We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel if you can. Our worst stay in 8 hotels in S India”
Review of The Elephant Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Elephant Court
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
sussex
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel if you can. Our worst stay in 8 hotels in S India”
Reviewed January 6, 2008

When our travel agent suggested this hotel as an alternative when our initial choice was booked I read the reviews on this site and was encouraged. How wrong I was!
Our stay was between Xmas & new year so busy time, but this hotel overates itself.
On arrival at 4pm our rooms were not ready & we were kept waiting for 45 mins. We had booked a double & a twin room, but all they could offer was two doubles, so my son & daughter of 17 & 20 had to share a double bed for 3 nights. The alternative was a put up bed (uncomfortable for an adult) and unacceptable in a $220 per night hotel.
The food was OK but only OK. Buffet for every meal, and generally only tepid rather than hot food.
The pool looks great, but the few loungers have no cushions, there are no sunshades etc.
The room cleaning was moderate
They made a huge song and dance to welcome us with flower garlands, but then hardly showed us the layout, and never discussed the facilities.
The icing on the cake was the bill. Despite being on half board they managed to bill us for all meals and add an additional bill for another guests 7000Rs, though the signature was completely different. It took me a full 20 minutes of argueing to get them to ammend the bill. Therefore left a very nasty taste.
Probably we were unlucky at a busy time of year, but the other glowing reviews simply dont stack up in our experience.

  • Liked — leaving to go to our next hotel
  • Disliked — Poor management and the belief that they were superb
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oaklees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

First of all , my sincere apologies for the very late reply. I have just joined the team and I have just started to reply to the reviews and feedbacks.

Many thanks for sharing your review on Tripadvisor and giving us your feedback . My sincere apologies for the difficulties and incovenience caused

We have completely transformed from those days and a new team is in place.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Hope you will give us a chance to makeup for the past , during your next visit.Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    237
    101
    23
    23
See reviews for
296
246
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2007

We wanted to stay at Spice Village for 2 nights, but it was full the first night so the TA substituted Elephant Court. I was initially disappointed, but once we arrived at the hotel I was very glad SV was full! The open air lobby is beautiful and the check in process is very relaxed. There is a nice open air restaurant, and a small but beautiful pool. The rooms are in buildings that cascade down the side of a hill. EC backs up to the Taj property, and presently they are using the Taj's spa for EC guests.

A word to the wise--when we first got to our room there was a swarm of mosquitoes inside the room by the door. We quickly realized this was due to the fact that the wooden vents at the balcony door and in the bathroom are not screened, so there are multiple ways for mosquitoes to get into the room. We stuffed towels in both places and that solved the problem.

The rooms were brand new (didn't even have painted #'s on the outside--just a handwritten sticky note with the # on it.) The beds were very comfortable and the balcony was lovely. There was no shower, but the bath had one of those european handheld shower sprays mounted on a vertical pole which did the trick.

We were able to arrange a Periyar boat trip thru the front desk but it was a fairly substantial premium--I think we paid a 100% commission, but we didn't mind b/c it was a last minute booking.

The buffet was good and the restaurant staff was very gracious. I asked the waiter for the coldest bottle of water he could find, and the one he provided had ice on the outside! All in all, it was a wonderful stay. The next night we stayed at the Spice Village and by contrast, the rooms were very worn, the shower had mold in the grout, etc. I would definitely recommend the Elephant Court. Our rate was around $150 including a very nice cooked to order breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mkctn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

First of all , my sincere apologies for the very late reply.

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.


Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Originally our tour of Kerala included a stay at The Cardamom County Hotel, but this had recently been changed to The Elephant Court. It turned out to be the best Hotel on our tour. With an open air feel to the reception, resaurants and communual areas it was very welcoming - in a Keralan style but modern. The 'rooms' or villas dotted down the hillside were superb, with a desk area and walk in wardrobe area in addition to a large modern bathroom. 2 small points about the bathroom - very narrow ledge shelving does not accommodate toiletries well, and the shower soaks the frosted window - the window frames will eventually rot. The beds and fresh linen were fantastic. The restaurant was the best we experienced in Southern India - with both local and international dishes, and a chef to cook fresh omelettes and dosa etc. There was very little fault at all, but with long sloping distances to the villas, the poor staff stuggled to get the luggage to and fro in a decent time.

  • Liked — Style
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Holidaymaker099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to ourteam.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex. UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2007

We stayed at the Elephant Court hotel in Periyar in Feb 2007. It has only been open a few months. It is beautifully decorated with fine quality furniture and fittings. The staff are very welcoming and well trained.
The food, both Indian and Western was delicious.We wished that we could have stayed longer.
J & J C. UK

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank j&jcEssex.UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sajan_Cochin, Head of Sales at The Elephant Court, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
Dear Patron.

Greetings from The Elephant Court , Thekkady !

We are delighted to see your review on Tripadvisor. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our hospitality and had a memorable experience while holidaying in Thekkady.

Your appreciation has been conveyed to our team.

Once again many thanks for choosing The Elephant Court to be your host.

Look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Sajan Joseph
sales@theelephantcourt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
398 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
804 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elephant Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elephant Court

Property: The Elephant Court
Address: Amalambika Road, Thekkady 685 536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#6 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#9 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elephant Court 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Elephant Court" is the one and only classified 5 star resort and is largest and most luxurious resort at Thekkady and Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. The resort is conveniently located near the Periyar Tiger Reserve and all major tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Elephant Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Hotel Thekkady
Elephant Court Thekkady
The Elephant Court Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing