We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, shame about the hotel”
Review of Aranya Nivas KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great staff, shame about the hotel”
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We booked to stay for 3 nights here but we left early as the hotel is pretty poor. I felt really sorry for the staff because it seemed they knew the hotel was a bit rubbish but couldn't really do anything about it! It's a KTDC run hotel and like many KTDC connected activities we experienced - they don't keep things very well. The whole place is tired looking, the pool was a dirty brown colour (we reckoned the nearby lake was safer for swimming), you can't open the windows because of the monkeys, there's no AC, you are locked inside the park hotel from 6.00pm and, joy of joys, all the trekking activities need to be booked at an office OUTSIDE the park (as they say in the US - go figure). On the more positive side - we thought the food was actually great - very tasty, a good range and loads of it served! The staff in the restaurant were very nice too - attentive, not overbearing and with lots of personality. Overall - I would stay in Thekkady town.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMoulays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    175
    79
    36
    18
See reviews for
205
136
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I concluded my trip to Kerala in September and here I am sharing my experience about the best place I have stayed in during my trip. Yes. Aranya Nivas it is.

I had experienced the hospitality of KTDC earlier but this was even better. The hotel is situated within the boundary of Periyar National Park and just beside the Periyar Lake. Infact the Thekkady Lake boat safari jetty is at a stone throwing distance from the hotel gate.

Though situated inside a forest, the luxury and comfort offered by the place was pleasantly unexpected to me. I stayed at a deluxe room and the room quality was decent enough for its price. The hotel has all the modern amenities like beer parlor, internet café, Laundry service, foreign currency exchange etc. We were also offered complementary boat safari in the Thekkady Lake once a day for the two days we stayed in there.

I personally was most impressed with the restaurant and the beer bar. I am kind of a foodie and the restaurant was a delight for me. It offered various Indian, Chinese and Continental Cuisines and the taste of the food was absolutely fabulous. The beer bar had arrangement of various kinds of table games and is a nice hangout place in the evening.

Only disadvantage I felt was that the national park was closed at 6 PM. and you are not allowed to roam outside the hotel compound after that. But the luxury of staying at the heart of a wilderness, justifies such little adjustments specially when there are a lot of options inside the hotel itself.

Overall I would say this is definitely a 4 out of 5 from me and one of the best hotels I have stayed in on holidays. I would like to get back to the peace and tranquility of the hotel whenever I visit Kerala again.

  • Liked — restaurant and the beer bar
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TripTourMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

we spent 2 nights and 2 days at Aranya Nivas. The staff were curteous, and helpful. not a clean swimming pool,we noticed dead flies in the pool. I am not sure if it is cleaned every day.but in the middle of the forest,there will be flies!!!, but cleaning the pool twice will help.
food was good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezhupunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We had a great trip in Kerala in October’09. The trip was for 8 days, we stayed in Kumarokom, Thekkady, Munnar , Kochi and in a Houseboat (“one of the ten things like to do before die”!!); the major theme of this trip was to spend a quality time with my family.

In Thekkady we stayed in the Aranya Nivas, which is run by the Kerala Tourist Development Corporation (KTDC).

- Booking Experience:

I had a good experience while booking the rooms in this hotel, the front desk and reservations staffs are friendly and responsive. I made a bank transfer to their account and got the confirmation quite quickly and at the time of check in, it was quite organized – no mess!!

But I hope in near future they will have the facility for Credit card guarantee facility also.

- Periyar Reserve Forest Entrance:

All the KTDC hotels are inside the Periyar Reserve Forest. If you like Jungle and enjoy the pristine environment of the jungle – this is the place…, you can roam, stroll inside the
Jungle.

The resort in located on the banks of river Periyar and inside the Periyar Tiger Reserve.

The negatives: The entrance gate for the Periyar Reserve Forest closes at 6:30pm, so you can’t go outside after 6:30, as well as the entry pass is valid for one day – so each day you you have to pay for your car and for you !!
Before fixing this hotel, I read about this entrance timing and people’s agony not to come out of the hotel after 6:30, still I chose this hotel only for its location!! There are cheap and comparable hotels outside the forest (Spice Village, Wilders nest, Elephant Court) but they are 3-4 km away as well as Kumiley is not a happening place- you can do some shopping (mostly spice) and Kathakali dance show in some places.

- Rooms:

Fortunately, I got a great room with balcony and terrace (Premium room). But beware of the monkeys, in the daytime they can enter inside your room!! (we have experience thisw also) I found the beds are relatively hards, rooms are specious but most of the rooms don’t have A/c.

- Food

Though I had a MAP category, I feel the food is little expensive and very little choice in the Pub!! The food at the buffet is delicious and covering continental, Indian and Keralian style. The overall spread of dishes for buffet breakfast and dinner is good.

The staffs are friendly, responsive.

Overall:

A nice place to stay !!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manabesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

This hotel is run by the government and lies within the P. Nature Reserve, which is closed after 6 p.m what means that you are stuck inside. There is nothing to do within the hotel besides going into a cold and not well kept swimmingpool. You feel bit like a prisoner because even going for a walk next to the lake is forbidden. You cant leave the windows open (not through the day and also not through the night) cause monkeys are coming inside your room, what I experienced...;-)
So you also have to eat within the hotel which is costly and not good. The service is unprofessional. The rooms are spacy but oldfashioned like the hole hotel. The beds are really hard. The price for staying in this hotel is much too high!!!!
The best experience I had was the junglewalk in the morning. You might maybe not see elephants or tigers but a lot of other animals. Special is the sound and the smell of the forest....I loved it
All in all: Book accomodation outside of the park

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank evafoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I am from India but live in the USA, so it was very saddening for me to see such a broad day light loot by KTDC. The rooms are located conveniently near the entrance of the lake, they are big with very basic ventilation and bathrooms. The dining room is terrible, especially as you are forced to eat in, at least in the night!!! the entrance closes at 6pm so you are stuck inside. There isnt much to do once you are in the hotel, pool closes at 7pm and is dirty, table tennis is in a distant furnace like room, TV is poor. I vacated the room early and I am still haggling for my refund, try and find something better outside the forest.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heartforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

I along with parents and my nephew visited this beautiful place on banks of river Periyar.

As the resort is owned by Kerala Tourism Development Corporation its location is very breathtaking. The resort in located on the banks of river Periyar and in the Periyar Tiger Reserve. The resort is very beatiful well attended rooms / suites along with all modern aminities like swimming pool etc.

The food at the resort is all delicious but slightly costly. The overall spread of dishes for buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner is very nice.

Overall it is beautiful place to stay when you are in Thekkady.

We all enjoyed this place and its surroundings

Aeroplanewala

  • Liked — its beautiful surrond
  • Disliked — cost of the food
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeroplanewala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
2.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
618 reviews
2.2 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
404 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
4.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranya Nivas KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranya Nivas KTDC

Property: Aranya Nivas KTDC
Address: Kumily, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranya Nivas KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aranya Nivas is the only premium jungle lodge of its kind situated inside the Periyar Tiger Reserve(Thekkady). The resort provides avenue for close interaction with the tropical rain forest and wild life. The resort is located on the banks of Periyar lake. Entry to Periyar Sanctuary will be closed by 5.00 pm. Hence please ensure to reach inside the sanctuary before 5.00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Aranya Nivas KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranya Nivas Ktdc Hotel Thekkady
Aranya Nivas Idukki
Aranya Nivas Hotel Idukki
Aranya Nivas KTDC Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing