We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good buffet”
Review of Spice Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spice Village
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Thekkady
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Didn't stay here but did have buffet dinner one evening. Nice bar as well. The buffet had lots of choice with freshly cooked fish, breads as well. Nice to try a variety of foods. Price was expensive for India but nice for a splash out.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RachelDunsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Spice Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 877 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Located on the edge of a town right on the main road my first thoughts were "this could be noisy". How wrong I was. It is set back in its own lovely ground just far enough to isolate it from the noise of a busy Indian road. The management and staff all seem keen to push the hotels Eco theme. The freshwater chemical free swimming pool is super but a tad colder than others used on the same trip. Rooms are lovely semi-detached thatched bungalows, there is a nice bar with an old colonial feel to it. Great buffet restaurant with a good choice of excellent food. Its just a short walk into the town offering a range of local and tourist shops that seemed to offer genuine deals without the feeling of hectic bartering as with some places. The staff even organised a small impromptu party and lovely cake for my wife's birthday.

Room Tip: Some are a bit of a walk so ask to be near the restaurant if old or infirm.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevorf28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here two nights as part of a package tour to Kerela. I was most impressed by the way this hotel was run, Its Eco credentials are inspiring. The accomodation is in small cottages which were extremely clean and comfortable. The food provided was excellent. You can walk to the nearby town for inexpensive shopping. I cannot fault the Spice Village.Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestandbalanced87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel so close to town was wonderful. We could finally walk to anyplace we wanted to go. Our Eco villa was large, private, and decorated beautifully. The pool was lovely and the gift shop at the resort was the best of anywhere we stayed in Southern India. It was a wonderful resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Spice Village is a beautiful Eco village of cottages tucked just behind the Main Street of Thekkady. Its location is perfect, you'd never know you were so close to the main road but you can walk anywhere in just a few minutes. The cottages are beautiful and the bed was the most comfortable of all the places we stayed. Breakfast has a great selection and you can eat as much as you like, you won't need lunch. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel as it was pretty expensive and we found plenty of good local options outside the complex which were more to our taste whilst in India. I would recommend anybody staying at Spice Village if they're happy to splash the cash!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CR1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Cottages inside the forest, organic soap, special water treatment for the pool, several monkeys and birds. Also lack of room service, room wifi and tv. It is a confortable, expensive and semi-fancy place disquised as rustic and eco friendly, that receives lots of tourist groups. The staff is very friendly and the bar is a must see, decorated with antique photographs.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Gaía P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Accommodation in individual cottages, spread over a large area, some qiute a distance away from restaurant and reception. Could be difficult for people with reduced mobility. I found the place clean, well run with a lot of extra interesting things to do. I loved the idea of 'NO PLASTIC' and all their bags and envelops are made of recycled newspaper. Also liked the 'No individual tipping. Please give a tip at the end as the staff deserve it. Unfortunately we were there for two night only and I feel you need more time to appreciate it.

Room Tip: some rooms difficult to access
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margherita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FEEDBACKfromCGHEarth, General Manager at Spice Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Appreciate for your time spend on the feedback of your stay in Spice Village. In cgh we try our best to provide experiential holidays to travelers rather than just luxury. So happy to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed all our eco initiatives. We growing only because of people like you and your valuable inputs. As you said it in right way, to explore the whole Periyar , 2 nights are not enough. Hope to see you in coming years for a much longer stay.

Warm regards,

Johny Tom
General Manager
Spice Village Resort

johnytom@cghearth.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thekkady hotels
1.2 mi away
Niraamaya Retreats Cardamom Club - Thekkady
1.5 mi away
The Mountain Courtyard
The Mountain Courtyard
#3 of 43 in Thekkady
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greenwoods Resort
Greenwoods Resort
#5 of 43 in Thekkady
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Forest Canopy
Forest Canopy
#4 of 43 in Thekkady
427 reviews
2.1 mi away
Poetree Sarovar Portico
Poetree Sarovar Portico
#7 of 43 in Thekkady
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cardamom County
Cardamom County
#2 of 4 in Kumily
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Village

Address: Kumily Road, Thekkady 685536, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Thekkady
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Romantic Hotel in Thekkady
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Thekkady
#3 Family Hotel in Thekkady
#4 Spa Hotel in Thekkady
Price Range: $123 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Village 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spice Village is an eco resort in the hills(thekkady) near the Periyar wildlife sanctuary. A cluster of tribal style huts set in a beautiful spice garden is a great escape for most tourists from the heat of the plains, and also a great place for some adventure activities. We have a comfortable pool, an ayurvedic spa, we organise treks into the forest, bamboo rafting and many more. A walk through the property itself is a great way to explore many aspects of nature and the green initiatives undertaken at this eco resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Spice Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Village Hotel Thekkady
Spice Village Thekkady, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing