We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place -- quiet location close to the action” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chrissie's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chrissie's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place -- quiet location close to the action”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Guests are warmly welcomed when they arrive at Chrissie's and are well cared for during their stay! The property is lovely with beautiful foliage and monkeys entertaining you as they jump through the trees. The staff is helpful with your plans and will arrange for trusted drivers when you need them. The location is a short walk from the Tiger Reserve and you can easily walk into town. We enjoyed our 2 night stay and would truly recommend Chrissie's if you are looking for a clean, reasonable, comfortable & friendly small hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike-SLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    72
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
123
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Friendly helpful staff and owners and we had a first floor room with a balcony which provided excellent views and wildlife. Birds flitting in and out of adjacent trees and the occasional monkey reminded you that this was a relaxing location.Room was pretty basic and poorly illuminated but functional bathroom with hot shower.
We only experienced the breakfasts here which were satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regora186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant accommodation with a lovely garden view where you can observe wild life and monkeys.
Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. Especially filter coffee and home made bread.
Plenty of places to eat within walking distance as well as the one on site.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We checked a couple of places when we arrived in Thekkady and Chrissi's is one of the better options to stay. The rooms are simple but clean and you have a small veranda to sit outside. Take a room in the back house as it is more quite and looks across the garden. And try to get one on of the higher floors. The restaurant offers western meals which are ok and nice for a change but don't go hungry or in a hurry as the service is very slow. The staff at the reception on the other hand was super helpful and gave us great recommendations for things to do or avoid and for the best ayurvedic treatments in town.

Room Tip: try to book one in the back house that overlooks the garden and on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ute B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I really liked the place. We spent three relaxing days there. Our room was on the top floor, it was very clean and comfortable; quite spacious comparing to other places we stayed in Kerala, with a nice balcony. There is a beautiful garden. The choice of food was quite limited, but very good. Middle Eastern platter was just amazing! Chrissie, Adel and the staff are very helpful, they helped us organize different activities, like spice garden, visit to elephant junction, ayurvedic massages... and we love them all. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ania_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The travel consultants who choose this place as a 3 star deluxe hotel must be mad. The only reason they choose this place is to cut cost. MY wife and her sisters arrived here and found this place haunted. They were the only guest. Long stair ways to the rooms. This place is far from a 3 star deluxe hotel. Our travel consult did not do his homework. They just did not stay, found another decent hotel in the area to stay.

Chris Chetty
South Africa

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We booked here based on comments in the Lonely Planet and I have to say I expected more. Our room was functional but sparsely furnished - there were two small bedside tables, a bed and and a rack to put your bag on but nothing else. We got soaked in the monsoon rains and there was nowhere to drape wet clothes which was a pain. There are also none of the extra facilities that you expect from a hotel - no a/c, tv, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge etc. The bathroom was more of a wet room with a hand held shower, there were ants around the door and we spotted two small cockroach-type bugs during our two night stay (even though the room was very clean)

The big plus of the hotel, though, is the staff. They were extremely helpful, efficient and friendly, sorting us out with transport to the Tiger Reserve, park tickets and a very reasonably priced taxi to Kochi. The restaurant is also worth a note - excellent coffee and pizza (although no local food choices). Overall, I think you don't quite get what you pay for - it's more of a hostel than a hotel. Ok for a couple nights but I wouldn't be in a hurry to stay longer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MissGDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.0 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#24 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.7 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#17 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrissie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrissie's Hotel

Property: Chrissie's Hotel
Address: By-Pass Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#9 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chrissie's is a small, friendly hotel set amidst gardens and natural teak forests in a quiet part of Thekkady village, Kerala, South India. Its well-appointed rooms, pretty garden and the relaxing ambiance of its rooftop vegetarian restaurant provide the perfect, peaceful location from which to explore the Periyar Tiger Sanctuary and the beautiful surrounding countryside. The yoga studio with its wooden floor and reaching mountain and forest views, combined with moderate temperatures make Chrissie's a wonderful place for retreats and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chrissie's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrissies Hotel Thekkady
Chrissie's Hotel Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing