We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money”
Review of Aranya Nivas KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Thekkady
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Aranya Niwas is a mid budget property run by Kerala Tourism Development Corp. It is located 4 Kms into the Periyar Sanctuary on the banks of the Lake. Its locale is amazing. The hotel has a swimming pool, a beer parlour and restaurant. The rooms of the hotel are spacious.The food quality is so so.. One thing that the visitors here need to know is that the gates of the sanctuary close at 6pm and the access to the hotel shuts off. So, choose this hotel only if you are ok with the said restriction. Also, when in the hotel, keep the windows shut... else you may find a monkey wanting to give you company like we did :) The staff is helpful, albeit grudgingly... like any other govt. organisation. Apart from the swimming pool, there is a library and carrom & TT.. keeps kids engaged as you cannot go anywhere post 6pm. Boat bookings for an excursion into the periyar lake are done from the hotel itself... thus you avoid the long ques...

Room Tip: Take the wood side rooms - u cud spot an elephant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ahmedabadhermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 465 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

stayed only one night and really enjoyed the time here. very close to the lake although not much to see on the boat as too many noisy people! tickets arranged at hotel so no queing for boat tickets. bedroom windows overlooked trees so lots to see in the morning particularly the group of monkeys who walk along the ledge trying to open the windows! lots of birds , take binoculors and different type of monkeys.
food in the restaurant was fine for a buffet, lunch menu was al a carte and typically curry etc, although fish and chips for my daughter was yummy!
didn't use the pool but it looked good and the hotel will also arrange trekking and other activities. bathrooms fine with toiletries provided .not top end , but didn't pay top end prices so thought it quite adequate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thefieldings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Aranya Nivas is situated in Periyar Tiger Reserve and it is with the idea to spend a night in the jungle we(I and my wife) reserved a Premium room in the Hotel. I had intended to purchase boat tickets for boating in Periyar lake and this hotel had the best location beside the ticket counter(just 200 metres) .. this was an added incentive to look for accomodation here.

The Hotel despite being run by KTDC which gives one an impression of a typical Govt. run hotel was quite unlike it. Very well maintained and good service.

We had arrived from Munnar and had checked in the hotel for one night. The hotel reception greeted us very well and the checkin was in a jiffy once I produced the copy of Makemytrip voucher.

We had been alloted a premium room that was beside the swimming pool and offered a very good view. The room was very spacious and well maintained. There was wooden flooring and nice wooden furniture. The bed sheets were clean. There was TV in room that carried many channels. The bathroom was clean with good fittings and toiletries offered complimentary.

The room does not have AC but considering climate of the place it is not necessary.

The hotel has a restaurant and a recreation room with carrom,TT table,snooker table. As the hotel closes after 6 pm as it is in the wildlife sanctuary, one can spend his/her time playing in recreation room. The hotel also has a big lounge with WiFi enabled.

As the dinner was pricey - Rs. 350 per head buffet, we decided to skip it. We had the chance to sample the breakfast as it was inclusive and regretted skipping the dinner the night before - the food was very delicious and had variety. We were late to breakfast as we had gone for boating in morning, the restaurant staff made efforts to serve us all the breakfast items.

The swimming pool is available in fixed timings and clean.

All in all an excellent one night experience in the jungle.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvmuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Being a state run mid-budget property, our expectations were not very high. I had visited it 25 years back and wanted to relive the experience with the 'kids'. The location was fantastic - just 4 km into the forest, by the side of Lake Periyar and no noise of the civilized world intruded. Day visitors have to leave by 6pm and we were left with forest noises only. The rooms have one wall of glass and wood frame - and we could see black langurs, flying squirrels and various birds in the morning. We had called to request reservation of boat ride tickets - and they were waiting for us when we reached. The boat jetty is just down a flight of stairs from the lodge. The boat ride was a little slow - we saw many animals - but sharing the boat with 50/60 people invariably meant some loud groups disturbing the peace of the jungle with disdain. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. The ala carte menu was a show case of spicy(not chilly-hot) aromatic non veg food. Did not care much for the buffet breakfast and dinner that was part of the MAP we opted for. People were courteous and helpful. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank safar1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Date-2-3rd March 2011
Purpose-Honeymoon

We booked this hotel through travel agent. It is one of the must go to place when you are in Kerala.

This KTDC hotel is in the middle of forest. No entry & exit after 6pm.

Hotel has swimming pool, beer parlour & restaurant..

Rooms are big & cleam. Service is good. Food quality is average.

Boating experience is really adventurous...

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank c_amitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The main advantage of staying in this hotel is, you need not rush to the boating tickets counter in the early morning at 06:15am, when the gates of reserve forest are opened for which normally people who stay even in 5 star hotels outside have to run to the counters and fight for their place in the ticket line. Most of the tourists will come to know about this only after going there. But if you stay in this hotel, either you can be one among the first 10 members( those 10 members will also be from your hotel only) in the line as you are allowed in the line at 06:00am itself (or) the tickets will be delivered to your room directly by the hotel. The Hotel is located on the bank of periyar lake and next to the boating ticket counter. You can also enjoy the sounds of forest during evening, night and morning. We could see wild pigs, langoors, monkeys in front of our hotel. You will be feeling as if you are sleeping in a forest.
Food and service at hotel was good. People who likes nature would love this place. View from our room is excellent. We could see langoors and squirells playing on the top of the tree from our room glass doors.
-- Our experience in this hotel was the best of our kerala trip. Next time we want to spend more time here only.
-- Rooms facing towards the lake would be the best room to stay. Room was comfortable.
-- Location is the main asset of this hotel. It is inside the tiger reserve forest and next to boating point. That is why i always prefer this hotel to stay in thekkady. If someone wants to have a greater experience than this, they can stay in a similar hotel which is in the forest and you can go there only by boat. You can see that hotel when you go for boating. You cant even see lights around you during nights in that hotel. You will be in the wild animal territory
--- Best liked in this hotel is location, ambience, service.
__ The part which i didnt like in this hotel is they dont have internet facility for customers in their hotel and you cant even go outside for that. and even if you have laptop , you have to sit in the lobby and use wi-fi for it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SSQUARETOURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

we had a very boring stay in this place.had selected it initially as we thought we would enjoy being in the midst of the forest..but were really disappointed with the way things were put up,staff were least bothered to help..also they themselves discouraged us from going out for any activities but telling us scary things about leeches etc...really dont know who all have enjoid the bamboo rafting etc..an activity wch we were really looking forward to.
rooms ,rest everything is so clumsy..food is kind off ok
u cannot open windows in yo room as monkeys mite get in..neither do you hav a balcony..tell me how can a young couple enjoi a holiday in such a place...I think this place s good for old people...
we stayed just for one day though our initial plan was 4 2-3 days but we felt it was time and moni waste

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cateyes85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.8 mi away
Sterling Thekkady
Sterling Thekkady
#19 of 45 in Thekkady
433 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#17 of 45 in Thekkady
1,054 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Tigers Roare'
Hotel Tigers Roare'
#24 of 45 in Thekkady
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 45 in Thekkady
513 reviews
2.3 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
6.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#26 of 45 in Thekkady
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranya Nivas KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranya Nivas KTDC

Address: Kumily, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $81 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranya Nivas KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aranya Nivas is the only premium jungle lodge of its kind situated inside the Periyar Tiger Reserve(Thekkady). The resort provides avenue for close interaction with the tropical rain forest and wild life. The resort is located on the banks of Periyar lake. Entry to Periyar Sanctuary will be closed by 5.00 pm. Hence please ensure to reach inside the sanctuary before 5.00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Aranya Nivas KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranya Nivas Ktdc Hotel Thekkady
Aranya Nivas Idukki
Aranya Nivas Hotel Idukki
Aranya Nivas KTDC Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing