We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please stay away, I'm warning you.”
Review of Hotel Ambadi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ambadi
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Thekkady is an amazing place but this hotel is a black spot. Service does not exist here. Staff at restaurant are just ignorant and does not want to help at all. You have to find a staff to place your order and again to follow up on your order. They will bring water bottle but not glass, they will bring food but plates, they will bring juice but not straw. These are just some examples. We had duplex, room and furniture was so old, it was full of dust everywhere, all the rooms have double bed with a huge gape between two mattresses!!!!! They dont have iron at property, they don't provide face towel or napkins!!!! These are basic requirements for any hotels. Anyway list goes on...we had our food outside

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank studentPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 266 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

We went there on the recommendation from local guide but this is the place where one would surprise by lack of manner and courtesy .restaurant is the worst part of property in terms of services and food. Horrible place still found many westerners around.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eurythmics81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

This is one of the old hotels of the city and provides you with all comforts you would be looking forward to. I chose a room of with wooden floor and it was on the first floor. The view is great and its a great value for money. Rooms are very clean and also the restaurant attached to the hotel provides good tasty food. Only thing that probably the hotel owner should look at is not to allow a noisy scene at night when all the drivers and starts chatting. It somehow disturbs the tranquility the otherwise ambience provides.

Room Tip: Try one at the top having wooden floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We did not have great experience here, but I think it was mostly because we went during the Christmas week, the hotel was house-full due to which they were having problems in everything. But if you have designed a hotel for 100 guests I think you should be able to cater to 100 guests at any point of time. The rooms were nicely done up, but we had to call them repeatedly for towels, water, soaps. At no point of time we got the hot water. We had to get up early in the morning at 4.0 am to buy the boat cruise tickets, so there was no hot water. Then we came back in the afternoon at 1.00 pm there was no hot water. We were told that hot water is available only from 6.0 am to 11.00 am. And in the evening. Moreover you have to let go a few buckets of hot-tap water for the hot water to come. And if no other guest is using hot water at that point this could be even be 10 bucket-full of water just to be thrown. For a person like me, it was waste of water and time.
Also when we were going for cruise early morning, we could not see the steps in the darkness as there were no lamps. The hotel is based on jungle theme, so they are trying to simulate it like real jungle, but it does inconvenience the guests, if they don’t know this beforehand.
The best thing about Ambadi is the manager Kurian. This gentleman, provided all the help we needed from time to time, including directing the boys to bring extra beds etc. He even went and got the soaps himself for us. He was courteous enough to allow us use one room for extra time beyond check-out because we had to go for the safari.
The restaurant was also over-crowded and there was a long waiting and all our order was served at once. Usually we have chapattis as we finish, but here they brought all the chapattis together. And when we needed a few more we had to again wait. Taste-wise the curries were nice. Thekkady happens to be the producer of spices, so it was quiet natural.
Also as the other reviewer (roundtripfor4) said they don't bother to note special requests, like we did not want garlic in curries but they brought what they had, since it was rush and we were getting late, we managed somehow.

Room Tip: They have cottages on one side and then a new building one another, which has suite type rooms, whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The architecture is quite nice, something special and more authentic - this was also the reason that we choose that place. It is centrally located. Nice ambiance. If u wanna stay in cottage, select upper floors. Tvs r not provided in rooms. Staff is cooperative.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prg12186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Our room had a nice balcony, it was very spacious, but also rather basic.
The Jeep Safari suggested by the hotel was very interesting and worth every penny.. great guides!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

this was the hotel with the worst food and service we had in 3 weeks india! The architecture is quite nice, something special and more authentic - this was also the reason that we choose that place. It is also near to the centre of the town. At the reception the staff was not very polite compared to the other places in India. They were not inpolite but kind of arrogant and indifferent. The worst thing was the restaurant. Near to some tables there was a very bad smell - I'm not sure if more like cat-urin or more like a year's old and never washed cloth used for cleaning the tables... The staff, all very young boys were not able to understand what the clients want - or you spell exactly the dish as written on the menu or it will end in misunderstanding. As I requested at breakfast for fresh fruit not remembering that the thing I wanted in the menu was called fruit salad. The waiter was a bit confused but then asked me if I wished mango or banana. I said both would be fine. He was then even more confused. And after 10 minutes he came back with 2 glasses of fruit juice - one banana and one mango... Not one meal that went without misunderstandings. Soups that arrived at the end of the dinner. Other dished were completely forgotten. Also at the surrounding tables we noted that many dishes went back to the kitchen because there was something wrong with them.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acciugaManarola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.3 mi away
Chrissie's Hotel
Chrissie's Hotel
#15 of 45 in Thekkady
306 reviews
4.7 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 45 in Thekkady
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sandra Palace
Hotel Sandra Palace
#17 of 45 in Thekkady
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#24 of 45 in Thekkady
270 reviews
0 mi away
Tabernacle Resort
Tabernacle Resort
#30 of 45 in Thekkady
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambadi

Address: Ambadi Junction, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $37 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ambadi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ambadi is on the edge of Periyar wildlife sanctuary giving you the best chance to explore Thekkady. Have the perfect holiday of your life by staying in the comforts of Kerala's first themed heritage resort. Enjoy the salubrious weather of the Western Ghats, listen to bird calls and spot wildlife at close quarters. You will cherish these tranquil moments of communion with Nature for everChoose from our 46 rooms across three different categories offering varying levels of comfort, all tastefully furnished in traditional style. Our hospitality is affordable and is bound to warm your hearts. Enjoy the various cuisines on offer in our restaurant Aditi, our delectable food is bound to be any gourmet's delight. Moreover our friendly staff will make sure that you have a pleasant stay with us and will even help you organise your trips and tours, if you choose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ambadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambadi Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Ambadi Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing