We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay at Thekaddy”
Review of Aranya Nivas KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
KOLKATA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay at Thekaddy”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

right in the middle of Periyar wildlife sanctuary,rooms are big,clean and very well maintained. it is the nearest stay from the boat jetty and the hotel staff took care for our boat ride ticket. Swimming pool is not maintained properly

Room Tip: Lake view rooms though not much of a view available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PARTHA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    175
    79
    36
    18
See reviews for
205
136
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Udaipur, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel Aranya Nivas is a good option to use in Thekkady ! Right in the middle of the Periyar wildlife century - a highly recommended hotel if you are going to Thekkady. It is a KTDC resort. Reception is small but have all informative information for guest to book day activities n all. Restaurant had nice space and lovely food but please do not except good north Indian roti here. even though it was nice n helpful staff.
The best thing of this place is that if you like to go for river boating than boarding point is just in front of hotel. Rooms are nice and comfortable with good windows. so enjoy your stay and remember me by my review. . cheers

Room Tip: all rooms are fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 150NPSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

another long trip got us to Periyar and inside the sanctuary...but we got a terrible reception, rude incompetent staff who just didn't seem to care

the hotel is in a lovely site, but they are making nothing of the hotel - not even a nice outdoor seating area.

we'd heard that government run hotels had bad service but we didn't expect it to be that bad!

Room Tip: there is only 1 air con room and only 1 room with a balcony - we didn't get either of these
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachEM0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel Aranya Nivas was simply awesome! Right in the middle of the Periyar wildlife century - a highly recommended hotel if you are going to Thekkady. It is a KTDC resort but the staff is the most efficient staff I witnessed - no traces of that government employees attitude! KTDC must be doing something right to ensure such an agility and proactiveness in their staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarang333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Mid-way to Thekkady, we receive a call from the receptionist, Aranya Nivas asking whether we would like to book our tickets for the famous boat ride in Periyar. That set the tone for our stay, and it was mind-blowing. The location is super, rooms are clean. But what sets this property apart is its green surrounding - it's the only resort in Periyar Reserve (Apart from super expensive KTDC Lake Palace). If you really want to stay close to nature, this is the only place to be.

P>S: I mus mention the service of the staffs. When a ceiling fan in one of our rooms stopped working, the staffs immediately arranged a pedestal fan in the middle of the night. Appreciate.

Room Tip: Try to take the early morning or the last Boat trip to spot animals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aparna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The best part of the property is its location in the middle of the jungle. Green surroundings are the main charm of the place. When we entered the reception, the artistic look and ambience took away our heart. But rooms were not as great as reception area, but they were pretty big, clean and nice. We stayed in a premium room with a pool view. Early morning we woke up with sound of birds chirping and as we went out we could spot amazingly beautiful species of birds around. Also, there are a lot of monkeys around and do attack the rooms and reception at times ;). Me and my husband went on a night trek of three hrs where we could spot few animals but no TIGER :(. When we came back from night trek to the hotel, we spotted 2 Sambar deers right in front of the Hotel gate :). Early morning boat ride was amazing. A nice way of looking at wild life relaxing at the shore of the lake. My only disappointment was the Pool at the hotel which was not maintained properly, it was very dirty with muddy water and insects.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank nehaR04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed in Aranya Niwas for a day during our August vacation to Kerala. Being a KTDC property, the resort is decent with superb location. While the rooms are average (clean and fair sized), but its the location that sets this property apart. This is the only hotel located inside the Periyar Tiger Reserve (apart from KTDC Lake palace, Thekkady), and that comes with its share of pros and cons. Pros - First hand experience of the jungle and immediate proximity to boat landing and jungle tourism office. Cons - Restricted access: Entry and exit to and from the reserve are time bound and hence you can't go out or enter the hotel after 6 PM. Consider this factor if you plan the evening for outdoor activities. Now the factor that really made our stay here a memorable one - Not often do you find a hotel with staff who are willing to go out of their way to satisfy their clients and that is exactly what we experienced here. A day before our arrival, we received a call from hotel enquiring about our plans to take the boat ride so that they can book that on our behalf. We booked a car for our departure to Kumarokom and we agreed to the rate they asked for. Hotel travel desk took extra proactive effort to check with another agency and gave us a better rate. And on our departure day, we went for a jungle trek from 2 - 4 PM. Even though we were supposed to vacate our room by 12 noon, we were not only allowed to keep it till 2 PM, they also provided us a room to freshen up when we returned from the trek, and all these with a smiling face without any extra charge. Kudos!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samarjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
2.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
618 reviews
2.2 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
404 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#27 of 43 in Thekkady
76 reviews
4.0 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
438 reviews
2.1 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#12 of 43 in Thekkady
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranya Nivas KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranya Nivas KTDC

Property: Aranya Nivas KTDC
Address: Kumily, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranya Nivas KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aranya Nivas is the only premium jungle lodge of its kind situated inside the Periyar Tiger Reserve(Thekkady). The resort provides avenue for close interaction with the tropical rain forest and wild life. The resort is located on the banks of Periyar lake. Entry to Periyar Sanctuary will be closed by 5.00 pm. Hence please ensure to reach inside the sanctuary before 5.00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Aranya Nivas KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranya Nivas Ktdc Hotel Thekkady
Aranya Nivas Idukki
Aranya Nivas Hotel Idukki
Aranya Nivas KTDC Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing