We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable New Year celebrations experience!”
Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elephant Court
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Location of the hotel is convenient for visiting Tiger reserve (where you can see a lot of wild animals and birds in nice scenery, but no tigers really :-)) in short walking distance from the main shopping street of the small town. Our patio type room was spacious. In addition to large double bedroom it was a spacious bathroom, separate closet and working desk areas as well as terrace there.
We spend two nights there and were lucky to take part in New Year celebrations in this hotel. This became really unforgettable experience! Calmly starting with performances of traditional dancing, tasty cocktails and nicely decorated dinner buffet, it turned to party with dancing and fireworks where both - hotel guests and staff had real fun!

Room Tip: Probably, rooms located at first/second floors of cottages are slightly better than ones on ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Greetings from ‘The Elephant Court’!!!!!!!
Thank You for choosing our resort. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the New Year’s Eve Celebration. I’m sure that experience will always be with you as a memory to be cherished. We look forward to see you on the next New Year’s Eve too!

Thanks,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 747 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

an ideally located resort between Kumily & Thekaddy sanctuary entry gate. Clean, spacious rooms [Patio type], good spacious bathroom complete with a tub with beautiful balcony.Nice ambiance of the resort. complimentary breakfast menu was good & food delicious. but, the food otherwise was on the expensive side! staff was very courteous & helpful. wifi was restricted to reception area or restaurant!
entry fees of the sanctuary is 25/- pp & 50/- for car/jeep.
Boating on the periyar lake: there were 1 large boat of KTDC & 2 smaller ones of forest dept. timings: 7.30 am- 9.30 am- 11.30 am -1.30 pm -3.30 pm..rate per pax 190/-, forest dept boats can only be booked currently while KTDC boat could be booked in advance, [advance tkt. rate: 500/- p p] from Lake Palace resort of KTDC inside the sanctuary, near the jetty. journey lasts one & half hour...
Most of the shops selling spices & banana wafers are located at Kumily, outside the sanctuary.
Mineral water, tea/coffee & snacks are available in the sanctuary.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drsrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Reply
Thank you for your wonder full comment about our resort’s service. Regarding the pricing, we only use premium quality ingredients in our recipes, to maintain the food standards. We are on the pipeline in implementing wi fi facility within the whole premises. Hope to see you back soon!!!

Thank You,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were promised a lot about but did not recive any service nothing at all. Even tough the basic things, to start with we were travelling with a infant and were made to wait at the check in for more than TEN-TEWELVE minutes, as the receptionist was busy on a call. No welcome drink served. We had to wait for our baggage for another ten minutes. Even for a little need like towels and basic amenities when we called housekeeping they took more than TWENTY whole minutes to deliver the same.. Just wonder how the resort is rated as a four star resort. The rooms had mosquitos flying all over even when the insect vaporiser was on. We found a cockroach crawling in the bathroom which is again totally unacceptable.. We had been promised a check out at twelve noon which is a normal thing internationally, here when we went to check out at around 12:15 or so we were told to pay extra. When I asked for the voucher issued to me by my travel agent which stated 12 then they agreed upon, which should actually had been updated in the system.

Room Tip: It's not about a good room it's about good memories and service. Which you please don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbhinav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, General Manager at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to above the issue.
At ‘The Elephant Court’, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Upon thorough review of your complaint, firstly, regarding delay at the reception, we narrowed the cause to the formalities that has to completed upon check-in, and we strictly abide by the government rules for the same. We extend our apologies for not serving you the welcome drink. Secondly, the layout of our premises is the cause of the delay in delivering your luggage. As you know, this resort is spread out in 5.5 acres of land. So obviously, it takes few minutes to get the service to your doorstep.
We are trying our level best to control mosquitoes. However, we have limitations, as our resort is beside the forest area and is blended with nature. If you had complained about this at the reception, they would have offered you mosquito repellent cream. Any inconvenience caused to our guest would be rectified immediately, had it been brought to our notice.

Thanks,
Manoj Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were greeted at the hotel with a nice flower garland and a Keralan bindi. The decor was rich with dark woods and lovely gardens. We had a garden view room with a balcony view over top of the neighbour below us. The room was spacious - lots of empty floor space. Also reasonable space for setting out our suitcases. The room was quite basic yet comfortable. We spent only one night at the hotel and had activities already planned (elephant ride and spice garden tour that afternoon and early morning tour on Lake Periyar next day), so we really didn't get a chance to take advantage of the amenities (play area with ping pong table and air conditioned gym, outdoor pool).
The food was traditional Keralan in buffet style for all 3 meals we had here. A nice touch was that the hotel knew we were arriving for lunch and had a table reserved for us as we were arriving a bit late.
There was an artist with a table set up showcasing his unique palm leaf carving. The leaves were cut in strips with multiple layers and sewn together to form a large area. The top palm leaf was carved away exposing the next layer. Then it was washed with a dark stain to create great depth. The carving was intricate and had various Hindu stories in the work - some even flipped up to expose Kama sutra poses. Great artistic souvenir.
One thing some of us did do was a full body Ayurvedic massage. Quite an experience to have every inch of your body covered in scented hot oil with quick, light strokes across your skin. We happened to be there on Diwali so we saw a bonus kathakali dance by a pair of young dancers, oil lights all over the property and fireworks in the evening too. Nice celebration for visiting Hindus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeontheweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again , many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here and were really pleased. The rooms were very nice, although the bathrooms could do with a slight upgrade. Most of the staff were ok, except one in the reception who was very rude and had a very bad manner. No wifi in rooms but available in the reception area. Generally the hotel was in a very good location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again , many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrived at the Elephant Court late one afternoon on the eighth day of our Titan Tour, Bombay to the Backwaters of Kerala. We had driven a long day from Kumarakom leaving the "backwaters" behind, and climbed into the Cardamom Hills, deep in the heart of Kerala State. We had passed through some of the most beautiful countryside, as we ascended through forested hills and valleys with views to die for. Our arrival was greeted with welcoming staff, proffering flower garlands and cool drinks, with our foreheads thumb printed as distinguished guests. The accommodation was to the rear of the hotel proper, and consisted of a series of bungalows on the sloping terraces. Our rooms were at the very bottom, and offered views of the gardens and foliage nearby. My wife felt the bathroom needed a really good deep clean, and wasn't well ventilated owing to a faulty extractor fan, which had a mind of its own. However, she praised the Ayurvedic massage " as the best she had had anywhere in India", and she also felt the food buffets offered choice and quality. I was avoiding eating as I had unwisely drunk a "lassi", a mixture of yogurt and water, either sweetened with honey or made salt, at the comfort stop on the journey to the hotel. The stop was at a rubber plantation and factory, with a small cafe attached. After the interesting visit to the rubber plantation, seeing the latex being collected and processed into rubber, we were invited to take 30 mins comfort break at the road stop. Both my wife and I ordered lassi drinks as they were "good" for the stomach, others wisely chose tins or bottles of proprietary drinks. My wife witnessed the preparation of our drinks with a cloth used to "clean" the glasses, and when they eventually arrived, the coach was loading up so we gulped our drinks down. Later that afternoon, my problems started and continued for the next 4 days. This in spite of taking all precautions advised to take before we left the UK. I would strongly recommend any future travellers to India to carry their own antibiotics with them for just this eventuality. These can be obtained perfectly legitimately from on-line UK phamarcies before you leave. I was very fortunate to be able to get hold of some after 4 days of discomfort, and the problem disappeared within 24 hours.....I lost 4 kilos! This might have ruined my holiday if I had allowed it to do so, but having paid so much, several thousands of British Pounds Sterling, there was no way that I would allow it. My wife also became ill, but some hours later than me. We slept somewhat fitfully that night, and my wife insists she heard a tiger in the night! Next day, we were up and off to what turned out to be the highlight of the whole tour - Periyar National Park.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jollyrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again , many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A nice place to stay at. Check in was pretty smooth, with staff welcoming us with garlands & tilak... It was indeed an pleasant stay at the elephant court Patio cottage. Great room with nice surroundings by the way Vegetarian food quality needs a big heads up. was disappointed with the food though....

Room Tip: Rooms at the back side of the resort are much quieter & have nice surroundings..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VatsaSahil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2014

Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

My apologies for the late reply. I have just joined the team and we have started to reply to all reviews. We respect guest comments and we have high regard for the valuable feedback from our guests.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team and your concerns have been addressed by taking corrective measures.

Once again , many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.2 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
433 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#17 of 45 in Thekkady
1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 45 in Thekkady
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 45 in Thekkady
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Address: Amalambika Road | Near Boating Land, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#11 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $90 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Elephant Court 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing