We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT STAY IN KERALA”
Review of Silver Crest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Silver Crest
Ranked #31 of 119 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Lucknow, India
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY IN KERALA”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was with my family on Kerala tour. During Thekkady visit we stayed in this hotel for 24 hours. On arrival they welcomed in traditional style. Room was clean and well maintained. Breakfast and Dinner was good having a lot of variety and choices. Staff were very polite especially in restaurant they were extra caring with children. Their politeness and professionalism appealed me. They are very helpful and cooperative...... VERY NICE EXPERIANCE AND EXCELLENT STAY.......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNSHUKLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    78
    36
    5
    11
See reviews for
83
64
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

this was a clean, comfortable hotel, as we had a night a day in different locations, polite staff, serve a good breakfast of apam,sambhar etc. Only thing I wasn't happy about was they don't have a bath mat so easy to slip in bath. on wet floor....ask for one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atik_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

As per the title I mentioned we felt just ok. We went to this hotel in our honeymoon trip after spending 2days in munnar. Hotel looks dull to me. Food was ok. People planning for periyar lake boat safari should reach the lake much early. Because boat tickets are limited. One should be there atleast before 10am on weekends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnk17200414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The stay at silver crest was the only positive thing about my kerala trip.the staff is excellent ,pay very good attention to your needs and make sure that your stay is most comfortable.

Excellent food with manager himself present to serve you.If sealord group wants to surge ahead it is the staff like silver crest which can take them far.

hotel is great,hard to believe its right in the heart of kumily.Rooms are enormous and airy and full of light.At the same time clean and well mainatained except a few wet spots on the ceiling.

A must visit place in thekkady for sure and totally VFM

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drizzlermumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Hotel is well maintained with Excellent Food, They have got 2 main cook -1 south Indian and 1 North indian , so you get best of food. Also the staff is very Co-operative. The overall appearance of the Hotel is nice with Big Rooms and a separate Cot where you can adjust ur Child. Its hardly 5 min from the market and 10 mins from Periyar Wild life. Also the other centre for Kathakali and Martial Art is next to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank paras_shah20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The location is great and the exterior of the hotel is wonderful. Its located in the heart of the city with a big amount oil massage parlors located everywhere. The hotel has a nice restaurant and swimming pool as well. The boat ride in the Kerala forest reserve is worth the price but one needs to book well in advance. The Kathakali theater is just next door and is good if you dont mind paying Rs.200 per head.

We were here as a package offered by Kerala Holiday Mart and the room allotted was a deluxe room no: 301 with a living room and an attached bedroom located at the extreme end of the hotel. Wide windows at the back overlooked large trees but below a canal flowing with dirty water. The bed was friendly enough and the lighting sufficient.

The inside of the room was a story of broken down fixtures, paint peeling off ceiling and blocked bathroom drain. The bedside tables were broken. One with the switch board came of each time you removed your charger and the other has the drawer missing. The inside of the cupboard/dresser was dirty and appears to not have been painted since it was purchased.

As far as decor is concerned a thing which struck me as truly unusual was a cream colored bathroom with only the door on the inside painted green. Ha ha.

The hotel linen store was located below our room and from 8 AM in the morning you would get the whole housekeeping staff gathered there for what appeared to be their morning meeting coupled with loud laughter and voices. Guess it was their way of waking up the holiday makers. To me it was quite unpleasant and disturbing.

Visitors please note that wifi is available only at the reception. The soundproofing is very poor.

The worst part about the stay was trying to communicate with the staff who can only understand Malayalam and somehow everyone's clothes smelled of stale sweat.

The saving grace was Aneesh the manager who tried his best to help sitting at the front desk. What he really needs to do is to do a deep dive and carefully inspect each room one day at a time so that he can get to see and feel what his visitors feel.

Would I stay here again? Definitely not unless there was no other hotels available in Thekkady.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very good hotel close to local amenities and Tiger reserve. Manager and staffs were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and with good toiletries. There is a small swimming pool that we haven't used that .

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank krani_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
5.1 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#24 of 43 in Thekkady
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#29 of 43 in Thekkady
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#11 of 43 in Thekkady
436 reviews
5.3 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 43 in Thekkady
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Crest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Crest

Property: Silver Crest
Address: Thekkady Road,, Thekkady 685509, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Crest 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Silver Crest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Crest Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing