We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best”
Review of Jungle Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jungle Palace
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“The very best”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

100/100 for the stay and the views. Rajesh ! the super duper host with his wife remya and mom and dad. I had a very comfortable stay and they were so cordial and nice and kept on ringing me up till i reach there being a single traveller and gave me all support throught out the stay. EXCELLENT. Mrs Atulya Sharma

Room Tip: Make arrangements before you start if it is peak season pls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 194atulya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    54
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
57
54
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Jungle Palace Homestay is a complete homestay, very close to the Periyar Tiger Reserve. This palace, is a welcome homestay for those wanting to explore the mysteries of the periyar tiger reserve ,
We stayed here for two days on 1st Sep,2012 and 2nd Sep,2012, booked it through stayzilla.com for a discounted price.The climate was cool. It drizzles ,suddenly the sun shines and then the cool wind makes you sleep . We were able to watch various birds from the balcony and then we sighted few mangoose and wild boars from the balcony of Jungle Palace ,
Nearby shops sell spices and we can bargain for good price for spices and massage oils.

We had a good walk to the 3 km periyar tiger reserve from the Jungle Palace homestay . this close proximity gave us a choice to choose this homestay . Also you can also walk down to the bus stand that is just 1.5 kms from here .

We had food at Thekkay Cafe opposite to Jungle Palace and Ananda Bavan next to bus stand are best ones for non veg at reasonable prices .

24 Hour running Hot and Cold water is not provided here and we had to use cold water in the chill climate for most of the time. There is no room service and no kitchen for your use . So please help yourself . Hot water is provided only in the morning hours .
The cot is clean and dry .Keep your doors closed since there are few musquito peeping in.

Room Tip: Room Number 5 and 6 are good one choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skarthikeyanece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our family of 8 with 4 kids stay at Jungle place in the 3rd week of Aug 12,.. Excellent place to stay in Thekkady. Very friendly host, clean, great view & spacious rooms. Good space for kids to play... Madhu Boppana

Room Tip: try your luck for 2nd floor rooms for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boppana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We had an enjoyable 3 days at the Jungle Palace. The rooms were first class, facilities close to 5 star and hospitality excellent. Being located right at the edge of the Periyar wild Life sanctuary had it's own thrills. The kids also had a great time as there was enough space for them to move around. The owner Rajesh is a gentleman, highly knowledgeable about the area and treks with him into the Jungle and the mountains was simply superb. We had a great time and would love to go back for another holiday.

Room Tip: The room facing the wildlife sanctuary has the best view and most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Su_Nair7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I've booked 4 rooms for my marriage function. But people who all stayed there said, it was a beautiful place to stay and enjoy the thekkady climate and places. The person named Rajesh is the care taker and owner of the homestay. He is very ploite, decent, adjustable and helpful person. I must thank and appereciate his character and smiled face. Rooms are very neat and clean and tooooo big. You dont find this kind of rooms in that reasonable price. Not simply superb, it's really really superb. It's one of the best place to stay in thekkady and hospitalization is really good. the view of the back side will make you feel, you are in the jungle..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kasipandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days and enjoyed our stay to the hilt. The rooms are well maintained and neat. The host Mr. Rajesh was very helpful and made sure that we had a comfortable stay. All in all a great place for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank latharavindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We travelled as a family of 4 and booked two bedrooms. Rajesh allocated us the 2nd floor bedrooms (the best and most convenient), and we had the whole floor (composed of 2 bedrooms) to ourselves (including the gorgeous balcony and terrace). This lovely little homestay was immaculate, which was very refreshing. The rooms were very spacious, beautifully furnished, with spotless bathrooms. There were no issues regarding any fixtures of fittings. The mosquito coils were provided. We found Rajesh very helpful (if somewhat shy), and clearly committed to providing a first class service to his customers. He showed much hospitality and tolerance from our (earlier than usual at 11am) arrival to our (much earlier than usual at 4am) departure.

We arrived quite early in the day (around 11am) and Rajesh was cleaning the bedrooms. He welcomed us in and helped with the luggage (even providing much-needed help to clean the wheels of our suitcases from mud). We congregated on the balcony to take turns in using the fabulous swing chair and realised that the wild animals were traversing the wide open space the hotel overlooks, which is part of the nature reserve. In a matter of minutes, we were able to identify wild water buffalo, wild boar, deer, and mongoose. You can imagine the excitement! It made us feel really happy at being in Kumily and wanting to explore more. As this was the New Year's Eve, we spent the late evening sitting in the dark on the balcony, looking at the amazing starry sky, and listening to the sounds of the forest in the night. Unforgettable...

Overall, a fabulous little find. I cannot recommend it highly enough, and think that it is worth the hassle of securing the booking by bank transfer. The only slight downside (for some) might be the rather tired (although immaculately clean) bedding sheets and towels. However, when I return to Kumily, this is where I am headed, for sure.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are at street level (from the front of the building) for travellers with mobility...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mamaligablues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 43 in Thekkady
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#16 of 43 in Thekkady
422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ambadi
Hotel Ambadi
#28 of 43 in Thekkady
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#30 of 43 in Thekkady
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Palace

Property: Jungle Palace
Address: Puthuparambil House, Lake Road, Kumily Thekkady Road | Kumily, Idukki Dist, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#8 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Palace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Jungle Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Palace Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing