We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elephant Court
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We arrived at The Elephant Court for a two night stay early afternoon folllowing a long drive from Munnar. We received was a friendly welcome in the spacious open sided reception area then were shown to our room.

This was in a small block quite close to reception Others were cottage style throughout the grounds, although they were quite close together. Ours was large and clean with all the facilities you would expect. There was also a large balcony with wicker loungers. Luckily ther's an overhanging roof as the rain was torrential - apparantly the monsoon was late - so we could still sit outside.

The restaurant was superb. We had the buffet both nights and ate a la carte at lunchtimes, sticking to Krealan food. The staff were helpful and friendly, especially the chef who took obvious pride in his cooking.

There's a pool on a terrace at the back of the restaurant, but due to the horrendous weather we didn't use this.

You do have to go across some open areas to get between the rooms and reception / restaurant, so make sure you've got an umbrella!

Overall, a great place to stay in Thekkady.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
There are newer reviews for The Elephant Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 713 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2009

We spent two nights at the Elephant Court in Thekaddy. The hotel facilities generally appeared to be 3-4 stars...but the service all around especially in terms of room service and the restaurant were just plain awful. It was almost as if their system had just plain broken down. Tables were dirty even though the restaurant was empty....half the food was missing from the buffet...there was no dedicated wait staff for the tables. We had to ask 3-4 times just to get coffee, our omelettes, milk, silverware etc. etc. This occured not just one time but at every meal we had there. After tiring of this hotel, we went to have our meals next door at Club Mahindra and Spice Village...we found both...especially SV to be MUCH nicer...wish we had stayed there. OH YES and DONT get a massage here...what a nightmare...right below the kitchen...could here dishes crashing during the whole hour long ordeal.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Familyof4inNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2009

Regret to note that you had a very poor experience at our resort and we apologise for the same.

We have checked our guest feedback for the month of October and have not seen any negative feedback, hence it would be very helpful if you could provide the details of your stay so that we could trace this matter and take appropriate action.

Anyways we have initiated a stronger monitoring of our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

It was a great experience staying at this hotel. Right from the staff at the reception, the restaurant and the room service, everyone was very courteous and quick to respond to our needs. The GM of the hotel took special care of all his guests. They made us feel at home and we would definitely recommend this resort to all our friends. We will visit this resort again definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jigsadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Great place to stay!!! Amazing service!!! Amzing view!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gladyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

This hotel was highly recommended to us by the travel agent. It turned out to be a great choice. The property is relatively new but it was a good choice, the ambiance was very peaceful tranquil and quiet and as the name suggests it had baby elephants as its facade.Understand it is rated as a five star property .The best part was the elephant ride it was exciting bit scary at times but real fun one must take the ride.We stayed 2 nites but in tekkady one nite is enough.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JehMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

There are numerous properties in Thekkady and you should book yourself in the Elephant court only if you plan to spend some serious money. The rooms which have a balcomy and whoch are priced upwards of 15000 per night are absolutely gorgeous and comfortable and everything you could ask for. But if you want to stay in a more moderate room between 4000-5000 per night, then you will get a decent sized room but one that has no windows and no view. And in a place that has unexpected rains at any and all times of the day, you need a room where you can at least gaze out from your big windows. But haveing said that, the hotel does have nice promenades etc where you can sit and enjoy the rain. they also have a nice TT table where you play. The pool though is situated in such a wrong place that its quite uncomfortable to swim there. Also, inhouse spa offers Ayurvedic massages, but they a little over-priced for the ambience and service you get. Having said that, one also has to admit that the reception area of the hotel is quite nice and done in typical South Indian style in rich wood and the whole place has that rich wood panels, making for very nice pictures.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kasu19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2009

As part of our honeymoon trip we stayed at the Elephant court. It is one of the most beautiful hotels in Thekkady with courteous and helpful staff.

The layout of the hotel and rooms is tastefully done and is away from the hustle and bustle of the city life.

We stayed at the garden rooms , which were very spacious and the bathroom had a jacuzzi. The room had a graden and a sit out. really pleasant.

The food could have been better though.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rekharodrigues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685 536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#10 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $134 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing