We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of luxury in Thekkady”
Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elephant Court
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was a beautiful hotel, tucked away in Thekkady, it was a little oasis after a long drive. We were lucky enough to have a little bungalow type accommodation with its own garden, beautifully clean and tidy, there was a lovely swimming pool, my husband had some Ayurvedic treatment for his back and I had a relaxing massage from Jinny. The evening meal and breakfast were delicious, I nearly forgot to say we had a wonderful welcome with garlands etc. when I left I stupidly left my I Pad behind and the manager kindly organised it's safe transport to my next destination. My only complaint was I didn't have enough time there, I thoroughly recommend this delightful friendly place

Room Tip: The Patio at the bottom was a lovely base
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello Anne,
Thank you for choosing The Elephant Court! I’m very pleased to read your note and your satisfaction during your experience in 'God's own Country'. I will surely share this with my team. Thanks and see you again! Bobby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 726 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

You will find this place a nice one to stay. I did reserve with their office and ernakulam and after a lot of discussions booked them. The property is near all the other major ones. The reception and the lobby was huge. The restaurant was well designed and liked the food and the spread. If you are a non vegeatarian, try their Prawns cooked in Kerala style...amazing. The rooms were very spacious and we had a relaxed stay. There was a balcony and sitting there and looking at the rain was something which was out of a dream. The Pool was good and we enjoyed a night's stay at this place. The only thing which they could improve is to ask for money when guest's checks in...(i hope no one else had this experience)..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Harish
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Elephant Court. It’s great to read that you had such a heavenly time with us and we all look forward to welcoming you again! See you soon,
Bobby Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was the First Hotel we stayed after our arrival in Kerala. The First Night was done in the Backwaters Houseboat. The Access road is good but a challenging uphill adjoining the Property of Club Mahindra.
The Reception and the Ambience is very inviting. The Staff were very Welcoming and we felt disappointed that we had only a night here.
The Rooms we got were well laid out although they were a bit isolated in the corner of the Property. Cleanliness was top notch and the Quality of Everything was very Satisflying. The Only Disappointment was the Mediocre View from the Room. The Surroundings caused lots of Obstruction to the Natural Light.
The Coffee Shop was the only Operational Restaurant during our stay. The Buffet Spread was amazing. Breakfast was great and the A-La -Carte menu can serve everyone's taste.

Hotel Facilities seemed to be ageing a bit though.

The Town and the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary is very close and the spice market is better than Munnar

The Best Hotel in Thekkady and definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimianks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello and thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. It’s great to read you had such a memorable time at The Elephant Court and Thekkady – I am also pleased to hear about your satisfaction about our restaurant, but noticing your disappointment in the selection of restaurants and room allocation. We currently operating the resort with one restaurant due to off season but we will be having the second restaurant when the season starts. Also we will surely allocate a room with a better view and daylight when you stay with us next time
We look forward to welcoming you back again
Regards
Bobby Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

What a trip it had been!! Hotel Elephant Courts is a great place to stay. I went there with my family and booked for a stay of 2D/3N in a 8 day Kerala trip arranged via Antilog Vacations

Travel agent picked us up at Ernakulam Railway station & landed us here after 4 hours drive amongst busy Kochi Highway to thekkady.The driver & whole service during the tour was excellent & at discounted rates

The hotel is located at an isolated place but at the same time the local market is at a walking distance. We received a warm welcome with a good welcome drink and a traditional welcome with a garland made of jasmine flowers. The check in was done in a minute and we were ushered into our room. The staff was very helpful and cheerful. All of them knew our names. It felt good to be someone being valued. The baggage was moved to our rooms quickly.

Room - Very good rooms. They were immaculate, nice n spacious including huge bathrooms with tub in it. Also, the rooms have got huge balcony. And the staff worked hard to maintain the rooms. Cleaned twice a day and response quite spontaneous to any call.

Periyar Reserve is a place you would love to visit. We got to see a lot of exotic bird species and some usual animal species like deers and monkeys in the Periyar Reserve. It is more of a jungle safari on a boat rather than a jeep. But we couldn’t spot any tiger and that was disappointing.

Next to the hotel, down the hill is a fantastic Kerala massage center. They really know there art. The masseurs were highly skilled and we had a good time relaxation.

The swimming pool was nice and clean. The maintenance was good and we had a nice swim.
The food at the hotel restaurant was delicious. Meals served and the buffet for breakfast was having a lot of variety of dishes. Restaurant serves decently good north Indian food.

There is a well maintained garden where you can sit and enjoy a nice cup of tea.

As a whole, it is a really nice place to stay. The services are good and fast. The management really looks to the efficacy of the work. And the food is good.

Looking forward to coming back here. 

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mukesh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Mukesh,
It is great to read such a detailed review about your recent stay with us, I appreciate all your comments and will review them with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Elephant Court when you are next in Kerala
With regards
Bobby Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Nicely Laid out Resort plan with all rooms being Cottages!
Each Cottage having an excellent Porch / Balcony area!
Excellent woodwork in all rooms!
Very Kind staff!
Pool area well equipped with shower / changing room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Amit, thanks for sharing your 'Elephant Court experience' with other travelers on Trip Advisor, it is great to read that you had such a nice break. We look forward to seeing you again!
Regards
Bobby Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in Elephant court... the rooms are very good especially the balconies with wooden kerela style sitting, the food was also nice, Staff is very freindlly and receptive.., special thanks to Mr. Shirju and Bulbul. Overall elephant court is a very nice, serene and comfortable luxury resort to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayush j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthony, Chief Opeerating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Ayush
Hello and thank you for such a detailed review about your stay with us, I am glad that you had a fabulous stay with us. Thanks again for choosing The Elephant Court and we look forward to welcoming you back. I will surely share your comments with my team at The Elephant Court
Regards
Bobby Anthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Wow - is the adjective I use to describe this beautifully architected hotel & gardens - it's romantic vibe, rooms, ammenities, gardens, it's excellent world class cuisine, staff, restaurants blend in together to ensure whatever type of holidaymaker you are - you're sure to enjoy....... I certainly would recommend & return with my partner to this "must stay" fab hotel..... Namaste, Shukria, Danuvad to one & all who made my stay so memorable.... Marion.

Room Tip: all of the rooms/suites are elegant & beautifully perched in lovely garden settings. take your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marionLondon_UK_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TECThekkady_Kerala, Bobby Anthoy, Chief Operating Officer at The Elephant Court, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Marion, thanks for such a detailed review about your recent experience with us. It’s great to read that you had such a pleasant stay and enjoyed 'the life in the wildlife! I appreciate all your feedback and will discuss internally with the team. We look forward to seeing you again
Bobby Anthony
Chief Operating Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.2 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#17 of 45 in Thekkady
413 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#20 of 45 in Thekkady
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#2 of 45 in Thekkady
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 45 in Thekkady
499 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 45 in Thekkady
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Address: Amalambika Road | Near Boating Land, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#10 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $113 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Elephant Court 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing