We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wildernest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 131 Thekkady B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We felt that we picked just the right place. Wildernest is kept meticulously clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts are delicious. The location is perfect as it is relatively quiet, despite being very close to the nearby shops and restaurants, and the wildlife park is very near too (you can either walk or get a tuk-tuk). The room was amazing, and really huge (there were 3 of us as we were travelling with our 10-year-old son), and we loved the balcony where we could watch the monkeys playing in the trees and across the road. You have to keep the balcony door shut at all times so they don't come inside! The staff arranged our 'jeep safari' into the park, and that was just amazing - amongst other things we did a 3-4 hour walk in the forest with a superb guide and it was the experience of a lifetime (after at least 3 hours' walking our son (who was a leech-magnet, and normally complains about long walks) suddenly said "I LOVE INDIA"!!). We loved staying at Wildernest and would stay there again if we (hopefully) go back one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riverside2115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spotlessly clean with large rooms, no A/C but good fan and didn’t really need A/C at night. Not the friendliest staff but the service was good. They do not serve meals other than breakfast and they do NOT serve alcohol so bring your own. They are right next door to the Spice Village Hotel (which was nice but the rooms were very pricey) so we went there for drinks and for our meals – worked really well. Bring leach socks if you are planning on taking any nature walks – although the local guides can also provide them.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located next to different places to eat. The rooms are nicely sized. The beds are hard as rocks. There is free wifi in the lobby. Breakfast is included and is yummy. They gave omlets, toast, bananas with peanut butter and coffee and tea.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wildenest was a memorable experience. The stay and breakfast were good and the service exquisite. It was an awesome trip to Thekkady. The location is excellent. Almost on the center of everything that's available in Thekkady. The rooms were great but there is no hotel. But you have a plenty to chose just a stones throw away. Overall, it was a good wonderful experience.


  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank UmeshKozhikode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Pros; Great spacious rooms with lots of light. On our 1st morning as we were in the park they delayed breakfast and on the 2nd they provided an early breakfast. Staff are very helpful.
Cons; we were advised that we needed to run the water for several minutes, closer to 10, before having a shower which contradicts their Eco image.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This was a super place to stay offering excellent value for money and clean and airy rooms with great advice and friendliness from the staff. The location is perfect and easy to get around from. All in all, a perfect mid range base! Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickinips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stay at wildernest
Bed and breakfast
Wonderful stay and bread at morning, the taste of American healthy breakfast I experienced.i had it for two days there. And from there I used to follow that menus once in a week at home too.
Best service pleased me, It's a great job for the management to have such a wonderful personnel crew.
The interior is great, every part of the place explains or makes us note the bird symbol, a touch of calmness and greeny along with birds as the hotel name depicts.
Don't miss WILDERNEST

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kodaikanalcokkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
4.6 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#24 of 44 in Thekkady
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#10 of 44 in Thekkady
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
890 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#5 of 44 in Thekkady
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildernest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildernest Bed & Breakfast

Address: Thekkady Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 131 B&Bs / Inns in Thekkady
Price Range: $58 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wildernest Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wildernest is a serene Bed & Breakfast within the evergreen rain forests of Thekkady, Kerala. Ten large, well-appointed rooms comprise The Wildernest. Each of them is different and they come attached with a private garden or a private balcony. You will find that the balconies overlook and offer a splendid view of the bamboo jungle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wildernest Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildernest Hotel Idukki
Wildernest Bed And Breakfast
Wildernest Bed & Breakfast Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing