guests feel as their second home and carry the message of need to conserve trees when they leave us......

Hope to see you soon,

Thanks,

For Greenwoods Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The stay is really good for a resort located right in between the city. It's well maintained and the staff are good and friendly and very cooperative on arrival they welcome you in the authentic kerala style and coconut drink. Food is good. The coffee house at the resort is one of its kind .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!!

Thanks for your feedback .We are happy to note that we are able to make your stay with us worthy.

Hope to see you soon!!!!!!


For Greenwoods Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had 2 sites stay at Thekkady in Greenwoods Hotel...The hotel ambiance was decent. Room was was also descent. I had taken Pool villa (Ritihka). The Pool was situated outside the room and was open which makes it very difficult for any one to take a dip in it because it is covered by trees, insects and mosquito. Also was very much disappointed with the kind of room service and other staff service required. You just have to wait for min. 15-20 mins or more even after that no surity of receiving the service. Food was fine.
Not sure I would like to visit the hotel again and would recommend it to someone... :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ParasPanchamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We have noted on your feedback and we sincerely apologies ,if our service standards need not met with your expectations.

The Rithika-The Jacuzzi we kept it outside the room ,why because ,if its inside the humidity from the pool will spoil the room ambiance in a climate like Thekkady. But to give privacy we have surrounded it with compound wall, though the pool is outside the room.

Our resort is with full of trees and we built the cottages minimizing the possibility of cutting down trees...

Our resort is spread in 8.5 acres and so the standard time we specify for room service is 20 mnts but if it went long way -more than that or any service not matched your expectations,we once again apologies and will be studying each point you mentioned with utmost importance.We will try our best to do the needful corrective actions .

We humbly welcome you to visit our resort next time ,so that we can serve you better...

Thanks

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharuch, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We wer in the resort for only one day, but wished we stayed long.starting from welcome to the checkout everything was great,staff always smiling.me and my daughter enjoyed the property &(spice plantation) visit with Ms.Shaumya,it was just awsome as she explained breifly about each plants amidst the rain,it was the best part of our thekkdy visit thanks to her.Food was good,activiy room is very nice,they arrange some cultural dance programe in the resort etc.so witth much activities are there in the resort itself.overall a great experience will surely visit again.

Room Tip: we were given the suite room no 1902 with the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharmesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, we are very much thankful for your kind appreciation. It’s a warm pleasure to know that you had received a wonderful experience from our resort. Your feedback we share with our team and it is a moral boost for them to serve better.

We thank you once again for your kind appreciation and hope we will be able to serve you better next time

Thanks & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
403 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
617 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.2 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Property: Greenwoods Resort
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing