We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel to Stay In Thekkady” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Elephant Court
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel to Stay In Thekkady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

It was a great experience staying there nice rooms nice food excellent staff its value for money neat and clean rooms with big bathrooms and big terrace to sit and enjoy the view i will recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms near the swimming pool with big balcony are large and quiet with beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajiv K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
26 March 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Elephant Court !!!!!
Thank you very much for your review and for staying at Elephant Court.
We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, your compliments regarding the service are noted and truly appreciated.
Thank you once again for your constructive feedback and we truly look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Manoj Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    236
    101
    23
    22
See reviews for
296
241
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Very nice hotel with warm and gracious reception, Excellent food, superb Staff & service and wonderful pool. Rooms comfortable and room service is excellent & quick, selection fine.

Good information on things to do in the area and help with booking same. A great luxury hotel, a very, very nice one which I would recommend to friends. Kudos for the team there.

Room Tip: Just speak to the staff at the reception there. They would help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank San_abra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
26 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our resort. I hope that your review will assist other valid guest whether to stay at our hotel.
We appreciate your feedback as we continuously strive to improve our service and facilities and only through feedback provided by our valued guests we will be able to do so.
Once again, thank you for your comments and we truly look forward to welcoming you back at the Elephant Court.

Warm Regards,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very nice hotel with warm and gracious reception, good food, excellent service and wonderful pool. Rooms comfortable and room service quick, selection fine. Good information on things to do in the area and help with booking same. Not a luxury hotel, but a very, very nice one which I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Elephant Court !!!!

Thank you very much for your review.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that we achieved our aim of ensuring your holiday to be both relaxing and memorable.

We value your comments, as it is only through our valid guests that we can improve our service and guests experience.

May I thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the The Elephant Court on your next visit to Kerala.

Kind Regards,

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is located near periyar forest, the rooms are nicely designed with attached balcony overlooking an amazing nature view. The staff are friendly and ready to assist. Make sure to keep the room and balcony doors locked in the night to avoid insects entering the rooms. The only issue in the area that there is not much entertainment in the night. I would stay again if i visit thekkady

Room Tip: Always take rooms in second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, December 13, 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again , many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I would not go back to this place. We stayed one night in a patio room. On a positive note hotel lobby, swimming pool area and hotel restaurant looked good. Buffet food served for breakfast and dinner was good. Restaurant staff was very pleasant and provided a good service. I didn’t like the room which was very dark, without any wall decorations and with outdated furniture – no character at all. The screens on the door were broken and mosquitos were flying inside. Bathroom was not acceptable. It needs a major renovation and scrubbing. Hair dryer was not available and I had to ask reception twice before it was delivered to our room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Remisza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your review.

We appreciate your comments on the positive note.
Please accept my sincerest apology for the disappointing experienced in regards to the room decor, furniture and bathroom refurbishment. Necessary action will be taking for the delay in hair dryer request. We are on the process of refurbishing of all our rooms bathrooms and the decor.

Thank You and regards,

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Where do I start! First I have to say that this accommodation was chosen for us by our travel company and looked good on the website. However, this property is certainly not one to recommend.
Although it looks quite nice at first glance, it needs work to bring it up to acceptable standards.The accommodation, although spacious was 'tired',

I was thrilled when I saw a bath tub after a long journey, however the water was cool and certainly not conducive to relaxation!.
The service staff confirmed that there was a hot water problem, which could be corrected somewhat if one ran the tap for at least 10 minutes, warmer water was available.
The food was TERRIBLE and not worth the cost. Better to eat at a local restaurant (pity I didn't note the names of the places which we found in the town because we took our chance and ate at SIMPLE restaurants and received tasty food at great prices).

Room Tip: Just don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianneR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear DianneR

Thank you so much for taking you valid time to post your review of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.
Please let me apologize for your poor experience with us. The service you described above is not acceptable and not a typical experience for our guests. We have shared your comments with our management and staff to avoid another guest having a similar experience.
Once again my sincere apology for all the inconvenience caused on your stay.

Thank You & regards,

Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and 3 days. One of our friend has recommended this hotel, but we were not happy with the hotel. Food is below average. Amenities were not provided and we had to ask for coffee maker. Property is good but not worth the cost they charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viral_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Elephant Court !!!

Thank you taking the time to share your feedback
Normally the ready rooms are released for the guest by our house keeping department only after the final check list approved by the department head. About the food, we will discuss with our Corporate Chef for necessary action.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your two night stay at Elephant Court and please know that we will reviewed your feedback with the appropriate management team.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you again on a future visit to Thekkady !!!!

Thanks,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
2.2 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppervine Hotel
Peppervine Hotel
#16 of 41 in Thekkady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Property: The Elephant Court
Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685 536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#8 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing