We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Silver Crest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Crest
Ranked #31 of 119 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Navi Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed at Silver crest only for one night and it was very pleasant stay. It is a cottage style hotel. Rooms were large & clean. Entire setting of hotel in lush greenary was very beautiful.

Swimming pool was clean & big enough even for the adults to have a dip.

The location of hotel is in the center of town and very close to market area.

All in all it was a very good hotel & highly recommended if you are staying in Thekaddy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmax1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    78
    36
    5
    11
See reviews for
83
64
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

This hotel is real amazing, serene and a fantastic backdrop of the roof keeps you away from the concrete jungle any place you visit in mumbai, the hotel is well placed and we have a church just besides it where you can pray in peace, the pool is also kept clean and children would love being in the water as it is safe.
Food was good, but you do not have a variety and choice is limited.

Staff courteous and ever willing to assist you.

  • Liked — The Village Look
  • Disliked — Food Choice - Not much to choose from
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XavierH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indore,india
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Kerala tour has been a very splendid experience while travelling in India. Thekkady is a must visit place in kerala. We booked silver crest through travel agent and arrived at the hotel at around 12.00 noon. The hotel is situated in the main market. The reception was very friendly and quick to give us a room,we were very tired also after a long journey from Munnar. The hotel is very neat, clean and peaceful.

The room which we booked was dlx room. Rooms in the hotel are very well maintained,spacious and nicely decorated. We could find all expected basic things which you expect when you are very tired and enter a hotel room after a long journey.

The hotel has a nice restaurant too. The food was also very good.

It had a small pool also near the restaurant but it was under maintenance at that time.

Overall a good experince staying in the hotel. I got the room for around Rs 2500. I think It is a bit on the higher side but a good choice for those who are looking for a good luxurious stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anuragIndore_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2009

The hotel is very good economical hotel to stay with family. Near to Perriyar forest & Lake. They have very good safety and security. We enjoyed the stay. This is more typical hotel for family purpose. Nice , Large big rooms.Travel spice gardens, Plantation and enjoyed elephant ride. The Perriyar lake is beautiful to travel by boat.

  • Liked — place
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank knightrider7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

SILVER CREST is the most pathetic n one of the worst decission my gf and i made on a one month all india tour------we didnt get such a bad experience enywhere in our tour---we got at least 15 apoligies from the hotel staff right on the first 30min of our stay in the hotel---we reached the hotel in afternoon and there was nothing i got for lunch that i ordered---i had to go to the hotel on the other side of the road for lunch---pennin down all the events would mean just another waste of time and a lenthy review---but if u r expecting hospitality than SILVER CREST is not the place---the worst of all is their manager by the name JEBIN JACOB who doesnt know anything other than to protect his staff-----he is the ideal person for a bad leader----------in short a major mistake we did in our trip-----and a place for u to visit if u wanna experience third class hospitality and ruin u r trip--------if enyone wanna contact me than do it on [---]-----or [---]--------farooq

Stayed April 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank smfarabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We were 6 people ( 4 adults and 2 children). We booked two rooms. The rooms were decent and value for money. We stayed there for just one night as part of our 5 day Trip to Kerala.

We were greatly disappointed with the quality of food. The breakfast was the average stuff (cereal, milk, juice, bread, jam, butter, and two south indian dishes). The dinner is a disaster. They hardly had any thing worth eating. I found that most of the restaurants attached to Hotels in Kerala serve a lot of North Indian food. They are trying to cater to the north Indians but unfortunately they cannot cook proper north indian stuff. It makes me wonder if they have ever eaten a Chicken Tikka or a Butter Naan. I would rather have authentic Kerala food than an apology of a North Indian food.

I guess the emphasis is on North Indian Food in all these Hotels because most of the foreigners more familiar with Naan, Butter Chicken, Tandoori Chicken than with Pottu, Appam, Kerala Style Fish Curry etc

My wife had ordered food from the Restaurant attached to Hotel (spent about Rs. 400) while I and the children had Idly, Masala Vada and Medu Vada with Sambar and Chutney from the adjacent roadside vendor (costed about Rs 60). No prizes for guessing which was better.

Overall, I would say the accommodation and room service was more than adequate but their food quality needs to improve a lot.

  • Liked — Value for Money if you need a place to sleep for the night
  • Disliked — Very Poor Restaurant
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skoka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Silver Crest is in a great location for visiting the Periyar Tiger sanctuary. It's a good hotel, with large clean rooms and bathrooms and a nice restaurant and pool. I would recommend the hotel if you want a clean comfortable reasonably priced place to stay. Don't believe their website though, they big themselves up far too much - describing themselves as luxurious, which they are not.

  • Liked — It was clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — They didn't have a hair drier!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
5.1 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#25 of 43 in Thekkady
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#29 of 43 in Thekkady
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#11 of 43 in Thekkady
436 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Crest

Property: Silver Crest
Address: Thekkady Road,, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Silver Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Crest Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing