We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Location in Thekkady”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best Location in Thekkady”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Being wildlife enthusiasts we have loved our stay at the lake palace.... If one visits periyar for wildlife and seeks peace and tranquilty there is no other place but the lake palace... With just 6 rooms its a hidden haven perched majestically on a island on the lake periyar.....

We have a great time idlying on the chaise lounge sipping our drinks and saying cheers to the wild life on the opposite side of the banks ....

We've witnessed so much action like a pack of wild dogs hunting an indian sambhal, and sightings have been extremely good...we saw indian ghor in abudance, giant malabar squirrels, otters, wild hogs ( pride of 20-25), sambhals, kingfisher bird, and the a tree filled with the beautiful blue tiger butterfly (100's of them)

The rooms are clean, not very big but i must say definately neat and clean....And the staff has done their best to make our stay comfortable.. All our dietary needs has been adhered 2..My special thanks to the chef for enquiring what we wished to eat and serving the same on our table... I have had a great time here and i wud ONLY stay the Lake palace for my next trip

No hotel can beat the Location of the lake palace....It was worth every penny we paid for...

  • Liked — I loved the Location
  • Disliked — I wished rooms were a lil bigger ( actually the room size does not matter as you spend a great deal of time outdoors)
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidhya_shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    48
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
128
91
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

Don't expect the slick service and plush rooms of an Indian luxury hotel. This is a Government -run hotel, that hasn't seen much money spent on it recently.It has no pool, no aircon, and no choice of food in the dining room However the rooms ( only 6 of them) are large, comfortable even without aircon, and the bathrooms do at least work!. We also had a big plasmaTV with a digibox giving us the best choice of channels of all of our holiday hotels!
What makes this place so special is its position on an island in the middle of the wildlife reserve lake, and the wonderful staff, who may be a bit raw but are very keen to make your stay a good one. Sitting on our balcony at dusk watching the animals coming down to drink was magical. 2 days there worked their charm on us- we were totally relaxed and didn'r want to take the 20 minute boat-ride back to civilisation

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Levoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2008

This place is worth spending time with family. This palace majestically located on a peninsula in Periyar lake inside the Periyar forest. The ambience of peace and calm is unlimited here. You will be disturbed only by the twitter of birds and the occasional cry of the wild. Worth staying, great time to relax and a hideaway from this fast world.

  • Liked — peace and calm
  • Disliked — Business access
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VISHU39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

Everything about the place itself is in previous reviews - but the word 'palatial', used both by the hotel and some tour operators to describe the rooms is a major exaggeration.

The bedroom is big and very old-fashioned: the bathroom is pretty appalling. Not just old and tired, but really scruffy with big rust marks on the messy bath, filthy black grouting, and really not nice at all. It would be poor even for a 2 star establishment at a quarter of the price.

The staff are lovely, the food very nice, and it is indeed atmospheric - but it's a big pity (and really rather irritating) that this Government run hotel should have had so little investment. It needs some serious renovating.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

From the moment we arrived at the boat jetty we were made very welcome. The palace is absolutely beautiful with very clean, well-equiped rooms and a highly efficient staff. During our tour of the small hotel, we were introduced to the chef, Mr Mohan, who cooked us wonderful meals and invited the foodie in our company to be in everybody’s way in the kitchen with notebook and camera to write some recipes down. Twice! We enjoyed our stay, did not do a whole lot, just relished the peace, the food, the birds - and the bottle of Indian white at dinner. At the end of our three nights’ stay, the entire staff came out to say goodbye, and to give us a pressing invitation to return. Which, if we ever hit Periyar again, we will surely do as we had a wonderful time there.

  • Liked — The great food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geke-Loek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

If you want to get away from it all after a stint in the huzzle and buzzle of daily life in India, this is the right place.
Lovely, spacious rooms (six of them), very clean, full board included, fantastic cook, very friendly service, buffalo, deer, wild boar, elephants roaming on the opposite shore....just sit back and relax.

  • Liked — peaceful, nature, wildlife, food
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RantourUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

From the moment we got to the entrance to the park and had to pay to get our taxi in I knew this was going to be bad.

Don't kid yourself, this place is, by Indian standards, very very expensive. The way they keep hitting on you for extras, such as a permit to use your camera (i kid you not) entrance fees to the park on a daily basis and anything else they can starts to really grate.

The rooms were very average, the only thing to really recomend them are the geckos flitting about. The Monkeys fighting on the roof in the middle of the night make an interesting diversion. The rat that fell through the ceiling onto the balcony whilst we sat and read gave us a laugh. The staff couldn't handle it though. I rescued the poor thing and set him free in the garden much to their chagrin

We found out about the worthwhile extras, such as going on the trip boats for free, and the free wildlife walk from fellow guests. The staff, and particuarly the management were useless. If we hadn't booked and paid in advance I would have left early. I felt truly ripped off.

The food was average, the drinks woeful. No ice, no alcohol to be bought except incredibly overpriced wine. We bought some local rum in town, got back to the hotel to be informed that they don't do coke.

Try getting a gin and tonic to sit back and watch the sun set with. No chance. Useless

Yes we saw some elephants, we jumped the tour boat at the right time. Some otters too.

Save your money, stay in Kumilly and come to the park on a couple of day trips. The walks are worthwhile and available to all.

Avoid the weekends though.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rangi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.7 mi away
Aranya Nivas KTDC
Aranya Nivas KTDC
#21 of 41 in Thekkady
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.5 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.5 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 41 in Thekkady
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
5.3 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#6 of 41 in Thekkady
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 3 in Kumily
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady

Property: KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady
Address: Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Lake Palace Thekkady Hotel Thekkady
Hotel Lake Palace
KTDC Lake Palace Thekkady Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing