We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #5 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Loved the huge garden, the chicken walking around, the bar!!! (make sure you go there) and the tea station where you can get tea with fresh herbs. Located in a cute little town. Amazing food, one of the best meals I had in India. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shavethewhales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    242
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
207
398
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay here but did have buffet dinner one evening. Nice bar as well. The buffet had lots of choice with freshly cooked fish, breads as well. Nice to try a variety of foods. Price was expensive for India but nice for a splash out.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RachelDunsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Located on the edge of a town right on the main road my first thoughts were "this could be noisy". How wrong I was. It is set back in its own lovely ground just far enough to isolate it from the noise of a busy Indian road. The management and staff all seem keen to push the hotels Eco theme. The freshwater chemical free swimming pool is super but a tad colder than others used on the same trip. Rooms are lovely semi-detached thatched bungalows, there is a nice bar with an old colonial feel to it. Great buffet restaurant with a good choice of excellent food. Its just a short walk into the town offering a range of local and tourist shops that seemed to offer genuine deals without the feeling of hectic bartering as with some places. The staff even organised a small impromptu party and lovely cake for my wife's birthday.

Room Tip: Some are a bit of a walk so ask to be near the restaurant if old or infirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here two nights as part of a package tour to Kerela. I was most impressed by the way this hotel was run, Its Eco credentials are inspiring. The accomodation is in small cottages which were extremely clean and comfortable. The food provided was excellent. You can walk to the nearby town for inexpensive shopping. I cannot fault the Spice Village.Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honestandbalanced87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel so close to town was wonderful. We could finally walk to anyplace we wanted to go. Our Eco villa was large, private, and decorated beautifully. The pool was lovely and the gift shop at the resort was the best of anywhere we stayed in Southern India. It was a wonderful resort.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Spice Village is a beautiful Eco village of cottages tucked just behind the Main Street of Thekkady. Its location is perfect, you'd never know you were so close to the main road but you can walk anywhere in just a few minutes. The cottages are beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable of all the places we stayed. Breakfast has a great selection and you can eat as much as you like, you won't need lunch. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as it was pretty expensive and we found plenty of good local options outside the complex which were more to our taste whilst in India. I would recommend anybody staying at Spice Village if they're happy to splash the cash!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CR1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Cottages inside the forest, organic soap, special water treatment for the pool, several monkeys and birds. Also lack of room service, room wifi and tv. It is a confortable, expensive and semi-fancy place disquised as rustic and eco friendly, that receives lots of tourist groups. The staff is very friendly and the bar is a must see, decorated with antique photographs.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gaía P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
1,090 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#2 of 43 in Thekkady
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
816 reviews
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#8 of 43 in Thekkady
445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Property: Spice Village
Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing