We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmelia Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Rajkot, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had booked the tree house, and requested for the larger tree house, but as it was unfortunately under maintenance, we were offered the smaller one. My family finally vitoed against the tree house. Management was kind enough to immediately accommodate us in Jacuzzi Villa (maybe due to off season), which was the best thing that happened to us. The jacuzzi and the swimming pool were not clean, and the food was just OK, but the overall experience was good! Co operation of the management is highly appreciated!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suchdevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    175
    51
    18
    42
See reviews for
179
223
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It was a pleasant stay. we had a good trip & the location was so too good, The staff where excellent & So Co-operative. Food Was average, Room were clean & good, The rooms and cottages are surrounded by tea and cardamom plantation.Room service little bit to improve.The table tennis court was nice, and the pool was also nice!

Room Tip: Double Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahiyafalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Mist, fragrance and flavor of cardamom will make the stay in this resort a pleasant experience. The rooms and cottages are surrounded by tea and cardamom plantation. Early morning you will be welcomed by chirping of a variety of birds. Employees are very cordial and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjpkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the warmth of hospitality shown by the staff of Carmelia, doubled with a charming and well maintained farm resort. Great place for staying away from maddening crowd. One can expect a relaxing holiday, great cuisine in a tropical upland farm environment. The property is full of spice plantations, with many tropical fruit trees, from which one can pluck berries and eat!

Room Tip: Go for the newly built independent cottages or pool villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bileymenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), Kerala, India
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The resort is in a good location and the climate was quite pleasant. The table tennis court was nice, and the pool was also nice!

Rooms were decent esp the jacuzzi cottages... the tree house was quite small but then again that's understandable. The transparent bathrooms were a weird feature though :-)

We had a look at the honeymoon cottage. You have to climb a few steps to get to it (like the treehouse). But once inside, you have to climb DOWN a constricted spiral staircase to get to the bedroom underground! That was somewhat queer.

There is a lot of space at the resort. This is nice to walk around in a calm setting.

The food was excellent, especially ALL the fish items (highly recommended!). However, they make us wait a very long time. Also, they are not patient enough to take our orders in a courteous manner.

Overall, I would rate it Good but not Excellent. Quite overpriced too...

Room Tip: Avoid the tree houses. The jacuzzi cottages are really good. The honeymoon cottage is an individual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniKerala, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir

At the outset we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. However we understand that you were not very pleased with the service in the restaurant. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused and have ensured that such incidents do not happen in future.

Looking forward to serve you again in Carmelia on your future visits.

Regards

Unnikrishnan Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

we have stayed here for two night in march 2013..excellent resort ..very beatiful..trip to kailashm was indeed great experience..staff is good.but food was horible.service in dining area was very bad ...they almost took 50 to 60 minuts to serve food..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitinragu121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uniKerala, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Sir

At the outset we would like to apologise for the delay in the restaurant during your stay with us. We have made amends to ensure tasty food and prompt service henceforth.Your valuable feedback has motivated us to do better and correct our shortcomings.

Looking forward to serve you again on your future visits to Carmelia Haven.

Regards

Unnikrishnan Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This resort is a long way from periyar tiger reserve.It is about 33Km from Thekkady town. It was an excellent resort. The plantations were awesome.Completely isolated from any sort of civilization.The accommodations are nice, simple and tastefully decorated rooms and nice grounds. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudipta_arch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
8.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
1,090 reviews
8.7 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
411 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
9.0 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
8.8 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Property: Carmelia Haven
Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing