We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing experience !!!”
Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elephant Court
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience !!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Warm welcome that we received totally camoflagued the disappointment that we were to face later on.
The hotel declares itself as a 5 star property however in reality this facility falls short of expectations. Let me enlist good points first:
- Beautiful landscaping
- Lovely swimming pool

Things which we found disappointing:
- Food is VERY tasteless
- Service at restaurant is just poor
- Room: There is a fire sensor that keeps on blinking, disturbing sleep
- Room: Refrigerator was noisy
- Room: Ugly bathroom fittings and mildly warm water
- Room: CRT TV with limited channels to watch

Somehow, I dont think I shall be ever considering this place again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItzAlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear ItzAlok,
Thank you for spending your holiday at The Elephant Court
We are sorry that you haven't enjoyed the holiday,I have conveyed your comments regarding the food, and the room to the concerned departments. We very much appreciate receiving your insights and will certainly use these to review our offerings and make the necessary improvements.
Thank you very much for staying with us.

With kind regards
Bobby Anthony
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    237
    101
    23
    23
See reviews for
296
246
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haryana, India
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I travelled with family and stayed at this Hotel during our trip to Kerala. Though our stay was short but I liked basic essence, hospitality and atmosphere inside Elephant court. Room was spacious with a beautiful balcony view of the greens. Nice aesthetics, interiors, also calm serene surroundings. Breakfast was great, lot of variety on offer. Reception staff was quite helpful in helping around with sight seeing info. No doubt this Hotel carries a 5 star DNA.... Recommend this place as class apart.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviral S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Aviral

My team and I are very pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us.
Thank you for your kind recommendation of our resort.

Your generous compliments are very much appreciated and we are delighted that you felt well looked after during your stay. We hope to have you with us again, should you plan another Kerala holiday in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Bobby Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Thanks for the very warm welcome with smile, towel and drinks, great staff! The open style of the reception, restaurant and pool area are very pleasent. Big and quiet room with nice balcony looking into the green (#154). The Kerala fish curry was amazing, good selection of food, all very good, a pity I couldn't eat more... Breakfast has a great variety of Indian and European foods. Free Wifi. That is our quick review after staying just one night.
The only flaw: the shower curtain was in need to be exchanged...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siegfried R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Siegfried
Thank you for posting your review of The Elephant Court , it is a pleasure knowing that your holiday is still very fresh in your memory!

My team and I truly appreciate your feedback on our service, the room you have stayed, the food experience and our food offerings. It is nice to know that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us.

Once again, thank you for your review and for staying with us. We hope to extend a warm welcome stay with us again in the future.
With Kind Regards
Bobby Anthony
Chief Operating Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I would recommend The Elephant Court currently as overall service is better. They are more mature in all aspects. Good choice of menu, good food, reliable service etc.
Their location is excellent. All the staff are very polite. The decor of the hotel is incomparable. I havent seen such a fine woodcraft anywhere in the world. We stayed in a ' Patio' type room which is having a long sight view to the forest, in the morning we are woken up by a group of smiley faced monkeys
I believe the stay at this hotel was the perfect gift to my daughter

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Mary,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Elephant Court Thekkady, we are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We really appreciate your feedback about the stay, and hope you will visit us again in the future for another Kerala holiday.
With Kind Regards
Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Nice spacious room with very friendly staff. Welcome drink was a great homemade vanilla shake!

Also, view from the room's balcony was close to bird's call, squirrels, giving you a nature view before embarking on your boating trip into Thekaddy Lake.

One of the better luxurious accommodation to consider when in Thekkady. Oh, did i mention short drive away from the spice shops? Some nice local shopping and then retreating back to this nice resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlvinTSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Alvin
Thanks for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your The Elephant Court holiday experience. I am thrilled to read that you have such a great time and memorable vacation with us at Thekkady
I will be sure to share your comments with the team - I know they will be happy to read your comments too.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Elephant Court again in the near future.
Spicy regards .. Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Some reviews of this have been mixed, but we found it overall an enjoyable place to stay. It has more personality than many hotels, with hilly grounds and interesting views. Nice birds around we could hear, and a Flame of the Forest tree just beside our lovely little balcony (Room 147). We had an excellent welcome - flowers, mint tea etc - and an interesting, very clean room. Bathroom rather dark, and no a/c just a room fan, with electricity tending to go on and off quite often. The staff were all pleasant and keen, if not totally efficient (laundry went to wrong room, but not a problem!). Sadly the food was not that great during our stay, and a very large screen TV was on in the dining room specifically for the cricket World Cup - the meals were acceptable certainly, but breakfast rather ordinary. WiFi is OK but only in lobby.

Having said that, we enjoyed being here. The village is a short walk away with lots of interesting shops and friendly people, and very close to the Periyar Wild Life Reserve (you could walk to its entrance). There is a great modern looking antique shop there - if only one could bring a few things back! Nice little dance demonstration before dinner by two young people.

Our view of the food probably suffered a bit from having been in the sumptuous Taj Malabar at Cochin for three nights beforehand, and it would certainly not stop us from going back again with pleasure. It felt more 'authentic' than other hotels we used, and all the better for that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Jobie
It is a pleasure to know that your stay at The Elephant Court was a pleasant one and that you found we have more personality than many other hotels. We always aim to provide our guests with the best hospitality and it is certainly very rewarding for our team to receive such commendations for their hard work.

We are so sorry you didn't like the food in general; I do apologize for this and for the electrical instability you have experienced.
I hope you choose to stay with us again should you return to India in the future

Yours sincerely,
Bobby Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

All staff r cooperative.good service nice
Location.restaurant food is too good and plus breakfast also.rooms are spacious and clean.bathroom is also clean.u can have a walk inside the hotel premises watching spices plantation.having good time in swimming pool

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank narende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

There is nothing more rewarding then to know that you are having a pleasant stay with us.

It is my hope that you will have a continuous relaxing, yet enjoyable time here at The Elephant Court

Warm regards,
Bobby Anthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
690 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Property: The Elephant Court
Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685 536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#9 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing