We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice except for driver facilities”
Review of Aranya Nivas KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were glad we chose this hotel for the excellent location right in the reserve near the water.
Our air conditioned deluxe room was pleasant and spacious.
We enjoyed the tasty buffet breakfast and dinners that were included in our room price.
Other pluses were the swimming pool and video screening in the evening about the park.
However the absolute highlight was all the animals that came to drink at the lake by the boat ramp in the evenings after all the day tourists had left....elephants, deer, pigs and hunting dogs. Lots of birds too.

I was very disappointed that this hotel does not provide a sleeping room for drivers who must sleep in their cars near to where elephants roamed at night during our stay. A good sleep for the driver is important for drivers and passengers alike.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilinVietam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 444 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

Really nice location, but I think it's not worth the price!! You'll just pay the location in the forest. The rooms are not as nice as on the picture ("great" photoshop job!), the restaurant is really sadly decorated, if we can call this decoration... I was really disappointed. I got so much more for less money than that in other parts of Kerala.
I had also a payment problem and had to make all the efforts to solve the problem. They just didn't do anything. Shameless for a hotel which pretend to be so nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pocureuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a dated property and you cant expect any luxuries, but as it you dont in the midst of the Periyar forest. The check in was smooth, very co-operative staff which helps you with the activities that you can do. We did the boat ride(recommended), jungle night walk(highly recommended) and a breakfast at the lake palace(recommended if you are traveling as a couple). The room was pretty decent and clean. The food though limited was very tasty. We happen to see a rare species of Nilgiri Monkeys just hanging around the property, brilliant. We even saw a huge squirrel from our room window. You are always advised to keep the windows shut due to the monkeys around. Overall a brilliant stay if you want to experience nature and wildlife from the closest possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dhaval_Gandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location is superb, being in the middle of the TIGER RESERVE. You actually live in the jungle (where movement is restricted after 6pm); simply adventurous and thrilling. They provide lovely adventure camps like the tiger trail and mountain trail and so on. There is also a royal hotel on an island in the lake in the middle of the TIGER RESERVE, where access from the mainland is only by boat, and you will see elephants, monkeys, wild bores and other animals along with many different species of birds while you are on the boat.

Thank TennyRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This resort is inside Periyar forest reserve and bang next to the lake. We are in the suite room which is the only unit with air conditioning. The room was huge with a separate living area. Staff was courteous, food ordered from room service was good and served promptly. Front desk arranges tickets for the jungle safari on a ferry ride. It's nature all around, fills you with a calm feel of the jungle - walk upto the lake before sunset is just wonderful. Advisable to carry a pack of cards, as there's nothing much to do after sunset (after 6pm), as the entry/exit to this forest reserve area is restricted. To sum up, this hotel is advisable if you prefer to live in the tranquility of a forest setup.

Room Tip: The hotel has only one suite room that has a AC unit, take that if you're not planning to go the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joydipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel was so disappointing that I don’t even feel like writing much. The staff was very polite, but that was more of a cover up for their inefficiencies and callous attitude. The room was not clean at all; it was cleaned after lot of shouting. Bathroom gives you a feel of budget hotel :(
Location is very good, in natural surrounding right inside the forest. But still I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good Place, very close to nature and fat away from town. As it is within the park, your movements
are restricted after 6PM. Food is good otherwise you do not have much option to go outside in the night. Staffs were helpful

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Zoeb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.8 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
867 reviews
2.2 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
2.1 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
452 reviews
4.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranya Nivas KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranya Nivas KTDC

Address: Kumily, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $74 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranya Nivas KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aranya Nivas is the only premium jungle lodge of its kind situated inside the Periyar Tiger Reserve(Thekkady). The resort provides avenue for close interaction with the tropical rain forest and wild life. The resort is located on the banks of Periyar lake. Entry to Periyar Sanctuary will be closed by 5.00 pm. Hence please ensure to reach inside the sanctuary before 5.00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Aranya Nivas KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranya Nivas Ktdc Hotel Thekkady
Aranya Nivas Idukki
Aranya Nivas Hotel Idukki
Aranya Nivas KTDC Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing