We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place!”
Review of Greenwoods Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greenwoods Resort
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Lovely hotel in ideal location. Quiet and secluded but near enough to walk into town. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Warm welcome on arrival. Beautiful room. Loved the tree house cafe! This was by far the best hotel we stayed in on our tour of Kerala.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martha59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwoods1, Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to write about us on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay at the resort. I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return. I will be most happy to share your feedback with all members of the team and look forward to welcoming you back to Greenwoods.

Thank you,

Warm Regards,

Vinay Pillai
Operations Manager
om@greenwoods.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had a very cozy welcome at this hotel. The staff is very helpful and welcoming. The rooms are nicely maintained and clean. The restaurant also offers good food. There are small tours inside the property to watch the nature and surroundings. The service is very good and food quality and taste is great. Had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harshkrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwoods1, Manager at Greenwoods Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanking for staying with us and sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

We take great pride in all the services that we offer and your appreciation motivates us to strive even harder to create moments of happiness for our guests.

My team and I look forward to your continued visits and assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank You,

Warm regards,

Vinay Pillai
Operations Manager
om@greenwoods.in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed for one night having travelled from Cochin. Traditional greeting was nice. The bungalows are spread through the gardens. Very spacious, bathrooms ok. Our room had effective air conditioning. We found restaurant staff not to be overly friendly and the food quality was fine but not spectacular. They queried why we had marked down the score on the inevitable feedback form! We thought it was be closer to lake but it is set off main road. Very quiet. We did not have time to try tree house cafe. Pool looks nice although no layout chairs. We had upgraded to stay at this hotel and just wonder if it was worth it when we only stayed one night. However room was very comfortable and if the itinerary had allowed, we would have enjoyed to stay another day.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philosIsleofMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is the best place i have been to,one my second visit to Greenwoods the best word to express is just Hatsoff .Marveloues settings friendly staffs and green ambiance you would really fallin love with this paradise.Food is yummy ,the rooms are neat andluxorious .The big trees provides the fresh air which would really relax you.

Thank you for making my holidays colourfull .......

Room Tip: The trretop teashop is good for eveanings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reddysuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights over new year.
The setting of the hotel is very nice. Lush green vegetation and a laid back relaxed feel.
The rooms are set in seperate blocks away from the main building. The rooms are a good size, but are starting to feel their age a little bit and could do with a refurb. The bathrooms were similar - using the shower flooded the floor.
When we checked in there was a power cut and no hot water. This lasted a couple of hours - not the hotels fault i'm sure - but not great after a long drive, and we kept being told it would be back on in 5 minutes.
Food was good & plentiful and the new year eve gala was excellent.
The manager was attentive and came up to introduce himself to the guests at dinner.
The general service & reception was chaotic though.
Tried to use the treehouse coffee shop several times - never anyone there staffing it.
Trying to checkout was a nightmare. 3 seperate people tried to check me out. One disappeared when i gave him my credit card, never to be seen again ! I then had to start the whole process again with the next guy to turn up, going through everything i had gone through twice before. Checking out took about 40 mins in total, and there was nothing disputed with the bill at all !
Better than average, but not quite very good i'm afraid. 3 and half stars if i could.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

staff are very friendly.
good food.
good room service
maintenance of swimming pool is very good.
king sized bed are provided with complimentary breakfast and free massage.
quailty of food is really very good

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank santhosh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

this was one of the best properties we stayed on our trip to kerela in november 2011

we stayed here for just one night... but should stay for atleast two nights.

staff is very very cooperative and courteous... thanks to the inhouse doctor he was of great assistance as my daughter was unwell.

the property is very eco friendy and clean

liked the local dance show by a small girl.. really nice

the machaan coffee house is amazing

a must stay place in thekedy kumily

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vaibhav_kohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 45 in Thekkady
517 reviews
1.1 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.6 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#20 of 45 in Thekkady
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 45 in Thekkady
548 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#16 of 45 in Thekkady
1,062 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenwoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwoods Resort

Address: K.K .Road, Kumily, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $110 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Greenwoods Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush green forests, cool breeze and abundant wildlife beckon you to the Green Woods Resort, Thekkady. Treat your aesthetic senses with the breathtaking beauty of Thekkady, while your mind takes a break from the mundane. Green Woods is located on a quaint hill, surrounded by spice plantation, besides being just a stone's throw away from the Periyar Tiger Reserve. Drive up the winding road, straight into the heart of Green Woods, and remember to leave your watch behind because time simply stops here.Luxury Private pool suites are one of the best options for a honeymooner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Greenwoods Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Woods Hotel Thekkady
Greenwoods Resort Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing