We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmelia Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carmelia Haven
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Carmelia Haven for two nights and the experience was simple incredible. Will come back again for longer duration. We stayed at Tree House which was much better than expected. Food quality is superb. Service is top notch. Very nice.

Room Tip: Go for Tree House and Deluxe Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usdhindsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    170
    50
    18
    42
See reviews for
177
216
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait, Al Kuwayt, Kuwait
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hi Travellers,
Its a really nice resort in thekaddy,55acres is too small when u see this resort. overall the owner of this resort is owning 1500acres of property with thekaddy, whereby providing all necessary amusements inside his property only., going with the hotel package is good, but should try for outer thekaddy sight seeing points, like boating, jeep safari etc. dont limit yourself only to the resort go out its much more to see in thekaddy,,, and at-least 3nights in thekaddy is suggested in order to cover everything.
Resort service was ok ok as thier was v.few staff in august..& construction of new rooms also going on so u have to bare a bit..!!
Thats it then enjoy staying at carmelia haven

Room Tip: Deluxe Double Bed cottages are fairly good compare to Honeymoon cottage which is bit conjested..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yours_Truely101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmeliaHaven, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Sir

We are grateful to you for sparing your valuable feedback about our resort. We apologise for the inconvenience caused to you due to our renovation works...but offseason is the only time we can do it.

We are sure you will see a lot of improvements on your next visit.

Looking forward to serve you again at Carmelia Haven !!


Unnikrishnan Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

The perfect honeymoon resort with fantastic room, food, amenities, and services. The deluxe cottage was awesome and we spent most of the time in the resort. The staff was polite and helpful. Very peaceful place as it was quite far from the city and am sure anyone would love it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tourhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarmeliaHaven, General Manager at Carmelia Haven, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for the wonderful feedback about our resort. We would indeed strive to keep up the levels of guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to serve you again at Carmelia Haven !!

Unnikrishnan Nair
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

On arrival at Carmelia we were greeted by what seemed like the whole staffing team including a magical Piper! We were given an arrival juice and were given a full itinery of our package. Our bags were then carried to our extremely luxurious cottages. We were given time to rest and have lunch in the modern and clean dining room before being taken on an adventurous and interesting tour of the spice and tea plantations in which this beautiful resort stands. We also went for our Auyverdic massages on this day, which was a real treat.

The following day started with breakfast, with the choice of either continental or traditional. We then set out for our Jeep Safari, which was slightly scary in the pouring rain but this made it slightly more fun. Only problem here was we wasn't really given enough info on what we were seeing. After another satisfying lunch we went on our elephant ride, which was amazing. Although I'm not really sure why Carmelia's own transport couldn't be used and an additional cost was involved. However, we were advised of this at the start so no problem really.

The food was extremely good offering multi national cuisines and the service was excellent.

A big thank you to Kristie and Sunil (apologies if not spelt correctly) for making our stay extremely satisfying. And of course to the mysterious and magical Piper who it seemed was always there waiting to play us a happy tune.

I could not recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Very nice experience I would say. Resort is nice and clean, rooms are tidy with awesome ambiance. Service was excellent at the restaurant, the team was very helpful I can't remember the names but all if them were awesome. Staff at front counter could have been bit more relaxed as they come across bit stressed and were missing the smile but it's ok due to the over all experience. Pool was nice and clean considering it is surrounded by trees all over. It was like leaving around nature.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kartik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We went there in February and found this as the best place Visited by us in kerela...

Rooms were good...large and spacious.....

Reception Staff Ajiv, Bintu, Mahesh or manish...all very helpful.....

Best was the food served....Restaurant Staff BiBin Sajida all were all for service.... U ask for a thing and they provide u......

Jeep safari is great....

Amazing View, Rooms, Pool, Etc... all in all worth staying....

Best thing is the staff... 5 stars to all of them....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vishaljain58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tirupur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We went for our honeymoon and had a wonderful experience in carmelia... The staff was so supporting and the food provided was excellent....I recommend this hotel for everyone who goes to thekkady....We stayed in tree house and greenery around it was awesome. An adventurous trip was also organised by the hotel which was excellent..

Room Tip: tree house is amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nehavini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
8.7 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
8.8 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
7.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#19 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
8.8 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
8.2 mi away
Wild Corridor Resort and Spa by Apodis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelia Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelia Haven

Property: Carmelia Haven
Address: Vandanmedu | Idukki District, Thekkady 685551, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carmelia Haven 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
55 acres of lush green spice-plantation with lots of activities for all age groups. You can have the feel of luxury tree houses or cave-room. Unmatchable ambiance and top-notch hospitality . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Carmelia Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelia Haven Thekkady, Kerala
Carmelia Haven Hotel Thekkady

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing