We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thekkady
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil Retreat”
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We spent a wonderful day at this tranquil retreat nestled in the Western Ghats in Kerala, India. The retreat is wonderful for families or small groups, with plenty of flora and fauna to charm, with a wonderful host who is knowledgeable about the local haunts and a chef par excellence who will tickle your taste buds with a tempting fare of varied Kerala cuisine. Loved this retreat!

  • Liked — Warm and charming host, Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Remote location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Uniquetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
68
43
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

I must write about Mundax Homestay Retreat where we stayed this year in August. It is such a beautiful and relaxing place. Just the place if you need some peace and tranquillity and want to get away from all the hustle and bustle. The scenery around is breathtaking and since it was the monsoon season, there were times when the clouds literally descended on you! One minute you could see the trees and the next minute they were enveloped in the cloud.
The host is very pleasant and drove us to the tea estate nearby. We enjoyed the delicious food cooked fresh every day!

This place is wonderful if you just want to relax and unwind. The hills around are good for long walks. It's quite a different experience from a regular resort. Much more personal.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PeaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2007

Didn't know anything about this homestay retreat, but went with a friend because I trusted his judgment. Instead of staying for one night as planned, we stayed for two. Why?

Firstly, Mundax, as he is known, is the type of person who would make one feel comfortable anywhere. He runs the place on his own, including cooking three meals a day...all vegetarian...simple but absolutely delicious! Meals are taken upstairs, in the family home, but I'm sure it could be provided in the room, if requested. I preferred the family dining room as it gave me an opportunity to get to know Mundax. This was important for me because a homestay situation is very different to staying in a hotel/motel. As I mentioned in the first para. my friend and I ended up staying for two days mainly because of the owner. He's genuine! I say this because his homestay reflects the way he lives his life.

It's a quiet, meditative, tranquil place and this is the type of client Mundax is seeking. If one is interested in meditation for example, then this is the ideal location. As a practitioner himself, he is more than happy for his client(s) to join him or let's them get on with it if that's what they prefer. Don't for one minute think it's all meditation and nothing else! He's a fun guy, extremely well travelled...in fact has lived overseas for close to 20 years, including communely, making him a very savvy person. He knows the district well so can take one to all the right tourist spots without making you feel like one.

The homestay room is situated on the ground level with private entrance. It's a large room, very modern and well furnished. The bathroom is western-style and luxurious. Outside, is a private-living room for reading etc. Oh yes, and it's a smoke-free zone!

A certain type of traveller will be attracted to this beautiful homestay retreat and that's fine with the owner. Running this type of retreat is more in keeping with his lifestyle, so if you want to be in an environment where the owner doesn't just see this as a business, then I highly recommend it to people who seek the quiet life, bathed in nature and looked after by a person whose company is second to none!

  • Liked — It was very homely
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BegumSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

Mundax is a charming homestay in an idyllic setting. About an hour's bus ride from Kumily and Periyar, this place offers great food and a genuine, knowledgeable host. We spent three nights here, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Recommended.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank JocandJaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

We spent 4 nights at Mundax Retreat in late March, en-route from New Zealand to the UK. We couldn't have chosen a better way to break our journey. I believe Mathew (our host) is offering a unique experience at Mundax. With only one couple/family/small group of guests at a time he offers his local knowledge, experience, culinary skills and makes all arrangements for you to visit the local attractions.
The area is magical - misty hills rising thousands of feet, vast areas of forests, wildlife, colourful villages off the beaten-track and a fantastic climate (it was about 25 to 28 C during the day at Mundax while up to nearly 40 on the plains down below).
In 4 days (far too little time!) we spend two days at two different wildlife reserves, visited a tea plantation, a spice factory, walked in the local village, visited temples, were taken into local homes, and ate like kings sampling all the local Kerala culinary delights.
Top this off with luxury accommodation, western style ammenities, and no hassles and we cannot recommend Mundax too highly.
Peter Garden

  • Liked — The host!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pohopetch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thekkady
13.3 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
1,090 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
686 reviews
13.4 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
1.1 mi away
Misty Mountain Plantation Resort
13.6 mi away
Spice Village
Spice Village
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat

Property: Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat
Address: Plappallil | Kuttikkanam P O, Kerala, Thekkady 685531, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mundax Homestay Yoga Meditation Retreat is the ideal place to relax, meditate, practice yoga, and listen to the stillness of your inner Self.We invite to combine your holiday with an opportunity to develop and deepen your yoga practice.We have on going Yoga Meditation Retreats. In order to give participants individual attention and provide guidelines according to their background and level, we take only a maximum of four students at a time. Join us for a 3, 5 or 10 days Yoga Meditation Retreat.Yoga can be a deeply transforming experience that helps you to discover your true self and what's important in your life. Yoga is a powerful spiritual practice; not merely an exercise routine.Our programme is specially designed to introduce newcomers to meditation, yoga, and spirituality. Those who already have started their journey with yoga and meditation will widen their experience.There is no age limit; young, middle age, elderly people - all are welcome to join our retreats.We welcome you to be a part of this life enhancing experience through meditation, yoga, spirituality, vegetarian meals, walks in the nature and charming views of the surrounding mountains.We encourage you to open your heart and connect to the very essence of our true nature as the truth, love and compassion. We invite you to reveal the inner stillness and peace that resides deep within your heart and soul.Our Yoga Meditation Retreat is in Kuttikkanam Village close to tea gardens, near Periyar Tiger Reserve, Thekkady, Kumily in the Western Ghats of Kerala, South India.Join us for a full week of yoga, meditation, spiritual dialogue, relaxation and soul renewal. Your Hosts and TeachersA Husband and wife team, open their house to offer Yoga and Meditation Retreats.Mathew and Agi – two souls in one spirit. They share a passion for teaching and practicing Yoga, Meditation and Spiritual life. They invite you to experience their hospitality and benefits of Yoga and Meditation in your daily life.The aim of their work is to empower the students to find their true Self; through awareness, yoga and meditation practice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mundax Homestay Yoga Retreat Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing