We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet silence!”
Review of Hotel Ambadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ambadi
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

So my friend and I stayed @ Ambadi @ Thekkady and it was a lovely experience! Wooden rooms with that feeling which says that you are actually amidst the wildlife!

The rooms are spacious enough, clean but the service is alright... If you're looking out to getting a 24 hr room service, it's nt in here but for the price, the overall service and the awesomeness of the ambience, I'd say.. Go for it!

Very affordable when it comes to the prices! Just 5 mins away from the night trek and it's amidst alot of eateries so well, you anyway won't go hungry!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hotel Ambadi for stay and for sharing your wonderful experience with Ambadi we are really thankful to you for providing an opportunity to serve you and we are happy to hear from you that you enjoyed each bit. Your feedback encourages us to continue to strive towards the perfect satisfaction of our guests by relying on our strengths while working on areas that need improvement
Your appraisal is spot on that Ambadi as a property offering finest service with an affordable budget. As you have exactly reviewed about the location, Ambadi offers the nearest spot for activities such as trekking, boating etc as it is situated at the edge of Periyar Wild Life Sanctuary. In our restaurant Aditi, we provide a lot of variety cuisines which provides pleasure both physically and mentally to our valuable guests.
We are once again thankful to you and we would request you to visit Ambadi again and give us an opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 258 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Probably delivered less than I expected. The room was not ready when I checked in and the bedsheets and pillow covers were being changed as I entered the room. The flush was not working and I was shifted to another room. The food which is widely talked about is only average and service is poor. Food is not served in the rooms and you have to go out and get it as well. If you are a staunch vegetarian, the overwhelming smell of fish and non veg is overwhelming and un appetizing. The TV sets in the rooms are ancient and small to add to the misery. The only good part about the hotel is the ambience in terms of the wooden architecture, stone walls and all. The proximity to the Periyar Wild Life Sanctuary also helps.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hareshiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the trouble caused to you during your check in. our housekeeping staffs are given strict orders regarding the room amenities the difficulty you faced was really a mistake from our side and we are really regretful. It’s been really nice to hear that you quickly contacted the reservation desk and you have been provided another room.
In our restaurant variety of cuisines are delivered, it’s been really sad to hear that you were not able to enjoy it as it may be not of your taste. It will be very kind of you if you can provide your valuable suggestion on this matter; it will be really helpful for us to improve our service in future and also more attention will be provided in the matter of cleanliness. Guest’s visits Thekkady to enjoy its beauty and its natural ambiance, tele vision is usually less preferred. That is why no prior attention was given for it. As per your words we will definitely give more priority to this issue.
We request you to visit Ambadi again and we assure that you will not get disappointed then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have been staying here for all our short holidays since 1983. The rooms have been renovated over the years and they have maintained the ambiance. The food is good, try the chicken sandwiches, french fires and do not miss the chicken/cheese omelettes.

Nice place for a break and short stay, but do not expect acitivty for children at the hotel since there is a lot of it outside. A good place for activity in the forest and lake during the day and stay here for the night with good food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayKarthikRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

It’s been really pleasing to hear from you that you are enjoying Ambadi hospitality over 2 Decades. We are really thankful to you for sharing your experience in Trip advisor and we thanks you for providing opportunities to serve you again and again. Ambadi is serving its valuable guest from the last 3 decades and we are really glad to hear that you are enjoying it from the beginning.
You have accurately audited that Ambadi is being transformed from time to time without affecting is cultural and traditional atmosphere.
It’s been wonderful that you are also enjoying foodstuffs at our Restaurant “Aditi. As you have said our restaurant offers a variety of Indian, Chinese and Continental dishes which is enjoyed by our valuable customers every time. Due to its Silent atmosphere and customary ambiance Ambadi is attracting people from every corner of the world. As you mentioned that we lack arrangements for children, we will definitely plan to make arrangements for activities for children. You have rightly observed that Ambadi is mid place offering a very nearest spot for activities like Trekking, boating etc as we are situated at the edge of Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary.
We are once again thanking you and we expect you to give us opportunity to serve you over the coming years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel Ambadi is a great place to stay in Thekkady. It is well maintained and the wooden furniture in the room gives a nice old charm to the place. We stayed in the delux room on the ground floor which had a TV, bathtub and a small sit-out.
The food at the restuarant is excellent. Do try the Non-veg meal for authentic Kerala food. Even the breakfast was good.
The hotel is about 500m from the main gate of the Periyar National park, so makes it convinient if you are rushing for tickets early in the morning.
Note: They don't serve food in the room, which is not really a big problem.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelguru_pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for rightly evaluating of Ambadi. As you have said Ambadi offers its valuable customers a tradition atmosphere with touch of legacy which gives them a feeling of Kerala’s culture and heritage. We are happy to know that you enjoyed staying in the deluxe room. Apart from Deluxe room we have two other category Cottage and Duplex room, providing comfort at various levels.
As mentioned, our restaurant “Aditi” offers a variety of fresh Indian, Chinese, Continental and other cuisines in their purest form which provides a satisfaction to our customers. It provides the traditional Kerala’s dishes which are mostly preferred both by Indian and Foreign customers. You have rightly said that as we are situated at the edge of Periyar Wild Life Sanctuary and nearest to Town, we offer the nearest spot for all major activities, shopping and sightseeing at Thekkady.
We are once again thankful to you and your feedback and hoping to serve you better in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Ok hotel in Thekkaddy. We stayed 3 nights.
Beds are ok. Food good.
Breakfast also ok. Slow service.
Just missing a pool, but we went to a hotel nearby "Carnemon" and payed to use their pool.
The noice from the minibuses are desturbing at night and morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We appreciate you for your valuable feedback of your stay at Ambadi. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality. As the food is prepared after getting the order, it usually takes some time to serve. We are really sorry for keeping you waiting. We will definitely take this matter serious and we will make the service at its best.
As many of our guests recommended the matter regarding pool, we have definitely verified the subject and the matter regarding construction of pool will be initiated soon and for next time you don’t have to rely on any other places. As Ambadi is situated nearest to the Kumily town and Periyar wildlife Sanctuary there arise some problem regarding noises from vehicles, but as Ambadi is situated at much distance from the main road only few rooms are affected by this problem. We are sorry to know that you missed a good sleep and we will make sure that it won’t happen again.
We are once again thankful to you and we are waiting for your next visit to enjoy Ambadi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of the best Hotel to stay in Thekkady.

One could find wooden furniture all around. Which gives a very traditional feeling and as i have heard its the very first hotel to be in Thekkady. Around 30yrs old. Very well maintained,

Be there and have a great experience

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We are really thankful for your fantastic words. You have rightly verified Ambadi as a place which gives you all the comforts with touch of legacy. As you have said Ambadi is designed and maintained in such a manner to deliver the culture of Kerala in its own traditional manner.
You have rightly heard that Ambadi is the first heritage resort of Thekkady and it is serving people from various parts of the world from the last three decades. We are always giving our best to maintain is heritage and traditional ambience.
We once again appreciate you lovely appraisal of Ambadi and we are looking forward to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a reasonable stay for 2 nights at Ambadi Hotel at Thekkady, Restaurant food was good and reasonable, the people at the reception were helpful ,the rooms were clean and ok.As there were activities out side most of the time we spent out side. Over all our stay was all right and comfortable.

Room Tip: Room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suresh18051975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

It’s been really wonderful to hear from you. It’s more wonderful to know that you enjoyed every aspect of Ambadi. Thanks you for your comments regarding hotel amenities and reception desks. As mentioned our restaurant “Aditi” offers a variety of Indian, Chinese and Continental dishes at a very reasonable price affordable to everyone and it’s nice to hear that you enjoyed it a lot.
We are once again thankful for your true evaluation of Ambadi and we are happy to serve guest like you and we are hoping to serve to better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
4.7 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#23 of 44 in Thekkady
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#17 of 44 in Thekkady
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elephant Route
Elephant Route
#28 of 44 in Thekkady
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#25 of 44 in Thekkady
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tabernacle Resort
Tabernacle Resort
#30 of 44 in Thekkady
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambadi

Address: Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Thekkady
Price Range: $37 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambadi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambadi is on the edge of Periyar wildlife sanctuary giving you the best chance to explore Thekkady. Have the perfect holiday of your life by staying in the comforts of Kerala's first themed heritage resort. Enjoy the salubrious weather of the Western Ghats, listen to bird calls and spot wildlife at close quarters. You will cherish these tranquil moments of communion with Nature for everChoose from our 46 rooms across three different categories offering varying levels of comfort, all tastefully furnished in traditional style. Our hospitality is affordable and is bound to warm your hearts. Enjoy the various cuisines on offer in our restaurant Aditi, our delectable food is bound to be any gourmet's delight. Moreover our friendly staff will make sure that you have a pleasant stay with us and will even help you organise your trips and tours, if you choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambadi Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Ambadi Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing