We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I rate 4.5/5”
Review of Greenwoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I rate 4.5/5”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Indeed a place to be at, whatever you may be fond of..Food, Scenery, Accomodation- A complete blend of irrevocable Hospitality.I along with my family stayed here on 16th of Aug 12' for a night. These guys offered a unique experience that will be remembered for a lifetime..
Kudos..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALifetimeTrip_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    749
    255
    50
    10
    4
See reviews for
492
406
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

6-7 acre of greenery, a coffee house on tree (Though it was almost closed), good stay, rooms are nicely maintained., friendly staff and lotsa activities, like traditional cooking session, kathakali dance performance in evening. Breakfast was ala carte so fresh food unlike buffet.
Best was lotsa greenery among the canopy of big trees. Very serene!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paavani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for one night, and found it to be really good. The room was really clean, the toilet was in good condition. I specially loved how friendly the staff were. One of them took me around the resort showing me the different plants and fruits. The breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ASRomar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

It is a excellent property to stay, Best one was the warm welcome by them, and staff is very softspoken and nice to talk to them. All facilities are excellent except Room-service which need to improve.Any way if I have to stay in thekkady in future i will choose only GreenWood Resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NeerajGupta343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was a nice experience to stay at GreenWoods. Food was excellent. There was a park for kids and our little 'chinnu' spent most of the time there. All staff were very coperative with excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diluvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights with my wife and kid. The location and the staffs are very child friendly. The rooms are clean with typical Kerala styled furniture and extremely eco friendly styled. The staffs were very pleasant and helpful. Staff response was impeccable and their knowledge on the local vegetation was mind blowing. Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: the rooms are almost the same in size and features except for Vanya which is in the mist of the jung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Mr Jacob,

Namaskaram!!

First of all ,we thankfully acknowledge the appreciation offered to our staff and its certainly an inspiration for the whole team to perform better.Every guest is so valuable to us and our team try the best to give an ever memorable time in the resort.

As we are a nature resort,we always tries to create awareness in guests on the need to protect the nature.When people like you acknowledge our efforts ,its a great moment of appreciation for our staff.

Thanks and Regards,

Shankar.R
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A wonderful experience at Green Woods.we had a warm welcome with a cardmon garland and fresh Juice. Our bungalows was very spacious, bathrooms outdated and require more toiletries.

Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation. It's excellent place for nature lovers. You will listen sweet chirping of birds in the morning. Its very pleasant in the morning.

The entire crew of staff exudes an unbelievable hospitality. Right from check-in till check-out all our needs were taken care of in a meticulously manner

The resort hosts a number of activities like cooking demonstration, Indian classical dance property tour etc. for a few of which we were the only participants, but still, these were carried out by the staff with full enthusiasm. The dinner and breakfast buffets were excellent both in terms of variety and taste and they prepared special dietary for us no garlic and onions.

The boat trip on Thekaddy Lake was pleasant first thing in the morning very peaceful.

I had massage and was find but felt the two young ladies were not too experienced in my opinion as they were unable to answer some questions. More information on the various massage should be provided in the room explaining each one. Also after having Shirodhara, I used the shower facility in the treatment room and had lack of toiletries to wash my hair, water was cold and did not find it too clean.

On the whole very pleasant Resort highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tailor_Consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear Mr Tailor,

Namaskaram!!

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the stay with us and also thanks for the appreciation you have given for our staff.Our team is our strength and majority of them are from the local community.We trained them in professional standards and we are doing all possible to make our guests holiday a most pleasant experience.

We believe in conserving nature and now there are about 4000 trees in 50 varieties and as you mentioned ,the resort is the habitat of many types of birds.Also we are happy to note you enjoyed various activities from the warm welcome to cultural dance in the night.

We have noted down your suggestions on Ayurveda Spa and we assure to do the needful at the earliest.

We wish you will be coming back to us next time,

With Thanks and Regards,

Shankar.R
Business Development Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
1.5 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.6 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Property: Greenwoods Resort
Address: Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing