We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wildernest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spice Village(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White House(Thekkady)
View Hotel
Michael's Inn(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ambadi(Thekkady)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
153
107
30
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
107
30
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bplum cakepeanut butterjack fruit treeupstairs terracefruit batscontinental breakfasttea coffeerooms are largebamboo forestwithin easy walking distancethe ground floorno air conditioningperiyar national parkthe location is perfectwild elephantsspice village
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 298 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Wildernest in Kumily is very comfortable & an ideal base from which to explore the town & the surrounding countryside, including Periyar wildlife Sanctuary. Rooms are large, well equipped & clean. Our room had a balcony where we could sit & watch the macaques climbing in the jackfruit tree in the courtyard – entertaining, as long as you remember to close the door to stop them ‘playing in your room’. The hotel is in an excellent location for restaurants (we ate at the Ambadi Hotel – good food at a very reasonable price - & at Chrissie’s Café – again, excellent food, good prices), shops & the Kalari Centre – catch the martial arts’ demonstration if you can. The breakfasts at the Wildernest were very good, with excellent croissants & coffee – in fact, the best we tasted during our time in Kerala. The hotel staff are attentive, easy to talk to & full of good advice. Their suggestion resulted in one of the highlights of our time in Kerala. As the sun went down & dusk settled, we went on to the front balcony of the hotel to watch the macaques make their way home, walking along a wall opposite the hotel. Shortly after this, hundreds of flying foxes (large bats) took off from the nearby giant bamboo & flew over & around the hotel before heading out for their night’s feeding. If you’ve seen the witches’ army attack in the film The Golden Compass you will get the idea. Simply incredible.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about what to see & where - esp. about wildlife. Join one of the park rangers for a 2 hour walk - we saw elephant, wild boar, giant squirrel & Nilgiri langur.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Wildernest is in the town of Kumily. It's next to the CGH Earth Spice Village. A good location and easy to walk into the shops, sights and places to eat. Make sure you eat at the Bamboo Cafe and ask for a pot of 'tea' - you will get beer in the teapot and mugs because they don't have a liquor licence!
Quiet, clean and spacious. Modern facilities. No air-con but it's not needed because noticeably cooler than the coast.
Staff very helpful. Continental breakfast.
Plum cake and coffee - yummy - in the afternoon.
Good base for trips into Periyar National Park.
We had room 5 which has a small patio garden at the back - catches the sun in the afternoon. Other rooms had tearraces. Only 10 rooms in total.

Room Tip: From what we could see they were all good. Possibly those at the front may pick up some road noise but it is set back a bit from the road.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trickiedickie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

A perfectly located accommodation with huge rooms, we were 2 adults with two small children and there was enough room for us all.
We had a room with a small garden which was great for the boys to go out and "chat" with the monkeys.
Staff were very helpful and can arrange everything for you, nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed for 4 nights, and they were very relaxing.
Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellykbhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is a well priced, very well located hotel near to the Periyar wild life reserve. It is very clean, and very efficiently run. Good breakfasts and afternoon teas on offer (lovely fruit cake). The rooms are large, if a little spartan - but good value for money.. we had the bonus of a sunny terrace to relax on and watch the monkeys. All ameneties walkable from this hotel.(shops, banks, restaurants, internet cafe..) Having said that, we found Periyar itself disappointing. We did not see much wildlife, and there was not much more to see and do- we took in a martial arts display, a visit to see captive elephants, and a spice plantation. Rather touristy.

Room Tip: Go for higher floor.. with a terrace
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Huge, spotless rooms. Upstairs balconies. Monkeys! Beautifully served set breakfast menu. I was sick for a day while staying here and was treated with outstanding above-and-beyond consideration and kindness by the staff. I was travelling solo and they brought extra blankets, dry toast (when I was up to it) and checked in and kept me company, too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews