We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic ambience and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Ambadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ambadi
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel Ambadi is very conveniently located close to the Periyar Tiger Reserve as well as the main town. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The rooms are neat, clean and well furnished with wooden trimmings. The staff at the reception was able to also provide us useful information on what to do during our stay in Thekkady.
We however had a problem with the hot water, since the geyser pipe was broken and as a consequence hot water was not available. However, the staff immediately apologized and offered us the option of either using another room that had running hot water or providing hot water in buckets to our room.
However, the question that still lingers in my mind is, if the hot water pipe was broken, why were we given the room in the first place?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PradeepChandkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for spending your valuable time in writing your review in Trip advisor.
We agree that it was a mistake on our part to have provided the room to you. However on enquiry it was found that the staff were not aware of the problem before allotting the room to you. We sincerely appologise for the same and assure you that the staff have been suitable achieved to check all facilities before allotting room inorder to avoid such inconvenience to our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 266 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel few years back and in very other trip to Thekkady, though I had stayed in other hotels, I always went once for a lunch to taste authentic kerala food.

This trip as well, when returning from Allepey to Chennai, I made a point to stop in Thekkady for Lunch and had good food here at really affordable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jmadhanraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Manager at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for spending your valuable time in writing your review in trip advisor.
We are really pleased to hear that you liked the food stuffs at our restaurant . We will strive to maintain our standards inorder to provide excellent service to our valuable customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Ambadi for 1 night. Overall hotel is very good.
Hotel is surrounded by good greenery. Hotel location is very good almost central place in Thekkady. Staff was cooperative. Cleanliness and environment are plus points for hotel. We have our breakfast in restaurant. Food quality was very good, just we missed Idli in Kerala in their restaurent.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snehal-Shrutee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

We really appreciate you for spending your valuable time in writing your review about Hotel Ambadi in trip advisor.We thank you for your kind appraisal.
We will strive to maintain standards inorder to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay at our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for a day in a Deluxe room. The place perfectly syncs with nature with shrubs & old trees engulfing the whole place, you can see the photo i've attached. Rooms were pretty decent, neatly maintained and the main advantage being it's close to Thekkady boat house (some 4km away). If you want to catch the first ride this hotel can be your choice. The restaurant offers a variety of delicious food & you can have a beer along with your dinner, isn't it cool?

Adequate parking slots were made available.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramr2r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjayGeorgeVarghese, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for spending precious time to write a few lines on the facilities offered by us. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. We assure you that all effoerta will bew made by us to ensure a pleasant stay for our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Suit room(I think its their highest category room) it is fantastic. i spend 3 days in that room.Amazing experience.Almost services are perfect.so overall good and very reasonable. Value for money.Its close to Periyar tiger reserve entrance and Eco Tourism counter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saran_Kerala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay V, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for choosing Ambadi for your stay and we really appreciate you for your excellent feedback of Ambadi. We will strive to maintain standards inorder to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel with different kind of rooms, wooden cottages, well ventilated hotel, very much in the city but still isolated from crowd. restaurant is good and serve delicious food. Ambiance is good.Walking distance from market. so overall good and very reasonable. Value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keskar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay V, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We thank you for choosing Ambadi for you stay and really appreciate your kindness in sharing your valuable assessment of Ambadi. We will strive to maintain standards in order to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

2013 saw the worst monsoon in years and the bedding at Ambadi felt damp. One friend was literally shaking with cold in bed. Although monsoons are part of life, it should be possible to cope a little more effectively. I was unable to open the door of my room because it had swollen so much - I had to get help.

This is a charming looking hotel and, when it's not soaking wet, I'm sure it's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HuddersfieldNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajay V, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

The factors causing the inconvenience have been taken note and we assure you that effective steps will be taken for rectifying the same immediately.

We once again thank you for your wonderful words and we request you to stay at Ambadi again and enjoy our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#14 of 45 in Thekkady
306 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 45 in Thekkady
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sandra Palace
Hotel Sandra Palace
#17 of 45 in Thekkady
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#24 of 45 in Thekkady
270 reviews
0 mi away
Tabernacle Resort
Tabernacle Resort
#30 of 45 in Thekkady
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambadi

Address: Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $37 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambadi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambadi is on the edge of Periyar wildlife sanctuary giving you the best chance to explore Thekkady. Have the perfect holiday of your life by staying in the comforts of Kerala's first themed heritage resort. Enjoy the salubrious weather of the Western Ghats, listen to bird calls and spot wildlife at close quarters. You will cherish these tranquil moments of communion with Nature for everChoose from our 46 rooms across three different categories offering varying levels of comfort, all tastefully furnished in traditional style. Our hospitality is affordable and is bound to warm your hearts. Enjoy the various cuisines on offer in our restaurant Aditi, our delectable food is bound to be any gourmet's delight. Moreover our friendly staff will make sure that you have a pleasant stay with us and will even help you organise your trips and tours, if you choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambadi Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Ambadi Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing