We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keral Visit”
Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elephant Court
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Keral Visit”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A nice hotel situated on a hilly area with great reception staff and service
The food was good and the dining staff friendly
Rooms were spacious and comfortable with a view of the forests. The balcony overlooking the hotel had a forest view where it was possible for black monkies to visit the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDawood_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day !!!!!!!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us at the Elephant Court, Thekkady.
Your positive comments will be shared with all the employees of the hotel.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we really thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerly,

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    237
    101
    23
    23
See reviews for
296
246
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This hotel is full of character as it spreads in individual cottages down a lush hillside but it did seem rather gloomy. The rooms were large and the terrace seating was great but, even with all the lights on the light levels were low. This theme continued through the public areas where all the meals were served. On the plus side the location is stunning and the beds comfortable but the buffet meals were disappointing with limited choice and the food trays were often slow to be replenished.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan551767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day !!!!!!!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here at the Elephant Court, Thekkady. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the location of our resort. The reason for not feeling bright lighting because the resort is operating by" warm" theme base. However please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We will share your review with our corporate Chef for necessary action & rectification.


Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences, and we look forward to having the chance to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

After 2 days in Munnar, this well presented hotel was a welcome oasis of calm. Generous, comfortable, spotless rooms were just what was needed. Lovely pool area and spa. Within easy walking distance of shops and restaurants (highly recommend Kunnar's in the Tiger's Roar Hotel), and very near Pirayar Wild Life Park. We were really well looked after!!

Room Tip: Although set in lovely gardens, some rooms could be challenging for those with mobility issues. Use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JScottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Elephant Court, Thekkady !!!

Thank You for posting your comments on the trip advisor.
We are contended to know that you really enjoyed your two night sleep at the resort.

We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our services and facilities. Your positive comments will be shared with all the employees of the hotel. Hope you will post your feed back in Tiger's Roar site also.

It is our goal to maintain the highest standards of service to all our guests and we really thank you for your feedback.

We do hope to see you again and make your next stay as impeccable as you had your last stay with more nights.


Yours Sincerely,

Manoj Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for a couple of days with Titan Travel.The hotel was quite a surprise with lots of character. It is situated close to the town so you can walk easily to the shops. The rooms are spacious with a large balcony. A group of monkeys reside nearby and decided to take a shortcut across our balcony.good for photos but you couldn't leave anything outside.
The swimming pool was a good size for swimming with a bar nearby. The drinks were not overpriced and cocktails were available.
Wi Fi was free but only available in the lobby area.
There was a good choice of food for breakfeast and dinner and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
If you are in the area this is a good hotel to stay at.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikejMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Mike,

Greetings of the day!!!!
Thank you for sharing your recent experience from your stay at Elephant Court.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly working on improving our services and will take your feedback into consideration as well.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Elephant Court.

Sincery,

Manoj Thomas
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The rooms are built into the side of a hill, and the only window in mine was the door, which I had to keep curtained so people could not see in! Good size room, though, and comfortable. Food was average.

Room Tip: Ask for one with an actual balcony, not just a seating area outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Mrs.Jo,
Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed our room facilities. I will coordinate with our Corporate Chef about your valid comments regarding the food.
Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Elephant Court.

Sincery,

Manoj Thomas
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very good place for vacation...This resort is built on an undulating terrain... Very good swimming pool.. good food.. and very neat rooms... Recommended for relaxed vacation.. Excellent hospitality.. Excellent place to Kids... Restaurant view toward the swimming pool is good....

Room Tip: Would Recommend Suite which on the patio and pool studio... rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuva1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!!!!
Thank you for sharing your recent experience from your stay at Elephant Court.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly working on improving our services and will take your feedback into consideration as well.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Elephant Court.

Sincery,

Manoj Thomas
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent quality property. We stayed here for 3 days. We were soon check in to our rooms. Rooms were equipped with huge beds and amenities. Balcony gave a fabulous view of natural landscapes and monkeys too :P. Great hospitality and cleanliness. However there were less plug points and wifi kept disconnecting frequently. Also the speed was low during our stay. Overall Good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YashThosani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings of the day!!!

Sorry for the late reply.

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at Elephant Court. I was extremely pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will consider your suggestions to improve the speed of wi fi and installing power adapters in our rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Elephant Court

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
783 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
416 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#6 of 43 in Thekkady
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Property: The Elephant Court
Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685 536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#9 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing