We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Greenwoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for two days. The hotel was very nice & all the staff were helpful & friendly. Our room was very clean & comfortable but the furniture was very old & needs to replace. The food was very delicious but the food delivery to the room was slow. I like the café on the trees it was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hani_Maashari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiju J, Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to know that you had a fabulous stay with us in the green woods .Let you have cherishing memories about your stay. As mentioned by you the furniture’s are not old, but by the design we have made it look antique. We do very much value your suggestions to improve our services in a much better standard you expect. The tree top coffee shop would be having more to deliver to you on your next visit. We sincerely thank you once again for having the patience in writing about us.Your motivation is our growth

Warm Regards
Jiju James
Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    257
    50
    10
    4
See reviews for
503
407
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel for 02 nights in the Ritika room which has its own plunge pool... We loved the Sandalwood tikka & Cardamom garland welcome, Saumya at the reception helped us with our check-in and informed us about all the available facilities in the hotel. The tree house chai kadai(tea stall) was shut throughout our stay... They had cultural dance program on both the days inside the hotel which was entertaining... Room was big and spacious, bed was very comfortable with all modern amenities inside the room. Day 01 we had our dinner at night and wasnt happy with the food which we mentioned in the restaurant report comment column, next day they were waiting for us and when we reached there, they asked us what we dint like in the buffet after explaining they apologised and also offered us A la Carte dinner but surprisingly the buffet itself was quite good and we were quite satisfied with it... but again on the last day the chef at the dosa counter if we want to order something we ordered a plain dosa but that never arrived on the table (not acceptable as he was the one who asked us what we want to eat from the dosa counter)... all in all a nice experience barring one bad experience at the restaurant... hotel is in the city centre yet it make you feel that you are staying away from the crowd, swimming pool is clean and they also have a play area for children... nice hotel will recommend to all

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasimsayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiju J, Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

With great pleasure we take this moment to thank you for writing about us of your stay in greenwoods. We cheer with you for the wonderful memories that you carried away. We do very much consider the mistakes that you noticed and mentioned. I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced. We have taken the corrective measures to overcome the issues addressed by you. We will be honored to serve you again of your next visit to greenwoods.

Warm Regards
Jiju James
Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August 2012.

The hotel grounds and rooms are very nice, in fact I'd say the pictures on their website do not do it justice.

There were some service issues which slightly spoiled our visit to this hotel including dirty\stained bed linen, the fridge in our room not working, having to ask several times for the wifi router to be reset, the tree house coffee shop being closed for the entire time, having to wait almost 30 mins for an omelette at breakfast and refusing to return our passports when asked.

It appears from my review that we didn't enjoy our stay at this hotel, but actually we did.

In fairness it does appear to be one of the best hotels in thekkady and it is located in the town centre but cleverly placed to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Overall, a very good hotel just a couple of service issues letting it down.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swb84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiju J, Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Namaskaram!!!!


Dear Guest,

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and giving your valuable comments on the services. I seriously understand the inconvenience caused, and i do very much apologize for the inappropriate service that was rendered to you on your stay. As it is not typical with our standards. It would be great if you could kindly let us know your check in date. So as i could intervene in to the matter and to find out the root cause. We always value suggestions and believe that, there is a scope of growth only through learning from our mistakes. Kindly give us a chance to serve you better on your next visit ,to ensure the best of the best services you avail.

Warm Regards
Jiju James
Manager Operations
om@greenwoods.in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

+ Grand way of receiving guests with Cardomom garland to all guests
+ Excellent and friendly front desk staff like Sowmya, Sowmini, Mani Mannan (Cleaning), praveen (restaurant),
+ Fast laundry service
+ In the middle of town, but in a forest environment
+ Good food and nice pool
+ Excellent naturalist
+ Great elephant ear fig tree and its fruits
- None

Room Tip: Choose any room and you are okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuwait_visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Overall: good property for families with a great pool and trampoline for the kids!

We visited in early May with one other family. Both of us had two kids. We stayed there for 2 nights before moving onto Munnar.

Room: Nice room. Comfortable beds with a nice clean bath.

Service: good service overall. They allowed an early check-in (9am) after our arrival from Bangalore via Cochin. Very attentive staff all over the property.

Food: tried the breakfast buffet, which was a decent spread. They have a live station which turns out omelets and dosas. Also had lunch and dinner on two of the days, which was quite tasty. However we had a bad experience with the service in the restaurant. Had to wait 2 hours for lunch on the first day with the kids dozing off while waiting. The staff who were available tried their best to keep us and other patrons happy, but the kitchen was simply overwhelmed; not that that there were too many guests either. The manager tried his best to pacify the guests, but the experience was disappointing. Seemingly the main chef didn't show up and hence the issues. Same thing would have repeated the next day but we avoided it by pre-ordering the food well in advance on the request of the restaurant staff. The hotel however didnt charge us for the delayed lunch and profusely apologized to us and went out of their way to be helpful during the rest of the stay. The food itself was quite good.

Other amenities/observations: Lovely pool with a nice little wading area for the kids. Great trampoline which tired out the kids big time. Also a beautiful tree house where we had a wonderful evening tea (complimentary). Nice grounds which give us a nice wooded tropical setting. Location is in the Kumily town center but still quiet and peaceful. They also organize live cultural shows in the evening. Don't miss the Kalaripayattu show near the center of town (not attached to the hotel however).

Also used the gym which is okay for the location. However treadmill resets whenever the power switches from genset to raw and vice-versa!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VikramAndJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had a trip to kerala with my family.I stayed at Green Woods Resort on 13th August.It was most memorable part of our trip..We came there from Munnar.We were down due to traveling ,but as soon as we came out of vehicle ,we were very warmly escorted to the Reception area and had traditional welcome with sandal tikka on forehead and cardoman garland.All area inside resort was wonderful.A lot of greenery and tall trees providing a soothing relief.Each one of staff was perfect in its duty.So warm,courteous and helpful in approach that you feel very much at home.Rooms are comfortable,spacious and full of natural light .Pool was excellent.Dinner as well Breakfast was marvelous.Chef personally checking and helping each guest.I wish i could stay there much longer but could not as I had next bookings for Backwaters.I left with heavy heart but with happy memories of A Great Stay at Green Woods Resorts,THEKKADY. .

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSMAKKAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonipat, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed with my family at room category-Kanana! The resort was excellent in terms of hospitality, maintenance, cuisines, rooms, cleanliness. It was just so green! They did a warm welcome! The staff was caring n friendly. It was indeed one of the best stay experiences at Kerala!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nidhi_Hasija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
399 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
599 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.2 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Property: Greenwoods Resort
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing