We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Hotel Ambadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ambadi
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had gone their for a single night stopover before proceeding to munnar with my wife.I should say it was a budgeted hotel and so the room was just ok for us to spend the night.Like i said it was value for money.The bathrooms were a little rundown,i felt,especially the broken tiles.The food was pretty good especially the breakfast.we had ordered room service for dinner and it was also good.But overall it was a calm experience to stay nothing drastic.Just the right hotel to rest your back after a tiring journey and freshen up for the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JerrinJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2012

Thank you jerin for your wonderful words. we are happy we had the opportunity to serve you on your visit to thekkady . As you have rightly observed Hotel Ambadi is a mid market offering a vast majority of mid market travelers who would like to experience a bit of heritage stay at value for money rates .We always attempt to mantain the rates of food and accommodation at reasonable rates vis a vis many other premium hotels in the vicinity . iIt is very much possible for us to increase our rates ,however ,as majority of our guests are by word of mouth and are recommended by our guests ,we are always committed to our guests . We also have a steady rate all through the year , as against the policies of many hotels .

Your good words like others are a constant motivation for us and keep us committed to the mid market travelers visiting thekkady

We are glad you found the stay comfortable and the food up to your expectations .However, we are sorry for the flaw with the bathrooms. our front office would have only been too happy to provide you with an alternative room if requested.appreciate if you can inform us the room number you stayed for making repairs .
thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were on our way back to Bangalore from Kottayam when a friend suggested us to go via Thekkady and view the scenic beauty of Wild life Sanctuary. On his recommendation we chose Hotel Ambadi which turned out to be a very good decision. The rooms remind us of the rustic past when the houses were made of wood. I basically hate the idea of a TV in a hotel room because if we had to see the TV then why come on a vacation.
The food in the restaurant is very good and they whip up some fantastic Kerala delicacies. Being a no frill hotel the charges were also quite reasonable.
We had a few problems in plumbing which was taken care off quite fast

Room Tip: The wooden rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abraham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 22, 2012

Thank you very much for your response mr abraham . Ambadi is certainly intended to offer a comfortable stay in a traditional kerala house .Each cottage is recreated out of an old kerala house .We were one of the first properties in Kerala to adopt this concept in hotel architecture .
Appreciate your comments on Television , which we are sure reflect your outlook towards travel and nature . Especially for a destination such as thekkady , television is a distraction from the wonderful and abundant nature around you .We have intentionally not fitted TV in cottages to encourage our guests to spend ore time experiencing in the nature and multitude of activities in thekkady.

Thank you for your comments on the restaurant as well, we are certainly making efforts always to make it as best possible and we have been able to retain our reputation as one of the most locally recommended restaurants.

We are committed to keep our rates reasonable both in the restaurant and the accommodation to provide a comfortable yet affordable stay at thekkady

Once again , thank you as thousands of guests such as you motivate us to maintain our commitment to travelers and guests visiting our property.

Hope you shall visit us again and we look forward to be of service to you ,always .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is the most pathetic hotel i have ever stayed. There is no TV in this hotel neither AC. Hotel staff are very rude aswel.There is no facilities. I had a worst experience here. I had no choice I paid the bill for one day and vacated in 2hrs.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Neenu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your feedback .We would like to inform you that TV's are available in our Deluxe and Duplex rooms . Cottages are not fitted with TV's as Thekkady is a holiday destination which is so abundantly blessed with nature and has several activities . There is a vast majority of customers who visit thekkady to be away from modern day nuisances such as TV's and internet ,to be with the family and to be together. Hence we have kept cottages as many customers appreciate it . Thekkady is a destination located about 1400ft above sea level and hence do not require an AC.Most premium hotels also even do not have AC's . The weather is pleasant all throughout the year . We are very committed to the environment and the nature around us and are in the process of reducing our energy requirements .Ambadi is a budget hotel and offers value for money, good food .Our commitment to the customer is clean,comfortable, secure rooms and good food at reasonable rates, which we have been able to consistently provide for the last 3 decades and plan to offer the same in the future too with consistent improvements.
However, we thank you and look forward to your revisit ,so as to meet you and explain about your concerns.thank you for visiting us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on 14th and 15th May 2012. Water in the bathroom was not clean.
One more thing which we did not like was - room service is only for beverages. For breakfast/lunch/dinner you are forced to go to the restaurant.
There is no TV in the cottages...
Hence this hotel is just to spend nights after undertaking activities in Periyar ..

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

After reading many of the disappointing reviews, I have a relatively positive one to add! We trusted our local friend who was exploring Kerala with us on his hotel choice in Thekkady.. I believe the owners knew him, so as a result we had actually a pretty decent stay at the hotel, particularly for the cost (1500 rupees a night for 2). It is possible that without him we may have had a less pleasant stay. Yes, the 2 twin beds is frustrating to have as a couple but I've noticed a similar setup in many Indian hotels. The wood decor in the room was actually quite nice (although dark, but does give it a cottage feel), the exterior of the cottages were very nice, there was always hot water, linen was clean, amenities were provided for us, as was mosquito repellent plug-in, and fans worked very well. Our room thoroughly cleaned when we got there. The toilet didn't flush very well, and no wifi , but, our agenda was Periyar not wifi. Although the menu at the restaurant is extensive, the food was not good and took a long time to arrive. (The papad was good though). My strawberry milkshake unfortunately had a fishy flavour to it and put me off the entire meal, so we ate outside for remaining meals and did not have further contact with the service staff so we can't comment on their interactions with us. If you are looking for a cheap, peaceful place to crash between visits at the Periyar then this is a decent option (as long as you take your meals outside the hotel and don't have expectations that this is a 5-star joint!)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurasuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This hotel has nothing that I can speak about other than the location. It is located quite close to the Periyar Wildlife Sanctuary. So, in case you have an intention of spending your entire day in undertaking activities of the Forest Department and want to take a hotel to just spend the night..this is the place. Expect no more than this!

Service stinks..the staff lacks basic ettiquettes...the restaurant is worse...lunch and dinner horrible..breakfast was just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arch_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I will start with the issues I faced. At morning time the hot water wasn't available. They didn't answer the phone. Though we booked the room properly before hand, they still offered us a room that was too much secluded and dark. The look is too much traditional and low lit with lots of wooden furniture all around. at breakfast you won't believe (family of 4), we had to wait for at least 30mins when they arrived with tea that was somewhat colder. We did not get the service properly I would say. In fact I could see less number of people out there.
Good part was that it is quiet and peaceful place. its near the local shops (though we had to walk through dark places in between that was secluded to reach the main hub).

Room Tip: ummm... still thinking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pradeep1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#15 of 45 in Thekkady
308 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 45 in Thekkady
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#25 of 45 in Thekkady
270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sandra Palace
Hotel Sandra Palace
#17 of 45 in Thekkady
326 reviews
0 mi away
Tabernacle Resort
Tabernacle Resort
#30 of 45 in Thekkady
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambadi

Address: Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $37 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambadi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambadi is on the edge of Periyar wildlife sanctuary giving you the best chance to explore Thekkady. Have the perfect holiday of your life by staying in the comforts of Kerala's first themed heritage resort. Enjoy the salubrious weather of the Western Ghats, listen to bird calls and spot wildlife at close quarters. You will cherish these tranquil moments of communion with Nature for everChoose from our 46 rooms across three different categories offering varying levels of comfort, all tastefully furnished in traditional style. Our hospitality is affordable and is bound to warm your hearts. Enjoy the various cuisines on offer in our restaurant Aditi, our delectable food is bound to be any gourmet's delight. Moreover our friendly staff will make sure that you have a pleasant stay with us and will even help you organise your trips and tours, if you choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambadi Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Ambadi Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing