We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is unmatched.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chrissie's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chrissie's Hotel
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service is unmatched.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms here are basic but have everything you need. The best highlight is the service. Chrissie's husband/partner (?), Adel, is on hand when most guests check in and his calm demeanor is a great welcome from the crazy roads. We got sick while in Thekkady and had to stay an extra night, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we were well taken care of, using their personal cell phones to call our travel agent when we had to rearrange plans, and providing solid recommendations on what to do and where to go. The price of the hotel is appropriate for the room quality, but the service is on par with a five-star hotel. And I don't say that lightly -- I've stayed in five star hotels. Wifi is a bit spotty at times, and usually weak. The restaurant serves good food but it's a bit limited. The hotel is clean and has lovely views, positioned in some nice gardens. Overall, very glad we stayed!

Room Tip: Top floor has occasional monkey problems and is a trek up the stairs, but has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooserino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    72
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
123
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friendly, comfortable, clean and stylish hotel set back from the road among trees in a pretty garden. The place has a peaceful airy feel with indoor and outdoor spaces to enjoy. Staff there were very friendly and welcoming and always helpful to us when needed in sorting out our plans. The food in the restaurant attached is excellent with a wonderful covered rooftop space in which to eat. Our room had stunning tree top views towards the Western Ghat mountains. We woke to the sound of exotic birds and were even able to watch a pair of Hornbills in the branches and a shy family of black monkeys from our balcony. We stayed for a week and found it a wonderful relaxing base for exploring the lively small town of Kumily, the Periyar Nature reserve, spice gardens and tea plantations. We hope to return one day to explore the beautiful hills around Munnar and visit the temple near Madurai. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank selley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Chrissie's is simply the best place in town, it is a gorgeous place! Spotlessly clean, beautiful yoga studio that you can use any time, warm water, amazing gardens where wild pigs and multi-coloured tree squirrels can be spotted. Everyone who works at Chrissies is without exception professional, dedicated and very friendly. The food is delicious and served in a delightful restaurant. Chrissie's fleet of drivers are safe and trustworthy. They drove to Cochin airport for a transfer and when I had to move on, Chrissie's fleet was happy to take me all the way to Wayanad - a 10 hour car journey and for a very reasonable price. The journey was made thoroughly enjoyable by knowing I was safe (as a woman travelling alone). I was really well looked after - The best place in town!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms with balconies overlooking a ״small forest". Its a clean place with very friendly staff! You can see monkeys from your room... Chrissie is very helpful and friendly. When out of the room, dont forget to close all windows. Otherwise, expect a monkeys' rave :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is the perfect place for nature lovers. The rooms are tastefully done, and surrounded by a lush garden which is very green and very well maintained. We stayed at one of the ground floor rooms, which meant that we also had a small patio to ourselves outside the room which had 2 cane chairs and a table. We spent all the hours we were in, apart from the hours we were sleeping - sitting out on the patio. At night though, it gets a little troublesome because of a thousand mosquitoes that come attacking.

They don't have room service. They have a nice restaurant though, which will serve you surprisingly good international fare. You can pass time with games such as monopoly, scrabble and life which are available in the restaurant - but you can take these to your room too. For those who'd like to spend some alone time reading a good book, but don't have one.. they have a small but good collection of books you can borrow from.

Thekkady is very prone to rain every now and then, so if you want to go out during one of these spells, you can borrow umbrellas from the staff who'll happily oblige.

The staff are very helpful and will guide you on places you should explore and will also help you with the passes. We bought passes for a kathakali performance

It will do you good, however, to not just go by only what the staff tells you. You must go out and explore. While it seems convenient at first to purchase day travel passes from Chrissie's, you'll get better prices from the street. You can hire an auto-rickshaw from the street for 40% lesser for a day-trip

One thing that did disappoint us though, was that they didn't provide drinking water in the room. If you need water, you'll have to purchase mineral water bottle. Of course you have tap water in the bathroom that many don't mind drinking - we're not one of those though.

If we go back to Thekkady again, we'll definitely stay at Chrissie's again. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Tip: Carry a mosquito repellent cream if you want to relax on the patio!

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a nice patio facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nidhi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

We cam across this place thru internet search and recommendations and were not disappointed at all. The hotel offers a perfect location and view of the surrounding. Rooms are clean and offers all necessary amenities ( though not a lavish one). Its gives you a homely feeling. Seperate balcony offers an opportunity to relax amidst the gree cover around and offers some nice bird watching experience early morning. Breakfast is good although a bit costly.

Room Tip: Although the restaurent offers some good food, it is a bit costly compared to other Thekkady restaur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachinDharap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Good location and really helpful staff on front desk who helped us organise quality tours including Bamboo rafting which I'd highly recommend. Rooms well equipped with basics and food at cafe was good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeeMo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.2 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jungle Palace
Jungle Palace
#20 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#1 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Spice Grove Hotels And Resorts
4.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#25 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chrissie's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chrissie's Hotel

Property: Chrissie's Hotel
Address: By-Pass Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#9 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chrissie's is a small, friendly hotel set amidst gardens and natural teak forests in a quiet part of Thekkady village, Kerala, South India. Its well-appointed rooms, pretty garden and the relaxing ambiance of its rooftop vegetarian restaurant provide the perfect, peaceful location from which to explore the Periyar Tiger Sanctuary and the beautiful surrounding countryside. The yoga studio with its wooden floor and reaching mountain and forest views, combined with moderate temperatures make Chrissie's a wonderful place for retreats and workshops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chrissie's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chrissies Hotel Thekkady
Chrissie's Hotel Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing