We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wildlife Adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2006

This hotel offers a unique experience in a remote setting, namely, a wildlife sanctuary. On the 15 minute boat ride to the isolated island setting we saw wild elephants, turtles, deer, boar, monkeys and a variety of birds. The hotel only has six rooms and the best is clearly the room on the north end which overlooks the lake. Regardless of which room you get, you can sit outside and watch the wildlife across the lake about 1000 yards away. My wife watched a herd of elephants all morning. However, I’m told the elephants may not show up for a month at a time so don’t count on seeing them.

The rooms are rather dark and most do not have a view from the window. But of-course this is not the place to come and spend in your room. Rooms do have verandas which are a comfortable spot to relax. Meals are included with the room but there is no choice in food selection – they simply bring food to your table after you sit down. Service is attentive and, if you wish, they will bring the food to your veranda.

For jungle walks you will have to take the boat back to the main park entrance. There are no paths for walking around the hotel itself. The jungle walk will especially appeal to bird watchers – the only other wildlife I saw on our walk was monkeys. For the truly adventurous there are multi-day hikes deep into the reserve. This offers the possibility of seeing a wild tiger.

Both my wife and I found we needed almost a half day to ‘recover’ from the drive out to Thekkady. It’s a narrow windy road that takes 5 hours from Cochin, depending on your driver. If you get car sick easily I’d recommend taking a motion sickness tablet before you leave. This means you should plan on spending two nights at the hotel; one night is not sufficient given the travel time to get here.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank DreamU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 295 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights - a real treat, especially when the manager moved us to the end room which had fantastic view from its private verandah across the lake to a shore where the sambar deer like to graze. Langur monkeys were playing in the trees just by our verandah, birds were everywhere and I spent several happy hours relaxing with binoculars and a pile of wildlife books from the hotel's bookcase.

The staff were excellent - v helpful and friendly. Food was good. We hadn't realised this when we booked but dinner and room service coffees, lime sodas etc were all included in the price - we just had to pay extra for our beer with dinner. Also included was a guided walk in the forest (beware of leeches - you may not spot a tiger but you'll definitely see plenty of these little fellas!) and a boat trip around the lake.

Having the end room (on the right hand side) really made the stay worthwhile. The decor and layout was the same as in our original room and I agree with a previous reviewer's comment that rooms would benefit from a lick of paint. But having that wonderful view more than made up for it - I would definitely recommend you ask for it when you book.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Debston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2006

We stayed for one night at the Lake Palace Hotel in early June. Prices are a lot lower out of season but there is then the risk of the monosoon. We were lucky and found a break in the weather. In season you should probably book in advance.
We were taken on a small motorboat to the hotel. As there were only three rooms occupied at the time we were given a choice of rooms and the management were keen for us to be comfortable. The room was large and beautifully furnished with a four poster bed.
The food was excellent and authentic keralan. All meals and drinks are inclusive.
The main attraction of the hotel is its location. It is set right in the Periyar Nature Reserve, on the lake. The views are beautiful - you should make a point of getting up early to watch the mist rise of the lake. We watched sambhar, bison and wild pigs from the hotel premises.
We were a little worried that, as there are only six rooms, we would feel claustrophobic and overpampered by the hotel staff. As it turns out, the staff were lovely and attentive, but not by any means overbearlng, and we didn't feel uncomfortable.
You should certainly do a morning trek in the park. One of the park wardens named Ravi took us on a three hour trek and it was very exciting. We saw elephant at quite close quarters, as well as a host of animals and birds.
Overall i would heartily recommend this place. We spent several weeks travelling in southern India and stayed in a range of places, from budget to pricey. This was definately the most memorable and i would recommend paying a little extra to stay here if you want a little bit extra from your hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank charliemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2006

Lake Palace Hotel is an unique beautiful peaceful place . My husband and I are returning for the second time to stay in this enchanting rustic traditional Kerala palace. The staff treat you like royal guest and respect your privacy. Early in the morning you can see a lot of wild life coming quietly on the lake shore.At night, you may hear noises of wild cats jumping on the roofs of your room but nothing to worry, they will go away if you turn on the light. There is not too much to do since you cannot walk in the wild, so bring books to read!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2006

We stayed here for one night in November 2005. It's a unique place to stay and you are treated like royalty from start to finish.

On arrival at Periyar Sanctuary you are taken by private boat to the island on which the hotel is located (formerly a maharajas hunting lodge). It's a good 10-15 minute boat ride and your captain will point out the local wildlife. We certainly felt very special being the only two on such a large boat!

Because of a previous review I had requested the hotel reserve me an end room - I am sooooo glad I was cheeky enough to ask for it!! The view from this particular room (on the right hand side) is simply stunning and having this room that made the whole stay for me - you'll see what I mean if you get it.

Our room was large with a 4 poster bed, TV, fridge etc. A bit shabby but you are really here for the location. Our HUGE veranda (remember to request the end room!) overlooked the shoreline where we were able to see various deer and wild pigs etc going about their business. The staff claimed an elephant was spotted a couple of weeks before so maybe you will be lucky!

Food is all inclusive in the price and the chef is eager to please – I wouldn’t say it was the best food I ate in Kerala but it was certainly presented nicely and was tasty (3 courses). The chef even came out to check we were enjoying it! To be honest, meal times were the only real annoyance of the stay – the staff at the hotel were too overpowering for me as we were pretty much watched all the time – this kind of spoiled the romantic setting. If you like being waited on hand and foot you’ll love it though! (a good tip is that other guests had their meals in their room / on their veranda which I wish we had requested). The staff are all really friendly but maybe a bit too intrusive.

There were only 2 other couples there during our stay (I think there are only 6 rooms in the entire place) so it felt very exclusive and the staff probably outnumbered the guests which was weird! It’s pretty expensive by Indian standards but the location is amazing. Take some binoculars and you could spend hours admiring the views and spotting wildlife. It was very misty in the morning when we were there which was incredibly atmospheric – wrap up warm if you go on the early morning free boat ride.

At the end of our stay on our return boat ride we saw a whole family of otters (about 10 of them) which was just amazing.

I definitely recommend the hotel if you want to absolutely chill out in an area of outstanding beauty - but I think it could be overpriced unless you get the right hand side room.

12  Thank Pookstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinknobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.6 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#13 of 43 in Thekkady
439 reviews
3.3 mi away
Thekkady - Woods n Spice, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
442 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
968 reviews
5.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady

Address: Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 94 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range: $259 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Lake Palace Thekkady Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Lake Palace
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing