We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ambadi
Nearby Hotels
$64
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$106
$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaumont Plantation Retreat(Thekkady)(Great Value!)
$48
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$63
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$88
$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spice Village(Thekkady)
$118
$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$71
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
59
113
59
26
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
113
59
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsduplex roomtill pmtiger reservebudget hotelindian foodwalkable distanceperiyar lakeelephant ridenice experiencesight seeingdelicious foodambalaambiencewoodcottagebathtubtiming
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 275 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Probably delivered less than I expected. The room was not ready when I checked in and the bedsheets and pillow covers were being changed as I entered the room. The flush was not working and I was shifted to another room. The food which is widely talked about is only average and service is poor. Food is not served in the rooms and you have to go out and get it as well. If you are a staunch vegetarian, the overwhelming smell of fish and non veg is overwhelming and un appetizing. The TV sets in the rooms are ancient and small to add to the misery. The only good part about the hotel is the ambience in terms of the wooden architecture, stone walls and all. The proximity to the Periyar Wild Life Sanctuary also helps.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hareshiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the trouble caused to you during your check in. our housekeeping staffs are given strict orders regarding the room amenities the difficulty you faced was really a mistake from our side and we are really regretful. It’s been really nice to hear that you quickly contacted the reservation desk and you have been provided another room.
In our restaurant variety of cuisines are delivered, it’s been really sad to hear that you were not able to enjoy it as it may be not of your taste. It will be very kind of you if you can provide your valuable suggestion on this matter; it will be really helpful for us to improve our service in future and also more attention will be provided in the matter of cleanliness. Guest’s visits Thekkady to enjoy its beauty and its natural ambiance, tele vision is usually less preferred. That is why no prior attention was given for it. As per your words we will definitely give more priority to this issue.
We request you to visit Ambadi again and we assure that you will not get disappointed then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have been staying here for all our short holidays since 1983. The rooms have been renovated over the years and they have maintained the ambiance. The food is good, try the chicken sandwiches, french fires and do not miss the chicken/cheese omelettes.

Nice place for a break and short stay, but do not expect acitivty for children at the hotel since there is a lot of it outside. A good place for activity in the forest and lake during the day and stay here for the night with good food.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayKarthikRaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

It’s been really pleasing to hear from you that you are enjoying Ambadi hospitality over 2 Decades. We are really thankful to you for sharing your experience in Trip advisor and we thanks you for providing opportunities to serve you again and again. Ambadi is serving its valuable guest from the last 3 decades and we are really glad to hear that you are enjoying it from the beginning.
You have accurately audited that Ambadi is being transformed from time to time without affecting is cultural and traditional atmosphere.
It’s been wonderful that you are also enjoying foodstuffs at our Restaurant “Aditi. As you have said our restaurant offers a variety of Indian, Chinese and Continental dishes which is enjoyed by our valuable customers every time. Due to its Silent atmosphere and customary ambiance Ambadi is attracting people from every corner of the world. As you mentioned that we lack arrangements for children, we will definitely plan to make arrangements for activities for children. You have rightly observed that Ambadi is mid place offering a very nearest spot for activities like Trekking, boating etc as we are situated at the edge of Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary.
We are once again thanking you and we expect you to give us opportunity to serve you over the coming years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel Ambadi is a great place to stay in Thekkady. It is well maintained and the wooden furniture in the room gives a nice old charm to the place. We stayed in the delux room on the ground floor which had a TV, bathtub and a small sit-out.
The food at the restuarant is excellent. Do try the Non-veg meal for authentic Kerala food. Even the breakfast was good.
The hotel is about 500m from the main gate of the Periyar National park, so makes it convinient if you are rushing for tickets early in the morning.
Note: They don't serve food in the room, which is not really a big problem.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelguru_pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Thank you for rightly evaluating of Ambadi. As you have said Ambadi offers its valuable customers a tradition atmosphere with touch of legacy which gives them a feeling of Kerala’s culture and heritage. We are happy to know that you enjoyed staying in the deluxe room. Apart from Deluxe room we have two other category Cottage and Duplex room, providing comfort at various levels.
As mentioned, our restaurant “Aditi” offers a variety of fresh Indian, Chinese, Continental and other cuisines in their purest form which provides a satisfaction to our customers. It provides the traditional Kerala’s dishes which are mostly preferred both by Indian and Foreign customers. You have rightly said that as we are situated at the edge of Periyar Wild Life Sanctuary and nearest to Town, we offer the nearest spot for all major activities, shopping and sightseeing at Thekkady.
We are once again thankful to you and your feedback and hoping to serve you better in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Ok hotel in Thekkaddy. We stayed 3 nights.
Beds are ok. Food good.
Breakfast also ok. Slow service.
Just missing a pool, but we went to a hotel nearby "Carnemon" and payed to use their pool.
The noice from the minibuses are desturbing at night and morning.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We appreciate you for your valuable feedback of your stay at Ambadi. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality. As the food is prepared after getting the order, it usually takes some time to serve. We are really sorry for keeping you waiting. We will definitely take this matter serious and we will make the service at its best.
As many of our guests recommended the matter regarding pool, we have definitely verified the subject and the matter regarding construction of pool will be initiated soon and for next time you don’t have to rely on any other places. As Ambadi is situated nearest to the Kumily town and Periyar wildlife Sanctuary there arise some problem regarding noises from vehicles, but as Ambadi is situated at much distance from the main road only few rooms are affected by this problem. We are sorry to know that you missed a good sleep and we will make sure that it won’t happen again.
We are once again thankful to you and we are waiting for your next visit to enjoy Ambadi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

One of the best Hotel to stay in Thekkady.

One could find wooden furniture all around. Which gives a very traditional feeling and as i have heard its the very first hotel to be in Thekkady. Around 30yrs old. Very well maintained,

Be there and have a great experience

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VicDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajaygv, Owner at Hotel Ambadi, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

We are really thankful for your fantastic words. You have rightly verified Ambadi as a place which gives you all the comforts with touch of legacy. As you have said Ambadi is designed and maintained in such a manner to deliver the culture of Kerala in its own traditional manner.
You have rightly heard that Ambadi is the first heritage resort of Thekkady and it is serving people from various parts of the world from the last three decades. We are always giving our best to maintain is heritage and traditional ambience.
We once again appreciate you lovely appraisal of Ambadi and we are looking forward to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews