We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excillent place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwoods Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excillent place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I planned trip to kerala and based on the reviews selected green wood resort and as the review suggestions it is an excillent place to stay especially staff welcome to the resort they behaviour and responce is very good. I definitely recommend.
I stayed in the resort on May 10 to 11 it is the stay value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vijaykumargattoju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thanks for your appreciation and your kind words about our staff -our team. Greenwoods always believe ,in quality and we want our guest to feel us their second home.

Many often ,guest miss activities like Bamboo Rafting,Forest trekking etc offered by the forest department,which is a rare opportunity.

Hope to see you soon



With Thanks,

Greenwoods Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    251
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
470
394
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We went to Greenwoods in April, 2013. It was chosen purely based on Trip Advisor reviews.
Even though the resort is in the heart of Kumily town, the atmosphere inside the walls are entirely different. It is total greenery inside. We had booked for Rithika honeymoon villa. But they have provided a free upgradation to Pool Suite after reaching. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Pool suite had a private pool outside with privacy well maintained. Another attraction in Greenwoods is the Tree top coffee shop which resembles a typical coffee shop in kerala villages.
The best things i recommend in Greenwoods is Staff Behavior and attitude, Tasty food and a Safe and Pleasant stay from a busy schedule.
Trip Advisor reviews found to be so true, we experienced it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revin122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thanks for such a valuable feedback.We are very much pleased to note that we were able to offer a good holiday for you at Thekkady...Its also a matter of happiness that you enjoyed the sip of Kerala tea from our tree top coffee shop.

Please take care and hope to see you soon and we sincerely request you to spread the message "When we protect nature...nature will bless us back'

With Thanks,

Greenwoods Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

we went for honeymoon in karela august 2012 and stayed at greenwoods rithika the honeymoon villa wid private pool....the room was awesome so was the staff present there.the welcome was warm.food was great.they arranged a small dance performance too for the guest which was a add on.quality of all the room,food nd staff are awesome.the maximum part of the resort is green...where we enjoyed our stay.we surely hope to visit it soon.

Room Tip: for the honeymoon couple RITHIKA
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ranitadutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

We are pleased to note you had a wonderful honeymoon in the romantic ambiance of greenery and tall trees all around.Our cottages we have planned keeping in mind the value additions for the honeymooners and we also arrange special theme dinners at Tree Top Restaurant exclusive for couples...



With Thanks,

For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar.R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We drove from Munnar to Thekkady. As we approached the resort through busy roads of thekkady, i thought to myself that i made a mistake. What kind of a resort can you possibly have in the middle of a crowd place like this.. but as soon as i entered the gates of the resort i was taken by pleasant surprise. it's a peaceful green patch right in the middle of everything. Good Restaurant (including a tree top restaurant which is a basic cafe with limited options), nice clean rooms, play area for kids, swimming pool and spa.

Swimming Pool should be cleaned more often.It had bugs from the surrounding greenery, but apart from that overall experience was excellent and i would recommend it to everybody planning a visit to thekkady.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hychen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thanks for choosing to stay with us..We preserve our flora and when esteemed guests like to appreciate the green ambiance we feel our efforts are fulfilled.You advises are noted and we assure will do the needful.The treetop coffee shop we offer it as an experience of traditional Kerala Coffee shop

Thanking again for the valuable comments and hope to see you soon,

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar.R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Green Woods really is a beautiful haven within Thekkady. It is set amongst beautiful hilled woodland complete with tree house coffee shop and a great swimming pool.
The staff upon arrival were very friendly and welcoming greeting us with handmade necklaces, a very cute touch we thought.
The room was pleasant, the restaurant staff couldnt do enough for you and we even had a flower decoration on the bed and cake made for us by the kitchen and bought out at dinner as they knew it was our honeymoon.
We loved our Green Woods experience and would recommend it to anyone.
ONly tiny negative for us was the size of the enclosures for the animals they keep, especially the turkeys which had 2 large turkeys and 2 other birds in the size of a rabbit hutch. I believe they are got out the pen to exercise as we later saw them walking around but when we saw them in the cage one was attacking another and it couldnt get away which wasnt pleasant to watch. Hope Green Woods can do something about it.

HOwever i reiterate, thank you for a great great stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sir,

Namaskaram!!

Let us thank for your appreciation on our services..The point you mentioned about the size of the cage of Turkey ,we are taking with due importance.and assure you we will do the needful.....We also appreciate your concern for the other living beings around us and as a policy we stand for the concept "Preserve our Reserves'

Thanks

For Greenwoods Team

Shankar.R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was there on Greenwoods resort ,thekkady on 4th may'13 .They welcome garland which makes me very happy.
I stayed in the villa which was awesome..
The front office executive was very helpful and they guided us to the villa..
I stayed in the resort for one day ,the rooms are very neat and spacious.
The food was very good .Had a very nice experience in coffe shop.
Looking to comeback once again

Room Tip: Go and take a private villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navaneeth_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Pleased to note your stay was fine and what we suggest is next time you come for atleast 2 days so that you may able to experience the Periyar Tiger Reserve activities too...

If we conserve nature...nature will bless us back in different ways...

Hope to see you soon,

For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar.R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have been to many hotels around the World but really you would have to go some way to better this for attention to detail and the desire, from every single member of staff, to make our stay perfect. There are so many thoughtful things the hotel did. Small things like ceasing any gardening around our room when we were there to maintain our privacy and enjoyment to ensuring that every meal addressed our requirements. They asked if we had any special requests for meals and asked us if our room was comfortable. They organised many special touches for us and seemed to read our minds to stay one step ahead of our wishes. Everyone was lovely, courteous, helpful and professional. A special mention should go to Prveen and the head chef who both went the extra mile for us. The service was faultless, always with a smile and without any expectation. It really seemed that they wanted to please us just to please us. It really was the best service we've ever had. Would definately recommend. Thank you. Liz and Lester

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankar R, General Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Namaskaram!!

Thanks for the great words of appreciation showered on our team.We feel more than happy to note that our guest enjoyed the stay with us.We welcome you to stay with us next time and wishing you happy days ahead!!

For Greenwoods Team,

Shankar.R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.1 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#1 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Property: Greenwoods Resort
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing