We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wildernest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spice Village(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White House(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Michael's Inn(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ambadi(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
153
107
30
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
107
30
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bplum cakepeanut butterjack fruit treeupstairs terracefruit batscontinental breakfasttea coffeerooms are largebamboo forestwithin easy walking distancethe ground floorno air conditioningperiyar national parkthe location is perfectwild elephantsspice village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 298 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Out of all our hotel stays in Kerala, this was my least favourite. The minute we were showed to our room I was disappointed. It absolutely smelled of mould. We did ask reception to move us to another room but the hotel was full. They said the smell was due to the lemongrass in the detergents they used to wash the floors?!! It was not lemongrass.
We went out that night, came back and flopped into bed only to realise that the sheets were faintly damp and also had that musty/ damp smell.
The following day after our activities we returned to the room and indeed there was a smell of lemongrass as the floor had just been washed, after that faded it still stank of mould. I guess this is because it was one of the basement rooms .
"Secret Gardens: With an intimate little garden that offers total privacy and seclusion" as mentioned on website, more of a backyard really not sure why they draw attention to it.
Oh and the shower head needs replacing, the water just dribbled out, we had to fill the bucket up to be able to wash.

Other than that the location was great, staff were fine and the rooms were big.

If you want to stay here avoid the "garden" basement rooms and make sure you get one upstairs.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Very little needs adding to the consistently positive reviews already on TA. This is a small B&B with only a few rooms (maybe eight?), but with a management that has worked hard to get everything right. The rooms are large, hotel-style - light and airy - with good bathrooms. The catering in the lobby is simple (just breakfast, teas, coffees, cakes) and first class. Rollin and colleague on reception are welcoming, super-friendly and helpful, but also scrupulously honest and unpushy when giving info out on things to do, tours, shows, places to eat. The Wildernest is centrally located, within walking distance of the town, the park and a number of good hotels and restaurants offering a range of dinner options.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Great hotel and very friendly staff.
Kids would love the staircase inside room to reach balconies..

It's a B&B - so you wont get lunch and dinner here - but within 5 minutes walk there are a number of good restaurants (expensive as well as reasonably priced ones)

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i-See10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

we had a top floor duplex with amazing roof terrace. Cant fault the place. Clean stylish, fresh. very attentive service from the guys. Tea and Coffee whenever required. Hot water, big bathroom. Loved the monkeys running around, saw bats, fireflies all from the roof terrace.

Only thing missing was a pool but that is all I can say was lacking. Booked with Kerela Connections in UK but wouldnt use them again as they were very poor.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianaSyrett, Tour Operator at Wildernest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2010

As the Tour Operator who arranged this holiday I would like to respond to this review on behalf of Wildernest. This customer wanted top quality hotels but at the time of booking requested standard accommodation – which we describe as simple or budget hotels. Unfortunately this misunderstanding meant that he was dissatisfied with some of the accommodation we arranged for him. I am pleased to see that despite being a ‘standard’ hotel he liked our suggestion of Wildernest. It is unfortunately however, that he posted this review criticising us before he discovered that the mistake was his.

Diana Syrett
Managing Director
Kerala Connections

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I stayed there for one night and it was the best place I had seen in my whole trip to Kerala. The property is bang on the road facing a beautiful grove of bamboos. There is some place for parking. The place is 1-2 Kms from the market/bus station on the way towards Periyar Lake.

As you enter, you are amazed by the beauty of the layout and design of the place. The structure at the entrance houses the reception desk on the left and the breakfast area on the right. The guest services is excellent and they are always there to help you or guide you with a smiling face.

As you move ahead, you enter a beatiful paved & land-scaped garden with some trees. The accomodation is provided in the two structures - one on the right end and other on the left end of the garden. The rooms on the groud offer the unique private garden all for yourself. The ones on top offer a balcony with a view. The rooms are large & airy. The furnishing is modern and luxurious and clean.
The large room has a sitting area in front of the television set, a dressing table, space to keep your bags. The bathroom is also big and comfortable.

In the quite surroundings, you are tempted to just laze around chatting or reading a book or sipping on a glass of juice. The breakfast was continental and was served in style.

They do not serve lunch or dinner. But there are many other good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Crazy_Frog_1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews