We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Jungle experience with all comforts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aranya Nivas KTDC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Thekkady
India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Jungle experience with all comforts”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Aranya Nivas is situated in Periyar Tiger Reserve and it is with the idea to spend a night in the jungle we(I and my wife) reserved a Premium room in the Hotel. I had intended to purchase boat tickets for boating in Periyar lake and this hotel had the best location beside the ticket counter(just 200 metres) .. this was an added incentive to look for accomodation here.

The Hotel despite being run by KTDC which gives one an impression of a typical Govt. run hotel was quite unlike it. Very well maintained and good service.

We had arrived from Munnar and had checked in the hotel for one night. The hotel reception greeted us very well and the checkin was in a jiffy once I produced the copy of Makemytrip voucher.

We had been alloted a premium room that was beside the swimming pool and offered a very good view. The room was very spacious and well maintained. There was wooden flooring and nice wooden furniture. The bed sheets were clean. There was TV in room that carried many channels. The bathroom was clean with good fittings and toiletries offered complimentary.

The room does not have AC but considering climate of the place it is not necessary.

The hotel has a restaurant and a recreation room with carrom,TT table,snooker table. As the hotel closes after 6 pm as it is in the wildlife sanctuary, one can spend his/her time playing in recreation room. The hotel also has a big lounge with WiFi enabled.

As the dinner was pricey - Rs. 350 per head buffet, we decided to skip it. We had the chance to sample the breakfast as it was inclusive and regretted skipping the dinner the night before - the food was very delicious and had variety. We were late to breakfast as we had gone for boating in morning, the restaurant staff made efforts to serve us all the breakfast items.

The swimming pool is available in fixed timings and clean.

All in all an excellent one night experience in the jungle.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luvmuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    170
    76
    35
    18
See reviews for
194
131
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Being a state run mid-budget property, our expectations were not very high. I had visited it 25 years back and wanted to relive the experience with the 'kids'. The location was fantastic - just 4 km into the forest, by the side of Lake Periyar and no noise of the civilized world intruded. Day visitors have to leave by 6pm and we were left with forest noises only. The rooms have one wall of glass and wood frame - and we could see black langurs, flying squirrels and various birds in the morning. We had called to request reservation of boat ride tickets - and they were waiting for us when we reached. The boat jetty is just down a flight of stairs from the lodge. The boat ride was a little slow - we saw many animals - but sharing the boat with 50/60 people invariably meant some loud groups disturbing the peace of the jungle with disdain. The rooms were small but clean and comfortable. The ala carte menu was a show case of spicy(not chilly-hot) aromatic non veg food. Did not care much for the buffet breakfast and dinner that was part of the MAP we opted for. People were courteous and helpful. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank safar1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kalyan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Date-2-3rd March 2011
Purpose-Honeymoon

We booked this hotel through travel agent. It is one of the must go to place when you are in Kerala.

This KTDC hotel is in the middle of forest. No entry & exit after 6pm.

Hotel has swimming pool, beer parlour & restaurant..

Rooms are big & cleam. Service is good. Food quality is average.

Boating experience is really adventurous...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c_amitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vijayawada, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

The main advantage of staying in this hotel is, you need not rush to the boating tickets counter in the early morning at 06:15am, when the gates of reserve forest are opened for which normally people who stay even in 5 star hotels outside have to run to the counters and fight for their place in the ticket line. Most of the tourists will come to know about this only after going there. But if you stay in this hotel, either you can be one among the first 10 members( those 10 members will also be from your hotel only) in the line as you are allowed in the line at 06:00am itself (or) the tickets will be delivered to your room directly by the hotel. The Hotel is located on the bank of periyar lake and next to the boating ticket counter. You can also enjoy the sounds of forest during evening, night and morning. We could see wild pigs, langoors, monkeys in front of our hotel. You will be feeling as if you are sleeping in a forest.
Food and service at hotel was good. People who likes nature would love this place. View from our room is excellent. We could see langoors and squirells playing on the top of the tree from our room glass doors.
-- Our experience in this hotel was the best of our kerala trip. Next time we want to spend more time here only.
-- Rooms facing towards the lake would be the best room to stay. Room was comfortable.
-- Location is the main asset of this hotel. It is inside the tiger reserve forest and next to boating point. That is why i always prefer this hotel to stay in thekkady. If someone wants to have a greater experience than this, they can stay in a similar hotel which is in the forest and you can go there only by boat. You can see that hotel when you go for boating. You cant even see lights around you during nights in that hotel. You will be in the wild animal territory
--- Best liked in this hotel is location, ambience, service.
__ The part which i didnt like in this hotel is they dont have internet facility for customers in their hotel and you cant even go outside for that. and even if you have laptop , you have to sit in the lobby and use wi-fi for it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SSQUARETOURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2011

we had a very boring stay in this place.had selected it initially as we thought we would enjoy being in the midst of the forest..but were really disappointed with the way things were put up,staff were least bothered to help..also they themselves discouraged us from going out for any activities but telling us scary things about leeches etc...really dont know who all have enjoid the bamboo rafting etc..an activity wch we were really looking forward to.
rooms ,rest everything is so clumsy..food is kind off ok
u cannot open windows in yo room as monkeys mite get in..neither do you hav a balcony..tell me how can a young couple enjoi a holiday in such a place...I think this place s good for old people...
we stayed just for one day though our initial plan was 4 2-3 days but we felt it was time and moni waste

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cateyes85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thekkady hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This hotel is actually in the middle of a wild life santury. The feel of it is just noticed the moment you enter the santury and hear those amazing voices coming from all directions, the birds, that humming sound, those monkeys hanging from the tree bark, it was simply amazing. We had the most wonderful time of our life at this place... WOW....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank El4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Aranya Niwas is a hotel managed by the KTDC and is advertised as a Premium Property. Since being run by the government the staff is least bothered about the well being of its guests. Their USP is " This is how it is, take it or leave it!!"
We reached the hotel at about 10:00 AM (before the scheduled check in time of 12:00PM) after driving the whole night from Bangalore and requested the staff to check us in as we had a child and were all tired. They blankly refused initially. It took us a lot of talking to various staff people to finally get us a room.
The service is poor especially in the restaurant. The manager was rude and uncourteous. The quality of food was also average. There is a buffet spread for all the 3 meals and doesnt have much of a choice. Also the various dishes like Chinese and North Indian tasted like local cuisines.
The only saving point of our trip was the location of this hotel. It is inside the forest gate and gives a nice feeling of staying in the forest especially after dark. The rooms facing the forest have huge windows and give a nice view of the forest outside. We spotted a couple of sambar deers early in the morning.
The advantage of staying in this hotel is that after 5:00PM when all the other tourists are required to leave the forest premises, one can stay inside the gates, have a nice and quiet view of the lake atleast for an hour. Nobody is allowed to move out of the hotel after 6:00PM. We spotted a group of some different kind of monkeys (sorry, forgot the name of the species), but the guards told that they are hard to spot.
We would recommend this hotel only for its location and nothing else. Do not go having high expectations about the hotel and its facilities.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ketanankalikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
2.2 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
354 reviews
2.2 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
1,042 reviews
1.8 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
404 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
Beaumont Plantation Retreat
#25 of 41 in Thekkady
74 reviews
2.1 mi away
ABAD Green Forest Resort
ABAD Green Forest Resort
#16 of 41 in Thekkady
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aranya Nivas KTDC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aranya Nivas KTDC

Property: Aranya Nivas KTDC
Address: Kumily, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aranya Nivas KTDC 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aranya Nivas is the only premium jungle lodge of its kind situated inside the Periyar Tiger Reserve(Thekkady). The resort provides avenue for close interaction with the tropical rain forest and wild life. The resort is located on the banks of Periyar lake. Entry to Periyar Sanctuary will be closed by 5.00 pm. Hence please ensure to reach inside the sanctuary before 5.00 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aranya Nivas KTDC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aranya Nivas Ktdc Hotel Thekkady
Aranya Nivas Idukki
Aranya Nivas Hotel Idukki
Aranya Nivas KTDC Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing